JUNE'S BIG RELEASES VIEW HERE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

NEW: Biography - Australian

GOUGH AND ME

When Gough Whitlam moves into her street in Cabramatta in 1957, eight-year-old Christine has little idea how her new neighbour, one of the most visionary and polarising political leaders of Australia, would shape the direction of her life.

Born to working-class parents and living in a fibro house built by her truck-driver father, Christine simply dreams that one day she might work as a private secretary like her aunt. But when the reforms Whitlam championed give Christine the chance to go to university, her world expands.

Written with genuine heart and humour, Gough and Me is a nostalgic and deeply personal memoir of social mobility, cultural diversity, and the unprecedented opportunities that the Whitlam era gave one Australian working-class woman.

Losing your religion is harder than it looks...

From devout 10-year-old performing the part of Jesus in a primary school play to blaspheming, undergraduate atheist Monica Dux and her attitude to the Catholic Church changed profoundly over a decade. Eventually, she calmed down and was just 'lapsed'.

Then, on a family trip to Rome, her young daughter expressed a desire to be baptised. Monica found herself re-examining her own childhood and how Catholicism had shaped her. Was it really out of her system or was it in her blood for life?

RECOVERY AND TRANSFORMATION

At the age of twenty, after a traumatic sexual assault trial, novelist Kathryn Heyman ran away from her life and became a deckhand on a fishing trawler in the Timor Sea.

Coming from a family of poverty and violence, she had no real role models, no example of how to create or live a decent life, how to have hope or expectations. But she was a reader. She understood story, and the power of words to name the world. This was to become her salvation.

A VERY PUBLIC ACCIDENT

Lech Blaine was just seventeen when he was in a crash that killed his best friends and changed his life.

Crippled by survivor guilt, Lech turned to social media, cultivating a persona as the ultimate 'grateful survivor'. Over time, he spiralled into risk-taking and depression. His public bravado fell away as he tried to accept how an accident - one wretched error of youth and inexperience - had changed the trajectory of so many lives.

How do we grieve in an age of social media? How does tragedy shape a community? And how does a boy on the cusp of manhood develop a sense of self when his world has exploded?

This stunning memoir pulls no punches. "A brave and unsettling account' says Tim Winton.

THOUGHT FOR FOOD

Fans of Roxane Gay, Lindy West or Clare Bowditch's Your Own Kind of Girl will get a lot from this book, but perhaps more importantly it is an ideal read for anyone new to the concepts of body politics and fat activism.' - Books+Publishing

Food writing like you've never seen before - honest, bold, and exceptionally tasty. Sam van Zweden's personal and cultural exploration of food, memory, and hunger revels in body positivity, dissects wellness culture and all its flaws, and shares the joys of being part of a family of chefs.

Double Rewards

The School

The ups and downs of one year in...

Brendan James Murray

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Double Rewards

The Platoon Commander

John O'Halloran

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

A Father's Plea

Kamalle Dabboussy

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

It's Not All Roses

Memories of People, a Restaurant...

Jenny Ferguson

Hardback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Millionaire Castaway

David Glasheen

Paperback

$19.99 

Forthcoming
You can preorder this

House of Kwa

Mimi Kwa

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Good Indian Daughter

Ruhi Lee

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Lovers and Others

Tom Lowenstein

Hardback

$49.95 

In Stock 😊

Acknowledgments

Stories of Friends, Enemies and...

Becky Lucas

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

No One Listens to Your Dad's Show

From Number One to No One

Christian O'Connell

Paperback

$32.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

A Paper Inheritance

Dymphna Stella Rees

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

In My Defence, I Have No Defence

Sinead Stubbins

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Everything Harder Than Everyone Else

Why Some of Us Push Our Bodies to...

Jenny Valentish

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Survivor

Life in the SAS

Mark Wales

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Your Own Kind of Girl

Clare Bowditch

Paperback

$19.99 

In Stock 😊

The Jungle Doctor

The Adventures of an International...

Chloe Buiting

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

A Touch of India

Chutney Mary, Charming Irregularities...

Valerie Britton-Wilson

Paperback

$32.99 

Not in-store but you can order this

A Doctor in Africa

Andrew Browning

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Off the Charts

Georgie Carroll

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

The Women's Doc

True stories from my five decades...

Caroline de Costa

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Brave New Humans

The Dirty Reality of Donor Conception...

Sarah Dingle

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Beyond Alice

Tanya Heaslip

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Fury

Kathryn Heyman

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

An Unconventional Wife

The Life of Julia Sorell Arnold...

