FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Uprooted

Naomi Novik

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Pan
26 April 2016
Science fiction; Fantasy; Aliens; Alien Invasion; Military; War; Space Ships; Arthur C Clarke Award; British Science Fiction Award; Hugo Award; Nebula Award
WINNER OF THE NEBULA AWARD, THE LOCUS AWARD AND THE BRITISH FANTASY AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2016 From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales.

Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic. Lev Grossman, author of the The Magicians Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn't, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose. From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

PRAISE FOR UPROOTED Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight. Cassandra Clare The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you. Ursula K. Le Guin Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you! Tamora Pierce Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge. Robin Hobb I didn't know how much I wanted to read a book like this until it was already in my hands. Uprooted has everything I love about Novik's writing style, with the added bonus of some old world magic and the flavor of a dark faerie story. Patrick Rothfuss A beguiling novel Independent, SFF Books of the Year
By:   Naomi Novik
Imprint:   Pan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 27mm
Weight:   314g
ISBN:   9781447294146
ISBN 10:   1447294149
Publication Date:   26 April 2016
Recommended Age:   From 18
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Reviews for Uprooted

Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching. -- GREGORY MAGUIRE The roots of Uprooted are planted deep in fairy tale lore, but the story that Naomi Novik has coaxed forth is fresh and compelling. It reads like a previously undiscovered origin myth in the best possible way! -- JACQUELINE CAREY Naomi Novik's Uprooted is a marvelous fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle and vastly superior to The Hobbit. Her characters, setting, and the magic they use are all brilliant. I devoured the book in one reading. Well done! I want more! -- TODD MCCAFFREY Uprooted is one of those tales you come back to over and over again because it's just that enchanting. The adventure builds with such tension that you are peeking through your hands at the end, hoping it will all be okay, and Novik delivers a conclusion that's deeply satisfying, earning a permanent space on my bookshelf that I'll revisit often. -- KEVIN HEARN Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you! -- TAMORA PIERCE Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic. -- LEV GROSSMAN The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you. -- URSULA K. LE GUIN Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge. -- ROBIN HOBB Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight. * CASSANDRA CLARE *


  • Short-listed for Hugo Award For Best Novel 2016
  • Short-listed for Hugo Award For Best Novel 2016 (UK)
  • Short-listed for Hugo Award: Novel Category 2016
  • Shortlisted for Hugo Award: Novel Category 2016.
  • Winner of British Fantasy Award 2016
  • Winner of British Fantasy Award 2016.
  • Winner of Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2016
  • Winner of Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel 2016.
  • Winner of SFWA Nebula Award Novel Category 2016.

See Also