AUSTRALIA-WIDE LOW FLAT RATE $9.90

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Woman, Missing

#1 Lou Alcott

Sherryl Clark

Double Rewards
$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
HARPER360
03 July 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

Gutsy new PI Lou Alcott takes charge in this brilliantly crafted thriller. Twisty, gritty and unputdownable, in this story the underdog is fighting back. Perfect for readers of Sarah Bailey and Jane Caro's The Mother.

She's the one to turn to when you need saving. But first she has to save herself...

Lou Alcott is turning over a new leaf as a private investigator. Formerly police, she was forced to resign when she attacked a domestic violence perpetrator. She's always vowed to be nothing like her grandfather Hamish, Melbourne's biggest crime boss, delivering an eye for an eye, but this guy had it coming.

On her first day she draws two cases helping at-risk women. First there's Diane Paterson, who has apparently left her husband without a word. Who should Lou believe? The charmingly distraught husband, Diane's suspicious parents, or the freezer full of lovingly prepared food left behind?

Then a house security check for an isolated young woman who is convinced her abusive ex is stalking her again turns worrisome when she fails to show up for their meeting. Lou reports Melinda's odd disappearance to the police but with no signs of a struggle she fears they're not able to act quickly enough.

With her protective radar pinging, Lou keeps digging until she unearths chilling evidence that puts her in the hot seat. Suddenly Lou is embroiled in a cat-and-mouse-game where there will only be one survivor... Will Lou's first case be her last?

PRAISE:

'The attention to detail is phenomenal, combined with multiple twists elevates this thriller to a new level of suspense ... If compelling mysteries with strong female leads are your kind of book, you will not want to miss out on this thriller by Sherryl Clark.' - Better Reading

'A fast-paced, action-packed thriller that explores the dangers of online dating, family loyalties, and the crossover between police, criminals and the community. Ex-cop, brand-new private investigator Lou Alcott is unconventional, unstoppable and strangely endearing.' - B.M. Carroll, author of The Other Side of Her

'I confess, I'm a big fan of Sherryl Clark's and Woman, Missing is another one to love. A pacy race against time that keeps you turning the page. Clark pulls in the reader straight away when her newly-minted private investigator Lou Alcott is called in to locate a missing wife, and to help a woman who suspects her ex is stalking her. Woman, Missing is cleverly plotted and hard to put down. A perfect holiday read.' -

Vikki Petraitis, author of The Unbelieved
By:  
Imprint:   HARPER360
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 24mm
Weight:   407g
ISBN:   9781038915443
ISBN 10:   1038915449
Pages:   304
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sherryl Clark has been writing crime fiction for many years; her first crime short stories were published in the Artemis Press anthologies, as well as 'The Age Summer Reading' and in high school texts. In 2018 she entered her novel, Trust Me, I'm Dead, in the CWA Debut Dagger and was shortlisted. This led to Verve Books UK publishing three books in her Judi Westerholme series. Trust Me, I'm Dead was longlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Award and the NZ Ngaio Marsh Debut Novel Award. Sherryl's crime fiction website is at www.sherrylclarkcrimewriter.com She has also more than 70 published children's and YA books, including novels, chapter books, picture books and award-winning verse novels. Instagram/Threads/X: @sherrylwriter Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Sherryl.Clark3/

See Inside

See Also