Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Historical mysteries

1,191 results

One Good Deed

978/152/902/9781529027495.jpg

One Good Deed

David Baldacci

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical mysteries; Thriller & suspense; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

A gripping historical crime novel from the internationally bestselling author, David Baldacci. [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Angel's Mark (#1 Nicholas Shelby)

978/178/649/9781786494948.jpg

The Angel's Mark (#1 Nicholas Shelby)

S. W. Perry

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries; Espionage & spy thriller; Crime Chronicle - Historical Crime

Paperback

A fantastic, high class debut murder mystery set in Elizabethan London, for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and SG MacLean.... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Doll Factory

978/152/900/9781529002416.jpg

The Doll Factory

Elizabeth Macneal

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries; Thriller & suspense; Historical romance; Historical fiction

Paperback

The Doll Factory is the intoxicating story of a young woman who aspires to be an artist, and the man whose obsession may destroy... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Capitol Death (#7 Flavia Alba)

978/147/365/9781473658752.jpg

A Capitol Death (#7 Flavia Alba)

Lindsey Davis

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey Davis [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Price of Freedom (#17 Libertus Mystery)

978/184/751/9781847518699.jpg

The Price of Freedom (#17 Libertus Mystery)

Rosemary Rowe

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

When a tax collector commits suicide, having gambled everything away, Libertus is despatched to make enquiries. At the same... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Missed Murder

978/072/782/9780727829795.jpg

A Missed Murder

Michael Jecks

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries

Hardback

Having been ordered to kill a man, former cutpurse turned paid assassin Jack Blackjack determines to save him instead. But... [more]

$54.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Beyond Absolution (#3 Reverend Mother Mystery)

978/184/751/9781847518217.jpg

Beyond Absolution (#3 Reverend Mother Mystery)

Cora Harrison

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

Ireland. 1925. The body of the priest is found wedged in a confessional cubicle. Loved by all, Father Dominic had lent a listening... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
City of Fiends (#31 Medieval West Country Mystery)

978/085/720/9780857205216.jpg

City of Fiends (#31 Medieval West Country Mystery)

Michael Jecks

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$39.99  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Bear Pit (#4 Damian Seeker)

978/178/747/9781787473584.jpg

The Bear Pit (#4 Damian Seeker)

S.G. MacLean

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

Captain Seeker is back in London, on the trail of an assassin preparing to strike at the heart of Oliver Cromwell's Republic... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Was Not

978/192/575/9781925759815.jpg

Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Was Not

Christopher Sequeira

Anthologies (non-poetry); Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Fantasy

Paperback

SHERLOCK HOLMES truly trusted but one person-Doctor John H. Watson-but in an ocean of infinite realities it must be possible... [more]

$34.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Murder in the City of Liberty (#2 Van Buren & DeLuca)

978/078/521/9780785216964.jpg

Murder in the City of Liberty (#2 Van Buren & DeLuca)

Rachel McMillan

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

Hamish DeLuca and Regina Reggie Van Buren have a new case---and this one brings the war in Europe dangerously close to home.... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Step So Grave (#13 Dandy Gilver)

978/147/368/9781473682368.jpg

A Step So Grave (#13 Dandy Gilver)

Catriona McPherson

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Study in Treason (#2 Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mystery)

978/125/021/9781250215611.jpg

A Study in Treason (#2 Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mystery)

Leonard Goldberg

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries

Paperback

A seemingly impossible mystery tests the keen mind and forensic skills of Joanna Blalock, the daughter of Sherlock Holmes... [more]

$33.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Railway Viaduct

978/074/908/9780749081140.jpg

The Railway Viaduct

Edward Marston

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

It is 1852, and Inspector Robert Colbeck and his assistant Sergeant Victor Leeming are faced with their most difficult case... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Casanova and the Faceless Woman

978/178/227/9781782274537.jpg

Casanova and the Faceless Woman

Olivier Barde-Cabucon

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries; Fiction in translation

Paperback

THE OLD WORLD IS CRUMBLING  1759: Outside the gates of the magnificent Versailles palace, the city of Paris sits mired in... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Things in Jars

978/178/689/9781786893758.jpg

Things in Jars

Jess Kidd

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries; Historical fiction

Paperback

The gripping new novel, set in crime-fuelled Victorian London, from Costa Award-winner and twice BBC Radio 2 Book Club author... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In the Presence of Evil

978/184/751/9781847519115.jpg

In the Presence of Evil

Tania Bayard

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Historical fiction

Paperback

Paris, 1393. Scribe Christine de Pizan dreads going to the palace to work, where people believe the mad king can be cured... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Free from all Danger

978/184/751/9781847518675.jpg

Free from all Danger

Chris Nickson

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

Leeds, 1736. Lured out of retirement to serve as Constable once again, Richard Nottingham discovers that he's dealing with... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mind of a Killer

978/184/751/9781847518781.jpg

Mind of a Killer

Simon Beaufort

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries

Paperback

1882. Following up a story about a fatal house fire, newspaper reporter Alec Londale discovers that the victim's death was... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Prisoner of Privilege (#18 Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain)

978/072/788/9780727888907.jpg

A Prisoner of Privilege (#18 Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain)

Rosemary Rowe

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Hardback

The arrival of a high-ranking spy for the Emperor Severus spells trouble for Libertus in this gripping historical mystery... [more]

$44.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Other Lady Vanishes (#2 Burning Cove California)

978/034/941/9780349415970.jpg

Other Lady Vanishes (#2 Burning Cove California)

Amanda Quick

Historical mysteries; Fantasy; Historical romance

Paperback

Amanda Quick, the bestselling author of 'Til Death Do Us Part, transports readers to 1930s California, where glamour and seduction... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mephisto Waltz: A Max Liebermann Mystery

978/164/313/9781643130507.jpg

Mephisto Waltz: A Max Liebermann Mystery

Frank Tallis

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical mysteries

Paperback

In the new novel in the iconic Max Liebermann mystery series, master storyteller Frank Tallis delivers his latest suspenseful... [more]

$24.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire (#1 Sackwater Mystery)

978/178/497/9781784978150.jpg

Betty Church and the Suffolk Vampire (#1 Sackwater Mystery)

M. R. C. Kasasian

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

New 1940s crime series, featuring Inspector Betty Church - one of the UK's first female police officers. Pitch-perfect historical... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Murder on Union Square

978/039/958/9780399586613.jpg

Murder on Union Square

Victoria Thompson

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

When a murder hits close to home, Sarah Malloy's husband, Frank, a former police sergeant turned private detective, finds... [more]

$14.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Rufus Spy (#8 Aelf Fen)

978/184/751/9781847518637.jpg

The Rufus Spy (#8 Aelf Fen)

Alys Clare

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries

Paperback

October, 1093. On a perilous journey north in search of King William, Lassair and her former lover Rollo are pursued by a... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.