JUNE'S BIG RELEASES VIEW HERE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

NEW: Food, Garden, Home

IN PRAISE OF VEG

For fans of Samin Nosrat, Anna Jones and Stephanie Alexander, this is the ultimate veg guide for food lovers!

In this comprehensive, award-winning and fully illustrated kitchen companion, food writer and presenter Alice Zaslavsky profiles 50 favourite vegetable varieties, offering 150+ recipes reflective of both tradition and modernity, just as all good cooking should be. Uniquely organised by colour and filled with countless tips on flavour combinations, rule-of-thumb buying/storing/cooking methods, shortcuts, and veg wisdom from over 50 of the world's top chefs, In Praise of Veg will help beginners and avid cooks alike turn a bag of yawns or a produce-box surprise into a knock-out meal.

THOUGHT FOR FOOD

Fans of Roxane Gay, Lindy West or Clare Bowditch's Your Own Kind of Girl will get a lot from this book, but perhaps more importantly it is an ideal read for anyone new to the concepts of body politics and fat activism.' - Books+Publishing

Food writing like you've never seen before - honest, bold, and exceptionally tasty. Sam van Zweden's personal and cultural exploration of food, memory, and hunger revels in body positivity, dissects wellness culture and all its flaws, and shares the joys of being part of a family of chefs.

Florapedia

A Brief Compendium of Floral Lore...

Carol Gracie

Hardback

$29.99 

Forthcoming
You can preorder this

Makan

Recipes from the Heart of Singapore...

Elizabeth Haigh

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Buckingham Palace

A Royal Garden

Claire Masset

Hardback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Amber & Rye

A Baltic food journey Estonia Latvia...

Zuza Zak

Hardback

$49.99 

Forthcoming
You can preorder this

Trees of Life

Max Adams

Paperback

$32.99 

Forthcoming
You can preorder this

Penang Local

Cult recipes from the streets that...

Aim Aris

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Maggie's Harvest

Maggie Beer

Paperback

$80 

In Stock 😊

Artichokes and Village Greens

Fofi Gourlas

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Serendip

My Sri Lankan Kitchen

Peter Kuruvita

Paperback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Japan

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Italy

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Vietnam

Food

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

BakeClass Step by Step

Recipes for savoury bakes, bread,...

Anneka Manning

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

PWMU Cookbook

PWMU Committee

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

The Natural Cleaning Handbook

Homemade Hand Sanitizers, Disinfectants,...

Natalie Wise

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Sumac

Recipes and stories from Syria

Anas Atassi

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Mary Berry Cooks to Perfection

Mary Berry

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

The Drinking Man's Diet Cookbook

Second Edition

Robert Cameron

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Simple Italian

The essentials of Italian home cooking...

Silvia Colloca

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Spirit of the Garden

Trisha Dixon

Hardback

$65 

In Stock 😊

Coastline

The food of Mediterranean Italy,...

Lucio Galletto

Hardback

$49.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Plants, Be Happy!

130 simple vegan and vegetarian...

Caroline Griffiths

Hardback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Barbecue Gourmand

Bob Hart

Hardback

$34.95 

In Stock 😊

Green Shades

An Anthology of Plants, Gardens...

Elizabeth Jane Howard

Hardback

$19.99 

In Stock 😊

Japanese Soups

66 Nourishing Broths, Stews and...

Keiko Iwasaki

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

The Arabesque Table

Contemporary Recipes from the Arab...

Reem Kassis

Hardback

$49.95 

In Stock 😊

Plant

House plants: choosing, styling,...

Gynelle Leon

Hardback

$27.99 

In Stock 😊

How Wild Things Are

Cooking, Fishing and Hunting at...

Analiese Gregory

Hardback

$45 

In Stock 😊

Vegan Recipes from Japan

Malte Hartig

Hardback

$54.99 

In Stock 😊

28 Days Vegan

A complete guide for beginners

Lisa Butterworth

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eat Better Forever

7 Ways to Transform Your Diet

Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall

Hardback

$45 

In Stock 😊

The 5-Minute Vegan Lunchbox

Happy, healthy & speedy meals to...

Alexander Hart

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Growing Orchids at Home

The Beginner's Guide to Orchid Care...

Manos Kanellos

Paperback

$18.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

The Easiest Air Fryer Book Ever!

Kim McCosker

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Yates Top 50 Edible Plants for Pots

And How Not to Kill Them!

Angie Thomas

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Real Vietnamese Cooking

Everyday Favorites from the Street...

Yumiko Adachi

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

The Garden State

Inside Victoria's Private Gardens...

Richard Allen

Hardback

$80 

In Stock 😊

Margaret Costa's Four Seasons Cookery Book

Margaret Costa

Hardback

$44.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Thrifty Household

More than 1000 budget-friendly hints...

Country Women's Association Victoria

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

The How Not to Diet Cookbook

Over 100 Recipes for Healthy, Permanent...

Michael Greger

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

Halliday Pocket Wine Companion 2021

The 2021 guide to Australia's best...

James Halliday

Hardback

$22.99 

In Stock 😊

To Asia, With Love

Hetty McKinnon

Paperback

$39.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

Adventures in Eden

An Intimate Tour of the Private...

Carolyn Mullet

Hardback

$69.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

The Brussels Sprout Cookbook

Over 60 Delicious Recipes to Sprout...

Heather Thomas

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Killer Plants

Growing and Caring for Flytraps,...

Molly Williams

Hardback

$26.99 

In Stock 😊

Kindness Community Vegan Cookbook

Edgar's Mission

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊




Cookery, Food & Drink




Gardens & Gardening




House & Home

QUICK LINKS

SHIPPING • FAQ

Shipping & Delivery • Shop Hours • Frequently Asked Questions • Privacy & Security • Terms of Trade

ABBEY'S BOOKSHOP

131 York Street
Sydney NSW 2000
Australia