Mary Hoban

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

War Child

Survival. Betrayal. Secrets

Annette Janic

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

The Most I Could Be

A Renaissance Story

Dale Kent

Paperback

$39.99 

In Stock 😊

The Three Burials of Lotty Kneen

Travels with My Grandmother's Ashes...

Krissy Kneen

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Full Circle

A search for the world that comes...

Scott Ludlam

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Accidental Weatherman

Sam Mac

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Debesa

The Story of Frank and Katie Rodriguez...

Cindy Cindy Solonec

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Signed

Gough and Me

My Journey from Cabramatta to China...

Christine Sykes

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Eve Langley and the Pea Pickers

Helen Vines

Paperback

$34.95 

In Stock 😊

As Beautiful As Any Other

A memoir of my body

Kaya Wilson

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Lapsed

Monica Dux

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Turns Out, I'm Fine

How Not To Fall Apart

Judith Lucy

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

The Insider

Christopher Pyne

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Signed

Car Crash

A Memoir

Lech Blaine

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Blood on the Typewriter

The world of Philip White

Robbie Brechin

Paperback

$34.95 

In Stock 😊

Good Riddance

Get Rid of Your Fears and Doubts....

Stacey Currie

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Maddening, Self-indulgent Crap

Peter Goers

Paperback

$34.95 

In Stock 😊

Dear Mum

Samuel Johnson

Hardback

$22.99 

In Stock 😊

The Shape of Sound

Fiona Murphy

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Amelia and Me

Life, Love and Loss with My 23 Year...

Ani Peters

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Tea & Honesty

Heartfelt conversations. Lessons...

Jules Sebastian

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

How to Fake Being Tidy

And other things my mother never...

Fenella Souter

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Heartsick

Three stories about love and loss,...

Jessie Stephens

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Top End Girl

Miranda Tapsell

Paperback

$22.99 

In Stock 😊

Emotional Female

Yumiko Kadota

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Signed

Beyond Climate Grief

A journey of love, snow, fire and...

Jonica Newby

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

The Emperor's Grace

Untold Stories of the Australians...

Mark Baker

Paperback

$34.95 

In Stock 😊

Into the Loneliness

The unholy alliance of Ernestine...

Eleanor Hogan

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Macquarie

Grantlee Kieza

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

My Year Of Living Vulnerably

Rick Morton

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

He.

Murray Bail

Hardback

$27.99 

In Stock 😊

Good for the Soul

John Curtin's life with poetry

Toby Davidson

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

Margaret Preston in Berowra

Rhonda Davis

Paperback

$27.95 

Not in-store but you can order this

Loud

A Life in Rock'n'Roll by the World's...

Tana Douglas

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

One Last Dance

Emma Jane Holmes

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Two Cultures, One Story

Robert Isaacs

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

The Care Factor

Ailsa Wild

Paperback

$24.99 

In Stock 😊

Of Gold and Dust

A memoir of a creative life

Samantha Wills

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Bastard Behind the Lines

The extraordinary story of Jock...

Tom Gilling (Author)

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

With My Little Eye

The incredible true story of a family...

Sandra Hogan

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Kate Kelly

The true story of Ned Kelly's little...

Rebecca Wilson

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

You've Got To Be Kidding

a shedload of wine & a farm full...

Todd Alexander

Paperback

$34.99 

In Stock 😊

In My Past Life I was Cleopatra

A sceptical believer's journey through...

Amal Awad

Paperback

$32.99 

In Stock 😊

Tiberius with a Telephone

The life and stories of William...

Patrick Mullins

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

The World Is Not Big Enough

The Truth Is a Foreign Country for...

Vanessa Russell

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Eating With My Mouth Open

Sam van Zweden

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

My Life and Rugby

The Autobiography

Eddie Jones

Paperback

$19.99 

In Stock 😊

Deadly Earth

Katie McGrath

Paperback

$35 

In Stock 😊

Ion Idriess

The Last Interview

Tim Bowden

Paperback

$24.95 

In Stock 😊

LIGHTNING RIDGE

Ion Idriess

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Sunshine

The diary of a lap dancer

Samantha C. Ross

Paperback

$29.99 

In Stock 😊

Out of the Forest

The True Story of a Recluse

Gregory Smith

Paperback

$22.99 

In Stock 😊




VIEW MORE: BIOGRAPHY CATEGORY

BIOGRAPHY: LITERARY

BIOGRAPHY: BUSINESS & INDUSTRY

BIOGRAPHY: ROYALTY

BIOGRAPHY: SPORT

BIOGRAPHY: MEMOIRS

SHIPPING • FAQ

Shipping & Delivery • Shop Hours • Frequently Asked Questions • Privacy & Security • Terms of Trade

ABBEY'S BOOKSHOP

131 York Street
Sydney NSW 2000
Australia