Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Last Brother
— —
Andrew Gross
The Last Brother by Andrew Gross at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Last Brother

Andrew Gross


9781509878390

Pan


Fiction & Literature;
Crime & mystery;
Thriller & suspense;
Historical fiction


Paperback

384 pages

$17.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

From International Number One Bestseller Andrew Gross, The Last Brother is the thrilling historical novel about three brothers and the Mafia in 1930s New York.

United by blood 1930s New York City. Three brothers grow up poor on the Lower East Side, until the death of their father forces them to find work to support their family. Each brother takes a different path.

Divided by ambition Twelve-year-old Morris Rabishevsky apprentices himself to a garment manufacturer with the aim of running the business. Sol, six years older, heads to accounting school but is forced to drop out. Scarred by a family tragedy, Harry falls under the spell of the charismatic Louis Buchalter, who in a few short years becomes the most ruthless mobster in town.

Torn apart by conflict Morris convinces Sol to go into business with him, but Harry can't be lured away from the glamour, power and money of the mob. As their business grows, Buchalter sets his sights on the unions that control the garment maker's factories, setting up a fatal showdown that could bring them together or shatter their family forever.

By:   Andrew Gross
Imprint:   Pan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 26mm
Weight:   270g
ISBN:   9781509878390
ISBN 10:   1509878394
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   April 2019
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Before writing his own bestselling thrillers, Andrew Gross co-authored five novels with James Patterson. His first novel, The Blue Zone, was an instant international bestseller. He currently lives in New York with his wife, Lynn, and their three children.


Not to be missed * Providence Journal * Another powerful mix of suspense and vivid characterization rooted in an earlier, darker time * Connecticut Post * Historical fiction fans will be drawn in by the details of the author's own family history in the garment industry * Library Journal * Andrew Gross is in top form with this beautifully haunting novel that mixes history seamlessly with fiction . . . an epic journey of struggle, hope, death and life. Riveting to the very last page * NY Journal of Books * The strength of this suspenseful novel lies in its dark humor and characterizations of the brothers . . . The sometimes gritty, sometimes swanky settings bring a tumultuous time and place to brimming life * Historical Novel Society * A riveting piece of historical fiction, mixed with family saga, exposing the Jewish mob of the 1930's who preyed on the garment industry and the brave few who stood up against them. This book is a heart-stopper. I loved, LOVED it! -- Linda Fairstein A gut-wrenching, noirish portrait of Jewish organized crime and labor unionism in 1930s New York . . . These are characters you won't forget . . . Alternately frightful and fascinating, the story viscerally describes the era, exposing the motives and fears that drive each character and play out on the streets * Booklist * It is a powerful book written at a fierce pace and packed with many a memorable scene * Publisher's Weekly * A highly satisfying story of family loyalty, persistence, courage, and crime * Kirkus Reviews * Andrew Gross' prowess for rich historical mysteries, usually with a Jewish theme, takes another leap forward * South Florida Sun Sentinel * The author incorporates his real family history to enrich the story, and his love of that rich genealogical connection along with vast research into life in the Big Apple almost a century ago results in another outstanding and engrossing read * Associated Press * A compelling, fast paced historical thriller that paints a rich portrait of the rise of organized crime in 1930's America. Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it -- Kristin Hannah This is a big, heartfelt handshake of a book, with all the street-scrambling energy that distinguishes the best fiction of Jeffrey Archer and Mario Puzo * USA Today * Mr. Gross's direct style is full of sentiment but never maudlin and well-suited to scenes of violent action . . . has plenty of zip-and lots of moxie, too * Wall Street Journal *

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.