SUMMER CATALOGUE OUT NOW: VIEW

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek

Rhett McLaughlin Link Neal Lance Rubin

$25.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Crown Publishers
01 September 2020
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Adventure; Horror & ghost stories; Science fiction; Crime ; Thriller Horror
It's 1992 in Bleak Creek, North Carolina, a sleepy little place with all the trappings of an ordinary Southern town- two Baptist churches, friendly smiles coupled with silent judgments, and an unquenchable appetite for pork products. Beneath the town's cheerful fa ade, however, Bleak Creek teens live in constant fear of being sent to The Whitewood School, a local reformatory with a record of putting unruly teens back on the straight and narrow-a record so impeccable that almost everyone is willing to ignore the mysterious deaths that have occurred there over the past decade. At first, high school freshmen Rex McClendon and Leif Nelson believe what they've been told- that the students' strange demises were all just tragic accidents, the unfortunate consequence of succumbing to vices like Marlboro Lights and Nirvana. But when the shoot for their low-budget horror masterpiece, PolterDog, goes horribly awry-and their best friend, Alicia Boykins, is sent to Whitewood as punishment-Rex and Leif are forced to question everything they know about their unassuming hometown and its cherished school for delinquents. Eager to rescue their friend, Rex and Leif pair up with recent NYU film school grad Janine Blitstein to begin piecing together the unsettling truth of the school and its mysterious founder, Wayne Whitewood. What they find will leave them battling an evil beyond their wildest imaginations-one that will shake Bleak Creek to its core.
By:   Rhett McLaughlin, Link Neal
Other:   Lance Rubin
Imprint:   Crown Publishers
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 132mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   262g
ISBN:   9781984822147
ISBN 10:   1984822144
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   01 September 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal, raised in North Carolina and best friends since the first grade, are a comedy duo known for creating the Internet's most-watched daily talk show, Good Mythical Morning; their award-winning weekly podcast Ear Biscuits; and the instant #1 New York Times bestseller, Rhett & Link's Book of Mythicality. They share an office at Mythical Entertainment, the company they cofounded, but live separately with their respective wives, children, and dogs in Los Angeles.

Reviews for The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek

Rhett McLaughlin and Link Neal conjure up a heady brew of hilarity, friendship, and dark forces in the small-town South, where being the funny, smart kids might just end up as the fight of your life. Fans of John Green and Stranger Things take note. --Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds I cannot think of a more exciting novel to read--and share with my sons--than The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek! Thank you, Rhett and Link, for this gem about friendship, courage, and adventure, which is touched by your humor, wit, and intelligence with each twist and turn! --Mayim Bialik, New York Times bestselling author of Boying Up I tore through all 324 pages of this book in one sitting--and I still didn't want it to end! I would have been willing to read as many as 325 pages, or possibly even 326. Though if I'm being totally honest, they probably could have stopped at 323. Either way, I loved this creative book. --Jimmy Fallon, host of The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon The Lost Causes of Bleak Creek reminded me, lovingly and longingly, of films like The Goonies or The Lost Boys--those kind of throwback narratives that make you recall what it was like to be a kid: the close friendships, that strange and needful breed of fear you only feel at that age, and the looming threat of adulthood lurking at the periphery. If, like me, you believe there's a power vested in books that can take you back in time, then this book is its own little power plant. --Craig Davidson, author of The Saturday Night Ghost Club An entertaining narrative . . . Brimming with 1990s cultural references ranging from New Kids on the Block to Hypercolor t-shirts, the story is funny, spooky, and at times terrifying. -Booklist


See Also