Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category


Narrow Your Search
facebook
Google Book Preview
The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Bedlam Stacks

Natasha Pulley


9781408878453

Bloomsbury


Fiction & Literature;
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945);
Historical adventure


Paperback

352 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

From the internationally bestselling author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street comes an astonishing historical novel set in the magical forests of South America, perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Essex Serpent and The Muse.

Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the edge of a forest. The shrine statues move, and anyone who crosses the border dies. But somewhere inside are cinchona trees, whose bark yields quinine: the only known treatment for malaria.

By 1859, on the other side of the Pacific, the hunt for a reliable source of quinine is critical and the India Office searches out its last qualified expeditionary, the injured Merrick Tremayne. Against his own better judgement, Merrick finds himself dispatched to Bedlam under orders to bring back cinchona cuttings at any cost.

As Merrick travels into hostile territory, he meets Raphael, a priest around whom the villagers spin unsettlingly familiar stories of impossible disappearances and living stone. It is through him that Merrick finally discovers a legacy that will prove more dangerous and valuable than the India Office could ever have imagined.

By:   Natasha Pulley
Imprint:   Bloomsbury
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   Export/Airside
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   547g
ISBN:   9781408878453
ISBN 10:   1408878453
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   August 2017
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Natasha Pulley studied English Literature at Oxford University. After stints working at Waterstones as a bookseller, then at Cambridge University Press as a publishing assistant in the astronomy and maths departments, she did the Creative Writing MA at UEA. She later studied in Tokyo, where she lived on a scholarship from the Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation, and she is now a visiting lecturer at City University. Her first novel, The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, was an international bestseller, a Guardian Summer Read, an Amazon Best Book of the Month and was shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award. The Bedlam Stacks is her second novel. She lives in Ely. @natasha_pulley


PRAISE FOR THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET: Intricate, charming and altogether surprising New York Times A charming, quirky, clever tale, filled with intricate detail, and a plot that feels as deftly-crafted as a precision timepiece Joanne Harris Elegant plotting, lashings of invention and jump-off-the-page characterisation Guardian Ten out of ten Spectator on The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Delightful, relentlessly charming and deeply moving ... Remarkable Los Angeles Times Historical fiction, magic realism and elements of gothic fiction combine in this ambitious debut Irish Times

Your cart does not contain any items.