MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Black Art of Killing

Matthew Hall

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

MICHAEL JOSEPH
01 April 2021
An action packed adventure thriller from the acclaimed screenwriter of Keeping Faith. For fans of Frank Gardner and James Swallow.

For twenty years Leo Black was in the SAS. Now he lectures on violence instead of committing it. Having put his soldiering days long behind him, Black pursues a respectful academic life.

But when a former comrade in arms is killed trying to prevent a scientist's abduction, Black is faced with an unexpected choice.

Be the upright citizen the university demands - or avenge the dead man to whom he owes his life . . .
By:   Matthew Hall
Imprint:   MICHAEL JOSEPH
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 27mm
Weight:   319g
ISBN:   9781405930918
ISBN 10:   1405930918
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   01 April 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Matthew Hall was educated at Hereford Cathedral School and graduated in Law from Worcester College, Oxford. He worked as a criminal barrister before getting his first screenwriting commission with the ITV hit series, Kavanagh QC starring John Thaw. He has since written over 60 hours of prime-time drama. In 2018 he won a BAFTA Cymru for his BBC series, Keeping Faith, which returns for a third and concluding season in 2020. He lives in Herefordshire with his wife Patricia Carswell. They have two sons.

Reviews for The Black Art of Killing

Fasten your seatbelts for a quality thriller . . . * Independent on Sunday * An edge-of-the-seat thriller . . . should come with a health warning * Irish Independent * Breathlessly enjoyable * The Times * Praise for Matthew Hall * - * Matthew Hall has crafted an action thriller with more texture than most * The Times * A fast-paced global thriller * Mail on Sunday * A Bond-style thriller for the 21st century. . . Written with pace and great panache, it feels like a movie already * The Daily Mail * Hall probes how a real-life Jack Reacher figure might cope with years of taking lives for the greater good, and Black's inner conflict gives the firefights and betrayals erupting around him unusual depth * The Times * This is an ideal piece of escapism. I heartily recommend it * Shots Magazine * This intelligent thriller is his best work yet * The Sun *


See Also