DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

NEW: Food, Garden, Home

IN PRAISE OF VEG

For fans of Samin Nosrat, Anna Jones and Stephanie Alexander, this is the ultimate veg guide for food lovers!

In this comprehensive, award-winning and fully illustrated kitchen companion, food writer and presenter Alice Zaslavsky profiles 50 favourite vegetable varieties, offering 150+ recipes reflective of both tradition and modernity, just as all good cooking should be. Uniquely organised by colour and filled with countless tips on flavour combinations, rule-of-thumb buying/storing/cooking methods, shortcuts, and veg wisdom from over 50 of the world's top chefs, In Praise of Veg will help beginners and avid cooks alike turn a bag of yawns or a produce-box surprise into a knock-out meal.

THOUGHT FOR FOOD

Fans of Roxane Gay, Lindy West or Clare Bowditch's Your Own Kind of Girl will get a lot from this book, but perhaps more importantly it is an ideal read for anyone new to the concepts of body politics and fat activism.' - Books+Publishing

Food writing like you've never seen before - honest, bold, and exceptionally tasty. Sam van Zweden's personal and cultural exploration of food, memory, and hunger revels in body positivity, dissects wellness culture and all its flaws, and shares the joys of being part of a family of chefs.

Together

Memorable Meals Made Easy

Jamie Oliver

Hardback

$49.99  $39.99

In Stock 😊

Double Rewards

Yates Garden Guide

Yates

Paperback

$45 

In Stock 😊

Green Living

A Comprehensive Guide to a Happy...

Green Matters

Hardback

$32.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Egg of the Universe

From the community kitchen cafe...

Bryony Lancaster

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Nature Style

Alana Langan

Hardback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

The Good Life

How To Grow A Better World

Hannah Moloney

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Perfect Pasta at Home

Bring Italy to your kitchen with...

Pasta Evangelists Ltd

Hardback

$45 

Not in-store but you can order this

Backyard Bees

A complete guide for the beginner...

Doug Purdie

Paperback

$36.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

From Seeds to Leaves

Robin Stewart

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Colombiana

A Rediscovery of Recipes and Rituals...

Mariana Velasquez

Hardback

$49.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Joshua Weissman

An Unapologetic Cookbook

Joshua Weissman

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Halliday Wine Companion 2022

The Bestselling and Definitive Guide...

James Halliday

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Italian Street Food

Recipes from Italy's Bars and Hidden...

Paula Bacchia

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

The Green Indoors

Finding the Right Plants for Your...

Maddie Bailey

Hardback

$32.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Paul Bangay's Guide to Plants

Paul Bangay

Hardback

$59.99 

In Stock 😊

The Easiest Air Fryer Keto Book Ever

Kim McCosker

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Futuresteading

Live like tomorrow matters: Practical...

Jade Miles

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Take One Fish

The New School of Scale-to-Tail...

Josh Niland

Hardback

$55 

In Stock 😊

Imaginative Possession

Learning to live in the Antipodes...

Belinda Probert

Paperback

$26.99 

In Stock 😊

Every Night of the Week

Sanity solutions for the daily dinner...

Lucy Tweed

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

The Slow Cook

80 modern & delicious slow-cooked...

Justine Schofield

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

A History of Gardening in 50 Objects

George Drower

Paperback

$37.99 

In Stock 😊

Plants of the Qur'an

History & culture

Shahina A. Ghazanfar

Hardback

$59.99 

Forthcoming
You can preorder this

Vegetarian Dishes from the Middle East

Arto der Haroutunian

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Never Put a Cactus in the Bathroom

A Room-by-Room Guide to Styling...

Emily L. Hay Hinsdale

Hardback

$29.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Where the Wildness Pleases

The English Garden Celebrated

Caroline Holmes

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Kooking with a Koori

Budget-Friendly Recipes from Tik...

Nathan Lyons

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

How to Cook That

Crazy Sweet Creations (Dessert Cookbook)...

Ann Reardon

Hardback

$49.95 

In Stock 😊

Sicilia

A love letter to the food of Sicily...

Ben Tish

Hardback

$52.99 

In Stock 😊

Florapedia

A Brief Compendium of Floral Lore...

Carol Gracie

Hardback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Makan

Recipes from the Heart of Singapore...

Elizabeth Haigh

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Buckingham Palace

A Royal Garden

Claire Masset

Hardback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Amber & Rye

A Baltic food journey Estonia Latvia...

Zuza Zak

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Trees of Life

Max Adams

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Penang Local

Cult recipes from the streets that...

Aim Aris

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Maggie's Harvest

Maggie Beer

Paperback

$80 

In Stock 😊

Artichokes and Village Greens

Fofi Gourlas

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Serendip

My Sri Lankan Kitchen

Peter Kuruvita

Paperback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Japan

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Italy

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Vietnam

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

BakeClass Step by Step

Recipes for savoury bakes, bread,...

Anneka Manning

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

PWMU Cookbook

PWMU Committee

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

The Natural Cleaning Handbook

Homemade Hand Sanitizers, Disinfectants,...

Natalie Wise

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊




Cookery, Food & Drink




Gardens & Gardening




House & Home

QUICK LINKS

SHIPPING • FAQ

Shipping & Delivery • Shop Hours • Frequently Asked Questions • Privacy & Security • Terms of Trade

ABBEY'S BOOKSHOP

131 York Street
Sydney NSW 2000
Australia