Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Travel writing


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Travel writing

326 results

Notes from the Cevennes: Half a Lifetime in Provincial France

978/147/295/9781472951298.jpg

Notes from the Cevennes: Half a Lifetime in Provincial France

Adam Thorpe

Memoirs; Social & cultural history; The natural world, country life & pets; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Hardback

Adam Thorpe's home for the past 25 years has been an old house in the Cevennes, a wild range of mountains in southern France.... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Edinburgh: A Traveller's Reader

978/147/214/9781472141637.jpg

Edinburgh: A Traveller's Reader

David Daiches

British & Irish history; Modern history to 20th century: c 1700 to c 1900; Social & cultural history; Travel & holiday; Travel writing; Places & peoples: pictorial works

Paperback

A collection of writings on Edinburgh that makes the city a thousandfold more captivating with a kaleidoscope of insights... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Hidden Nature: Wainwright Prize 2018 Shortlisted

978/147/362/9781473623026.jpg

Hidden Nature: Wainwright Prize 2018 Shortlisted

Alys Fowler

Wildlife: general interest; Walking, hiking, trekking; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A beautifully written exploration of life and urban nature from writer and gardener Alys Fowler. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tip Of The Iceberg: My 3,000-Mile Journey Around Wild Alaska, the Last Great American Frontier

978/110/198/9781101985106.jpg

Tip Of The Iceberg: My 3,000-Mile Journey Around Wild Alaska, the Last Great...

Mark Adams

Memoirs; Travel & holiday; Travel & holiday guides; Travel writing

Hardback

From the ... author of Turn Right at Machu Picchu, a ... journey into Alaska, America's last frontier, retracing the historic... [more]

$44.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Mountains of California

978/048/681/9780486819204.jpg

The Mountains of California

John Muir

The natural world, country life & pets; Travel & holiday; Classic travel writing

Paperback

The pioneer conservationist recounts his journeys through the Yosemite Valley, Mount Whitney, the famed sequoia forests, King's... [more]

$31.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tragic Shores: A Memoir of Dark Travel

978/178/206/9781782065036.jpg

Tragic Shores: A Memoir of Dark Travel

Thomas Cook

Memoirs; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A memoir of a lifetime's travel to some of the darkest places on earth: a first work of non-fiction from this much-admired... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Travelling Light: Journeys Among Special People and Places

978/034/914/9780349142333.jpg

Travelling Light: Journeys Among Special People and Places

Alastair Sawday

Memoirs; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A charming and beautifully written account of the pleasures of slow travel - for readers of Patrick Leigh Fermor, Colin Thubron... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bradshaw's Handbook to London

978/178/442/9781784423322.jpg

Bradshaw's Handbook to London

George Bradshaw

History; Transport: general interest; Local history; Classic travel writing

Hardback

Conway's latest contribution to the Bradshaw's publishing phenomenon is this superb and wonderfully illustrated guide to Victorian... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
House of Snow: An Anthology of the Greatest Writing About Nepal

978/178/854/9781788541534.jpg

House of Snow: An Anthology of the Greatest Writing About Nepal

Sir Ranulph Fiennes

True stories of heroism, endurance & survival; Asian history; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A collection of stories, poems and articles about Nepal covering the length and breadth of this enchanting nation and its... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Great Australian Journeys: Gripping Stories of Intrepid Explorers, Dramatic Escapes and Foolhardy Adventures

978/176/063/9781760630973.jpg

Great Australian Journeys: Gripping Stories of Intrepid Explorers, Dramatic...

Graham Seal

Anthologies (non-poetry); History; Classic travel writing

Paperback

Graham Seal has the knack of the storyteller' - Warren Fahey AM Australia's history is one of epic journeys, intrepid explorers,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
American Journeys

978/014/379/9780143790990.jpg

American Journeys

Don Watson

Memoirs; Politics & government; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

In May 2005, on a sudden impulse, Don Watson took a train called The Southwest Chief from Chicago to Los Angeles: like a woodworm,... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Forgotten Kingdom: Nine Years in Yunnan

978/178/060/9781780601113.jpg

Forgotten Kingdom: Nine Years in Yunnan

Peter Goullart

Social & cultural history; Travel & holiday; Classic travel writing; Places & peoples: pictorial works

Paperback

Peter Goullart spent nine years in the all-but-forgotten Nakhi Kingdom of south west China. He had a job entirely suited... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Impossible Five:: In Search of South Africa's Most Elusive Mammals

978/190/976/9781909762558.jpg

The Impossible Five:: In Search of South Africa's Most Elusive Mammals

Justin Fox

Biography: science, technology & engineering; The environment; Travel & holiday; Travel & holiday guides; Travel writing

Paperback

A humorous take on the traditional African safari as the author searches for five rare and endangered animals to photograph.... [more]

$25.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Nothing is True and Everything is Possible: Adventures in Modern Russia

978/057/133/9780571338528.jpg

Nothing is True and Everything is Possible: Adventures in Modern Russia...

