Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
Opposite of Always
— —
Justin Reynolds
Opposite of Always by Justin Reynolds at Abbey's Bookshop,

Opposite of Always

Justin Reynolds


9781509870042

Macmillan


Children's & Educational;
General fiction (Children's&YA);
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA);
Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA);
Personal & social issues: death & bereavement (Children's&YA)


Paperback

320 pages

$17.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

'One of the best love stories I've ever read.' Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give.

From debut author justin a. reynolds comes The Opposite of Always, a razor-sharp, hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose and the moments that make life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, he knows he's falling - hard. Soon she's meeting his best friends and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate's death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate's there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn't sure if he's losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate's death, he'll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he's willing to do to save the people he loves.

'Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest.' Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

By:   Justin Reynolds
Imprint:   Macmillan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 31mm
Weight:   326g
ISBN:   9781509870042
ISBN 10:   1509870040
Pages:   320
Publication Date:   April 2019
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 18 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

justin. a. reynolds has been a pest control operator, night security guard, steel mill janitor, NASA intern, salesman of high-end faucet fixtures, and carpet-flooring installer. He was most recently a registered nurse, before trading his stethoscope for a pencil, but likes to think both instruments reveal the heart. He lives with his family in northeast Ohio, home to snow, Lake Erie, and the Cavaliers. The Opposite of Always is his first novel.


Jack's narration is as funny as it is poignant as he moves from romantic to frantic and back again... [a] sentimental but not saccharine fantasy. * Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books * [Reynolds] creates an enormously likable character who is doing the best he can and then some ...the book's blend of humor and heartbreak wins out. * Publishers Weekly * Reynolds spins a poignant, dizzying tale of love and loss in this page-turning time-travel fantasy. * Horn Book * Romeo and Juliet meets Groundhog Day and Love Story in this wonderfully romantic story of teenage love and second chances.... Reynolds creates a pair of unforgettable protagonists who are doomed to love, lose, and work to find one another again and again. * Kirkus Reviews * A love story about friendship with a choose your own adventure twist... Any teen who's ever wanted a do-over will enjoy reading this story. * School Library Journal * Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest. Reynolds' debut is wise, heartfelt, and wildly, infinitely charming. -- Becky Albertalli, #1 <i>New York Times </i>bestselling author of <i>Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda</i>and <i>Leah on the Offbeat</i> This charming, wry novel packed with witty, crackling banter is propulsively readable. There are some big questions about choice, consequences, loyalty, and love in this novel, and Reynolds beautifully complements those heavy concerns with the sweet, funny, and genuine voice of his protagonist. * Booklist * Wise, heartfelt and infinitely charming -- Becky Albertalli, author of <i>Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda (</i>filmed as <i>Love Simon</i>) Jack King is the hero we've been waiting for -- Angie Thomas, author of <i>The Hate U Give</i>

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.