MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Shadow on the Lens

#1 Thomas Bexley

Sam Hurcom

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orion
28 January 2020
The stifling, atmospheric, gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist, perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN BLACK, THE SILENT COMPANIONS, and LITTLE STRANGERS **************** 1904. Thomas Bexley, one of the first forensic photographers, is called to the sleepy Welsh village of Dinas Powys. A yound girl named Betsan Tilny has been found murdered in the woodland.

One night, he develops the crime scene photographs in the cellar of his lodgings. There, he finds a face dimly visible in the photographs - the shadowed spectre of Betsan Tilny.

In the days that follow, Thomas senses a growing presence watching him as he tries to uncover what the villagers of Dinas Powys are so intent on keeping secret...

**************** 'Gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark' - GUARDIAN 'Top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale' - DAVID YOUNG 'An intriguing debut' - THE TIMES
By:   Sam Hurcom
Imprint:   Orion
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 24mm
Weight:   260g
ISBN:   9781409189879
ISBN 10:   1409189872
Pages:   288
Publication Date:   28 January 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  College/higher education ,  Professional and scholarly ,  ELT Advanced ,  Primary
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sam Hurcom was born in Dinas Powys, South Wales in 1991. He studied Philosophy at Cardiff University, attaining both an undergraduate and master's degree. He has since had several short stories published, and has written and illustrated a number of children's books. Sam currently lives in the village he was raised in, close to the woodlands that have always inspired his writing. A SHADOW ON THE LENS is Sam's debut novel.

Reviews for A Shadow on the Lens (#1 Thomas Bexley)

A promising debut - gothic, claustrophobic and wonderfully dark. * Guardian * An intriguing debut. * The Times * A sparkling debut from a name to watch. Hurcom expertly weaves a tale of claustrophobic suspicion set in a Welsh village a few miles from Cardiff - but so inward-looking and insular you might as well be in another world. This is top notch historical crime fiction, with a dash of the supernatural. A gorgeous book and a riveting tale. * David Young *


See Also