PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Witchs Heart

Genevieve Gornichec

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Titan Books
01 July 2021
When a banished witch falls in love with legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

Angrboda's story begins where most witch tales end: with a burning. A punishment from Odin for refusing to provide him with knowledge of the future, the fire leaves Angrboda injured and powerless, and she flees into the farthest reaches of a remote forest. There she is found by a man who reveals himself to be Loki, and her initial distrust of him transforms into a deep and abiding love.

Their union produces three unusual children, each with a secret destiny, who Angrboda is keen to raise at the edge of the world, safely hidden from Odin's all-seeing eye. But as Angrboda slowly recovers her prophetic powers, she learns that her blissful life - and possibly all of existence - is in danger.

With help from the fierce huntress Skadi, with whom she shares a growing bond, Angrboda must choose whether she'll accept the fate that she's foreseen for her beloved family...or rise to remake their future. From the most ancient of tales this novel forges a story of love, loss, and hope for the modern age.

'Gornichec's spellbinding story breathes life into a minor character from Norse myth, delving into the complexities of Angrboda's familial relationships and the lengths to which she'll go for both love and vengeance. This powerful fantasy is sure to win Gornichec many fans.' - Publishers Weekly, starred review 'A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller's Circe and the Marvel version of Loki.' - Library Journal, starred review 'A feminist reimagining of the Norse myths surrounding Ragnaroek...melding together the wide range of Nordic legends, this is a story of tenderness and betrayal, friendship and loyalty, family and monsters, beginnings and endings. Offer this beautiful reimagining to fans of Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology (2017) and Joanne M. Harris' Loki novels.' - Booklist, starred review 'A deep journey into the mists of the ancient Norse world of gods, monsters and humans, who shape shift from one to another. But the heart of the story is a witch's passage over many lifetimes and the ultimate sacrifice she makes for those she loves. A timeless tale of great power and artistry.' - Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of The Splendor Before the Dark 'This fascinating novel approaches Norse mythology from a brand new perspective; here old villains are now heroes, and the motivations of gods, giants, and witches are rarely what they seem...

Gornichec plumbs the depths of what we will endure for family, belonging, and meaning, and traces the limits of love, friendship, and vengeance.' - Linnea Hartsuyker, author of The Half-Drowned King
By:  
Imprint:   Titan Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm, 
ISBN:   9781789097061
ISBN 10:   1789097061
Pages:   400
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Genevieve Gornichec earned her degree in history from The Ohio State University, but she got as close to majoring in Vikings as she possibly could, and her study of the Norse myths and Icelandic sagas became her writing inspiration. She lives in Cleveland, Ohio. The Witch's Heart is her debut novel, and she tweets @gengornichec.

See Also