Peter Pomerantsev

History; European history; 21st century history: from c 2000 -; Postwar 20th century history, from c 1945 to c 2000; Travel writing

Paperback

A journey into the glittering, surreal heart of 21st century Russia: into the lives of Hells Angels convinced they are messiahs,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In Patagonia: 40th Anniversary Edition

978/178/487/9781784872243.jpg

In Patagonia: 40th Anniversary Edition

Bruce Chatwin

Autobiography: historical, political & military; Social groups; Geographical discovery & exploration; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

When Bruce Chatwin's In Patagonia was published in 1977 it heralded the arrival of a startling new talent in British literature.... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Rule of the Land: Walking Ireland's Border

978/057/131/9780571313372.jpg

The Rule of the Land: Walking Ireland's Border

Garrett Carr

Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

In the wake of the EU referendum, the United Kingdom's border with Ireland has gained greater significance: it is set to become... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
1001 Walks You Must Experience Before You Die

978/176/063/9781760631413.jpg

1001 Walks You Must Experience Before You Die

Barry Stone

Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

The ever-increasing passion for recreational walking is given fresh impetus with the creation of each new national park and... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In Search of Nice Americans: Off-Grid, on the road and state to state in Trump's America

978/178/590/9781785902635.jpg

In Search of Nice Americans: Off-Grid, on the road and state to state in...

Geoff Steward

Memoirs; Travel & holiday; Expeditions

Paperback

Light-hearted and very, very funny - how one man's mid-career crisis turns into an odyssey into the weirder side of American... [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Lonely Planet Better than Fiction: True Travel Tales from Great Fiction Writers

978/178/701/9781787012660.jpg

Lonely Planet Better than Fiction: True Travel Tales from Great Fiction...

Kurt Andersen, Stefan Merrill Block, Bryce Courtenay, Peter Matthiessen, Frances Mayes

Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

Join famous fiction writers and up-and-coming authors for this new collection of globetrotting real-life travel tales. By... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Eat Pray Love: Bloomsbury Modern Classics

978/140/889/9781408891391.jpg

Eat Pray Love: Bloomsbury Modern Classics

Elizabeth Gilbert

Autobiography: general; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A beautiful new limited edition paperback of Eat Pray Love, published as part of the Bloomsbury Modern Classics list To... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tracks

978/140/889/9781408896204.jpg

Tracks

Robyn Davidson

Memoirs; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A revised, reissued edition of this prize-winning, bestselling account of one woman's solo journey across 1,700 miles of Australian... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Voyage of the Southern Sun: An Amazing Solo Journey Around the World

978/186/395/9781863959308.jpg

Voyage of the Southern Sun: An Amazing Solo Journey Around the World

Michael Smith

Memoirs; Aircraft: general interest; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

With limited flying experience, no support team, and only basic instruments in his tiny single-engine flying boat, Smith risked... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Island of the Blue Foxes: Disaster and Triumph on the World's Greatest Scientific Expedition

978/030/682/9780306825194.jpg

Island of the Blue Foxes: Disaster and Triumph on the World's Greatest Scientific...

Stephen Bown

General & world history; Mathematics & Sciences; Expeditions

Hardback

The story of the world's largest, longest, and best financed scientific expedition of all time, triumphantly successful, gruesomely... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World

978/178/470/9781784700720.jpg

Far and Away: How Travel Can Change the World

Andrew Solomon

Reportage & collected journalism; Travel writing

Paperback

In 1991 Andrew Solomon faced down tanks in Moscow with a band of Russian artists protesting the August coup. With his signature... [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Journey: An Illustrated History of Travel

978/024/128/9780241289426.jpg

Journey: An Illustrated History of Travel

DK

History: specific events & topics; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

A lavishly illustrated account of human journeys with a foreword by Simon Reeve, from Ancient Persian couriers to the ascent... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.