PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

What We Devour

Linsey Miller

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Sourcebooks Fire
01 September 2021
Age range 14 to 18 Beauty and the Beast meets Wicked Saints in this standalone dark fantasy from the author of Mask of Shadows duology and Belle Revolte.

Undertaker Lorena knows what her future holds-she'll finish her apprenticeship, marry her best friend Julian, and live in a land ruled by a bloodthirsty family convinced they alone can keep ancient demons from descending on the kingdom. But when Julian receives news that his father has been convicted of crimes against the crown, the two head to the capital to help.

When Lorena is kidnapped by Crown Prince Alistair, she learns he's not the violent inheritor rumours have painted him to be. He explains that the sacrifices are a necessary evil - the demons are very real and require more and more blood to keep them at bay.

As a rebellion grows more certain, Lorena becomes less sure of her loyalties. Should she trust the boy she thought she loved and the world she thought she knew? Or should her loyalties lie with the centuries-old legends of the boy she barely knows who has everything to lose?

'Excellent asexual representation in Lorena, rich worldbuilding, political intrigue, and a cast of prickly, passionate characters round out the satisfyingly complex plot. Particularly masterful are the shifts in Lorena's narrative perspective that reflect the sacrifices of significant memories...

Mind-bending and incisive.' - Kirkus Reviews
By:  
Imprint:   Sourcebooks Fire
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 140mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   317g
ISBN:   9781492679257
ISBN 10:   1492679259
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 14 to 18 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

A wayward biologist from Arkansas, Linsey previously worked as a crime lab intern, neuroscience lab assistant, and pharmacy technician. She can be found writing about science and magic anywhere there's coffee. She is the author of the Mask of Shadows duology, Belle Revolte, and What We Devour. Visit her online at linseymiller.com.

Reviews for What We Devour

A triumphant dark fantasy, What We Devour serves up an incredibly smart magic system with a side of eat-the-rich energy. Perfect for fans of Wicked Saints and anyone who likes their romances equal parts swoony and stabby. This is my favorite Linsey Miller book - Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars What We Devour has my new favorite magic system. Miller pulls no punches in a stark examination of class structures and the consequences of conflating worth and wealth set against the backdrop of a post-apocalyptic fantasy world. With a cunning main character and visceral prose that will leave you haunted, this book is a dark delight. - Kalyn Josephson, author of The Storm Crow duology What We Devour is a brilliant and bloodthirsty read that pulls no punches, makes us question all of our actions, and begs us to find a way to change the world. - Laura Pohl, author of The Last 8 duology WHAT WE DEVOUR is a twisting, complex puzzle box, effortlessly weaving sinister bargains, deadly magic, and the ethics of power and sacrifice. With an unforgettable cast and themes achingly relevant to today's readers, this book is not to be missed. - Margaret Owen, author of The Merciful Crow duology Dark, mesmerizing and wildly original, What We Devour is a captivating fantasy you won't be able to put down. - Andrew Shvarts, author of The Royal Bastards trilogy Dark, mesmerizing and wildly original, What We Devour is a captivating fantasy you won't be able to put down. - Andrew Shvarts, author of The Royal Bastards trilogy Miller always delivers on queer fantasy. - Dahlia Adler, Buzzfeed Lorena's asexuality and many other characters' nonbinary gender identities are refreshing bright spots... The storytelling offers a poignant exploration of what sacrifice really means. - School Library Journal Excellent asexual representation in Lorena, rich worldbuilding, political intrigue, and a cast of prickly, passionate characters round out the satisfyingly complex plot. Particularly masterful are the shifts in Lorena's narrative perspective that reflect the sacrifices of significant memories...Mind-bending and incisive. - Kirkus Reviews Anyone who reads Linsey Miller knows that her worldbuilding, characters, and tense plot lines make for some of the best dark fantasy novels in the YA genre. - Brianna Robinson, The Young Folks Readers who enjoy rich complex characters, difficult moral quandaries and political intrigue will relish sinking their teeth into this book. - Annie Deo, The Nerd Daily I'm ready to devour the second installment in this apocalyptic fantasy series. - Kayla Webb, The Tempest What We Devour is one of those magnificently atmospheric and character-driven books with a plot that needs to be experienced. - Jodi Scaife, Fanbase Press [Lorena is] undeniably intriguing, and she's admirable in her ownership of her asexuality. - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Dark, atmospheric, and consuming, WHAT WE DEVOUR is a thrilling and thought-provoking YA fantasy read that will leave the reader reeling. - YA Books Central


See Also