Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Shock Waves

Fleur McDonald



In stock
Ready to ship


Allen & Unwin
03 April 2024
'Nobody does rural fiction quite like Fleur McDonald.' Weekly Times

'A family drama at heart, the book is an authentic exploration of grief, family estrangement, and life on the land (fans of McDonald's previous novels will enjoy the return of Detective Dave Burrows)' The on Voices in the Dark

Detective Dave Burrows has longed for the top job in the Stock Squad but never thought he'd be acting in that role while his partner and best mate, Detective Bob Holden, is treated for melanoma.

Bob is keen to get back on the road and Dave can't wait to go bush either, expecting the trip will be much the same as usual.

But the trip doesn't play out that way.

Multiple bomb blasts in the small country town of Kallygarn send shock waves through the state of Western Australia, and Dave and Bob are once again drawn into the criminal underworld.

Praise for Fleur McDonald:

'It is a suspense filled journey from open to close in this rural yarn.' -Mrs B's Book Reviews on Voices in the Dark

'...a riveting rural crime story ... Dave comes across as sincere and likeable. You find yourself barracking for him.'- The Burgeoning Bookshelf on Without a Doubt

'This story is so well written with suspense and mystery and with Dave's cool calm attitude to solving cases, I was turning the pages, although I want all the answers I often don't want the story to end.' -Family Saga Reviews on Into the Night

'McDonald brings all her passion for the land to this rural suspense.' - Australian Women's Weekly on Something to Hide

'Something To Hide ramps up the tension to new heights as Dave lays everything he loves, believes in, dreams of, on the line to bring... Fleur McDonald has come up with ripper of storyline that is going to be hard to follow.' - Blue Wolf Reviews
Imprint:   Allen & Unwin
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 153mm, 
Weight:   376g
ISBN:   9781761470097
ISBN 10:   1761470094
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Fleur McDonald has lived and worked on farms for much of her life. After growing up in the small town of Orroroo in South Australia, she became a jillaroo before spending twenty years farming 8000 acres, east of Esperance, WA. Fleur likes to write about strong women overcoming adversity, drawing inspiration from her own experiences in rural Australia. She is the best-selling author of Red Dust, Blue Skies, Purple Roads, Silver Clouds, Crimson Dawn, Emerald Springs, Indigo Storm, Sapphire Falls, The Missing Pieces of Us, Suddenly One Summer, Fool's Gold, Where the Rivers Run, Without a Doubt, Starting From Now, Red Dirt Country, The Shearer's Wife, Something to Hide, Deception Creek, Rising Dust, Broad River Station, Into the Night and Voices in the Dark as well as the ebook exclusives If You Were Here and A Farmer's Choice. Fleur currently lives in Esperance with her two children and an energetic kelpie.

See Also