APRIL'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Mind Strength Method

Four steps to curb anxiety, conquer worry and build resilience

Jodie Lowinger

Signed
$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Murdoch Books
02 March 2021
For readers of The Resilience Project, fans of Brene Brown, comes the tried-and-tested method that has helped thousands turn anxiety into action.

What if you could turn anxiety into your superpower? Dr Jodie Lowinger - clinical psychologist, executive coach and founder of The Anxiety Clinic - is at the forefront of mental health practice and, in a world where approximately one in four people experience challenging anxiety, has directly helped thousands. Through her Mind Strength Methodology, and now in her first book, Dr Jodie offers a logical and practical toolkit using the best evidence-based techniques to:

- overcome fear-driven thoughts and behaviours and turn them into empowered action - break free from being bossed around by worry and your inner critic - build a resilient, high-performance mindset.

Woven through with relatable case studies, simple diagrams and illustrations, The Mind Strength Method challenges the stories you've been telling yourself and helps you to move forward in your life with enhanced confidence, resilience, happiness and wellbeing. It is a go-to guide for anyone who feels they are caught in fight-or-flight mode and a must-read book in the midst of uncertainty.


'Jodie has an extraordinary desire to help those struggling with anxiety. Her knowledge on the topic is quite remarkable, so too her drive to make a difference to people's lives. The Mind Strength Method is hugely beneficial for anyone looking to get the best out of both themselves and those around them. At a time where the world is struggling with anxiety and depression, it is good to know that programs such as Jodie's truly make a difference.' HUGH VAN CUYLENBURG, author The Resilience Project

'We live in a fretful age. Certainties are collapsing. Demands are multiplying. Anxiety is an epidemic. Luckily, Dr Lowinger has the measure of your amygdala. In this book she explains the flight, fight or freeze response that drives so much of our stress. But her real gift is her techniques for reframing those responses to return power and strength to our daily lives. Read it.' HUGH RIMINTON, journalist

'If you or your child wants to build resilience in the face of stress and anxiety, read this book. Now.' APRIL PALMERLEE, CEO of the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia

'Dr Jodie's method has helped me so much and I know this practical resource will help so many others work through anxiety. I can't wait to share it with the world!' LAURA HENSHAW, co-founder KIC

'Dr Jodie Lowinger's ability to distill down and simplify life's complexities into useful tools that can be applied everyday in both personal and professional situations is incredible. I would highly recommend this in both a personal and professional context. Very empowering!' BRIAN SIEMSEN, Global CEO, Claim Central Consolidated, and ex NRL football player

'Whether you need help in your personal life or in business or both, Jodie's Mind Strength methods are remarkable and I highly recommend her.' VINCE FROST

'Kiss your old life and habits goodbye! Dr Jodie delivers multiple lightbulb moments as she shows readers the true strength we each possess for real mental change - both personally and professionally.' ROBIN ROBERSON, managing director, Claim Central North America

'Dr Jodie's Mind Strength Method is a must! Her calm and constant nature is unique, as is her empathetic and encouraging take on building resilience and courage, and overcoming adversity. Her advice and techniques help tackle challenging situations in a constructive and uncomplicated manner. This mood-boosting book is packed with positive and practical ways to live the best life you can, create confidence, reduce stress, and take back control of your life.' KERRI MCCALLUM, Editor-in-chief, NewsCorp

'The Mind Strength Method is a must read book for those suffering anxiety or anyone who deals with stress. Some simple and achievable tools for navigating a busy and unpredictable lifestyle which is most of us really! Combining the fundamentals of neuroscience, psychology and positive thinking, the Mind Strength Method is the Google maps for navigating anxiety, stress and a busy life.' ASSOCIATE PROF RALPH MOBBS, neurosurgeon

 Dr Jodie Lowinger at Abbey's Bookshop
By:   Jodie Lowinger
Imprint:   Murdoch Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   389g
ISBN:   9781922351388
ISBN 10:   1922351385
Pages:   312
Publication Date:   02 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
INTRODUCTION 1 - Do worry, stress or anxiety boss you around? 2 - You can build Mind Strength 3 - Building a resilient mindset STEP 1 - Awareness of Your Fight or Flight Driven Thoughts, Feelings and Actions 4 - What is anxiety and why the escalation? 5 - The power of mindset - can you change your relationship with anxiety? 6 - The difference between anxiety and an anxiety disorder 7 - What about stress? 8 - Distress intolerance 9 - The worry snowball 10 - Notice when worry is bossing you around 11 - Safety behaviours - unhelpful coping strategies STEP 2 - Awareness of your values 12 - Identifying an alternative to fear-driven actions STEP 3 - Mind strength toolkit to build resilience 13 - Mind Strength toolkit to build resilience 14 - Mind Strength Tool #1 - Notice the worry story 15 - Mind Strength Tool #2 - Dissolve the hijacking amygdala through mindfulness 16 - Mind Strength Tool #3 - Get out of the boxing ring with uncertainty 17 - Mind Strength Tool #4 - Move from worry to problem Solving 18 - Mind Strength Tool #5 - Approach avoided situations 19 - Mind Strength Tool #6 - Let go of your safety behaviours 20 - Mind Strength Tool #7 - Engage mood boosters 21 - Mind Strength Tool #8 - Stand up to the critical voice and conquer imposter syndrome Step 4 - Move forward aligned to your purpose and values 22 - Notice, pivot and adapt 23 - A life of fulfilment, resilience and wellness 24 - Enjoy mind strength

Dr Jodie Lowinger is a clinical psychologist, world-leading expert in anxiety, mindset and resilience, and CEO/founder of The Anxiety Clinic, where she has helped thousands of adults, children and adolescents with all levels of severity of anxiety, stress, mood and behavioural challenges. She received the University Medal for Psychology from UNSW, has completed post-graduate research in anxiety at the University of Sydney and has worked and trained at Harvard Medical School, Boston Children's Hospital and St Vincent's Hospital Anxiety Disorders Unit. Dr Jodie is also a high-performance and mindset coach to global business leaders and elite athletes, where she helps them engage in mindset, performance and resilience strategies to succeed. Alongside her work with executives and organisations, Jodie is a go-to anxiety and resilience expert for school principals, teachers, parents, children and adolescents. She is on the board of several not-for-profit organisations including Gotcha4Life, boosting men's mental fitness and Streetwork, mentoring homeless teens to turn young lives around. As a keynote speaker and media commentator, Dr Jodie's work has exploded since the covid epidemic. With the Mind Strength Method, Jodie is on a heart-driven mission to equip people with practical, proven techniques to relieve anxiety, stress, worry and fear and build resilient, high-performing and empowered action for all ages. Alongside equipping people with a transformational Mind Strength Toolkit, Jodie helps people recognise the inherent strengths in people who experience anxiety: a deep, protective instinct; analytical mind; and passionate, caring heart - 'you care because you care'. She has created a Mind Strength Movement for positivity and empowered action worldwide.

See Also