FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Threads of Magic

Alison Croggon Matt Saunders

$16.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Walker Books
01 March 2020
Children's & Educational; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA)
An atmospheric and riveting fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Cornelia Funke. Pip lives on his wits in the city of Clarel. When he pickpockets the wrong man, he finds himself in possession of a strange object - a heart in a silver casket. What's more, the heart seems to be trying to communicate with Pip, and the royal officials who lost it will stop at nothing to get it back.

Pip has unwittingly broken an ancient spell, and his theft will have far-reaching consequences for the whole city. As the ancient war between the Spectres and witches of Clarel reignites, the heart prepares to seek revenge for all it has suffered...

Alison Croggon conjures a rich, immersive world with brilliant and memorable characters in this captivating story of loyalty, courage and friendship.
By:   Alison Croggon
Cover design or artwork by:   Matt Saunders
Imprint:   Walker Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   266g
ISBN:   9781406384741
ISBN 10:   1406384747
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   01 March 2020
Recommended Age:   From 9 to 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Alison Croggon is the acclaimed author of the high fantasy series The Books of Pellinor. She is also the author of Black Spring, a fantasy reworking of Wuthering Heights; and The River and the Book, which was endorsed by Amnesty International. Alison is an award-winning poet whose work has been published extensively, and she has written widely for theatre, with her plays and opera libretti having been produced all around Australia. Alison is also an editor and critic. She lives in Melbourne, Australia. Find out more about Alison at www.alisoncroggon.com and follow her on Twitter: @alisoncroggon

Reviews for The Threads of Magic

A dark, rich, complex setting and plot, just teeming with the kind of prickly, hardened, sly (yet somehow utterly sympathetic) characters more usual in a Dickens or Susanna Clarke novel than children's fantasy. Every unexpected twist and turn brought a new delight or a new terror that dragged me - grinning and fearful - through this excellent, excellent, story. -- Celine Kiernan A lyrical, poetic writer and a compelling storyteller. * Garth Nix *


See Also