CHRISTMAS Orders: We suggest IN-STOCK items only! • AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Way Back

Gavriel Savit

$16.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Penguin Books Ltd
03 August 2021
A US National Book Award Finalist, the second novel from the bestselling author of the acclaimed crossover novel, Anna and the Swallow Man. A dark fantasy adventure for fans of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman and The Book Thief.

For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere. Talk of them is endless. The fear they summon is real.

Bluma and Yehuda Leib, two young people from the little shtetl of Tupik, know mostly of demons through stories - these, and the occasional shiver down the back of their necks. Until one night, when they unexpectedly encounter the Dark One - Death - an encounter which sends them spinning off on a journey in search of something they have both lost.

Theirs is a journey that will change everything. It will take them through the cemetery of Tupik and into the Far Country, the demon land filled with the souls of the dead. It will see them make pacts with ancient demons and declare war on Death itself.

But can they can possibly find their way back?
By:   Gavriel Savit
Imprint:   Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   256g
ISBN:   9780241442517
ISBN 10:   0241442516
Pages:   384
Publication Date:   03 August 2021
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 17 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Gavriel Savit graduated in musical theatre. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn, New York. Anna and the Swallow Man is his first novel.

Reviews for The Way Back

This work of prodigious imagination is especially notable in its author's uncanny ability to create a visceral suspense that captures readers' attention and won't let go as the pages fly by * Booklist, starred review * Steeped in the rich traditions of ghost stories and Jewish folklore, this remarkable feat of storytelling is sure to delight. * Kirkus Reviews,starred review * A bewitching allegorical adventure comprised of small, beautifully composed moments. * Publishers Weekly, starred review * Set in a frigid and arcane 19th century winter, The Way Back blends Jewish demonology with a fairytale past to create a beautiful tale of mysticism, mystery, and just one low-key little war against the Angel of Death. * Hypable * Feels as timeless as a fairy tale * New York Times *


See Also