FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

We Set the Dark on Fire

Tehlor Kay Mejia

$19.99

Paperback

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?

QTY:

Katherine Tegen Books
20 January 2020
Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues; Young Adult Fantasy; LGBT Paranormal; Contemporary Fantasy
We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers. -NPR Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality. -Buzzfeed Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Cordova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio-and a chance at a forbidden love
By:   Tehlor Kay Mejia
Imprint:   Katherine Tegen Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   281g
ISBN:   9780062691323
ISBN 10:   0062691325
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   20 January 2020
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an author and Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. We Set the Dark on Fire is her first novel. You can follow her on Twitter @tehlorkay.

Reviews for We Set the Dark on Fire

We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright... it will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers. -- NPR.org With its achingly slow-burn romance and incisive examination of power structures, this is a masterfully constructed novel, made all the more impressive as it's a debut. -- ALA Booklist (starred review) A richly constructed world full of fantasy and diversity, with a mystery that will keep them guessing until the very end. -- School Library Journal <strong>(starred review)</strong> This fierce, feminist novel throws memorable characters into a provocative set of circumstances, and the constant twists will leave readers yearning for the conclusion. -- Publishers Weekly <strong>(starred review)</strong> This well-crafted fantasy offers a mirror that reflects themes in our own difficult world, namely privilege, immigration, and individualism versus the common good. A queer subplot with sensual tenderness adds rich complexity to the story. Thrilling and timely. -- Kirkus Reviews <strong>(starred review)</strong> Reminiscent of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, We Set the Dark on Fire burns with parallels to today's biggest news headlines. Readers will walk away with thought-provoking questions to ponder, and the story's ending will ignite further fascination. -- BookPage (starred review) Mejia's debut creates a lush and beautiful Latinx-inspired world featuring complex female characters. With thrilling adventure, unexpected twists and a cliffhanger ending, readers will clamor for the next installment. -- Shelf Awareness <strong>(starred review)</strong> Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality. -- Buzzfeed We Set the Dark on Fire is dystopian YA as you've only dreamed it could be. Mejia's story is specific yet universal, intricate and vast; it's fire and smoke and the phoenix rising from the ashes. -- Tor.com With lots of action and palace intrigue, the novel is a page turner. -- New York Journal of Books Tehlor Kay Mejia makes an impressive debut in this thrilling tale of political intrigue... The author offers terrific suspense, compelling Latina heroines, a sizzling, forbidden romance and an interesting political backdrop of a nation with an entire mythology and founding narrative that conveniently supports the status quo. -- Buffalo News Frequent twists and turns and questions of whom to trust make for a page-turner, as does a clandestine queer romance. Unresolved questions at the fiery end are likely to leave readers eager for the promised second half of the duology. -- The Horn Book Tehlor Kay Mejia has fashioned a gripping tale of romance and rebellion. Dani captivated me and held my heart in a vice grip all the way to this book's stunning conclusion. -- Tochi Onyebuchi, author of <em>Beasts Made of Night</em> We Set the Dark on Fire simmers with political revolution and forbidden love between two powerful young women-I couldn't put it down. -- Audrey Coulthurst, author of <em>Of Fire and Stars</em> A vivid tale of political intrigue, power, and resistance that will thrill the hearts of readers. -- <em>New York Times</em> bestselling author Traci Chee A stunning debut. Tehlor Kay Mejia weaves a gorgeous narrative where etiquette can be wielded like a weapon and where wit can be just as powerful as a sword. -- Rin Chupeco, author of <em>The Bone Witch</em> Mejia's given us a gift in this lush, rebellious, queer, Latinx story. -- Latinxs in Kid Lit


See Also