Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Truth and Other Lies

Sascha Arango Imogen Taylor (Trans.)


9781922182777

Text Publishing Company


Fiction & Literature;
Crime & mystery


Paperback

240 pages

$29.99
We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- Sascha Arango has had great fun with this tale of a famous author with secrets and a wandering (well,... absent) moral centre.

The wicked chain of events are told in an impressively precise manner (and bravo to the translator) - every sentence a stronghold. For anyone who enjoys a darkly humorous tone in the vein of Fargo, with a dash of Crime and Punishment, this is a superb entertainment.

Craig Kirchner

p.s. my imagination had (a younger) Michael Gambon playing the role of the author Henry Hayden - a wonderful performance combining the congenial and the conniving. Not surprisingly the film rights have already been nabbed - I await with interest to see who gets to inhabit devious Henry.

-----

WINNER Prix Européen du Polar du Point, France, 2015
A dark, clever and hugely entertaining thriller introducing sociopath Henry Hayden, for fans of Tom Ripley and Herman Koch's The Dinner.

Famous author, loving husband, generous friend—Henry Hayden is a pleasant person to have around. Or so it seems. And when his mistress, who is also his editor, becomes pregnant, his carefully constructed life threatens to fall apart.

So Henry works out an ingenious plan. Craftily and cold-bloodedly, he intertwines lies and truths and all the shades of grey in-between.

But when he tries to get rid of his mistress, Henry makes a terrible mistake. Not only are the police soon after him, but his past, which he has painstakingly kept under the carpet, also threatens to catch up with him with deadly consequences.

The Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango at Abbey's Bookshop 131 York Street, Sydney

By:   Sascha Arango
Translated by:   Imogen Taylor (Trans.)
Imprint:   Text Publishing Company
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 233mm,  Width: 155mm,  Spine: 18mm
Weight:   325g
ISBN:   9781922182777
ISBN 10:   192218277X
Pages:   240
Publication Date:   April 2015
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Sascha Arango was born in Berlin in 1959 and is one of Germany's most prominent screenplay writers. He has also authored audio plays and stage plays and has been awarded several prizes, including the Grimme Prize twice. The Truth and Other Lies is his first novel.


'One thing must be made absolutely clear: The Truth and Other Lies is, until further notice, this year's best achievement on the German crime book scene.' Die Welt 'A highly entertaining thriller...Wry humour punctuates this insightful look at a soulless man.' STARRED Review, Publishers Weekly 'Noir fiction of the most beautiful kind, even in its most evil moments maintaining a certain tenderness Spiegel Online 'This is one wicked tale...German screenwriter Arango's first novel is superior pulp, with schemers all around and plenty to say about fame, identity, and mortality.' Kirkus 'Riddled with delicious ironies, misdirection and plenty of black humour...This is a stunning debut and readers will look forward to more from this talented author.' BookMooch 'Sometimes it's a sheer pleasure to read such a clever book...a dark, funny, captivating read.' Magnet 'A dark, funny, captivating read. A villain in the vein of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley, a book you won't soon forget.' Sydney Morning Herald 'A belting good read.' Stillnotfussed 'If you like crime fiction that messes with your head like a brain teaser or a game of chess, you will enjoy the many plot twists and turns in this literary cat's cradle.' Booktopia Buzz 'A marvellous book, the kind that never lets you get comfortable enough to let you think you know what's happening.' Readings 'Ridiculously funny and seriously wicked...one of those books you zip through rapidly, suddenly realising, blearily, it's now well into the wee hours.' New Daily 'Lies, deception, complexities, mysterious deaths and a dash of black humour and elegant wit. A highly captivating read.' Nightlife with Tony Delroy 'There's nothing tired or predictable about this blackly comic crime thriller...there's an openness, bewilderment and strange honesty to Arango's mendacious anti-hero that makes him easy to empathise with, if not admire.' Weekly Review 'Elegant and witty...The Truth and Other Lies is indeed an admirable accomplishment, and vastly entertaining to boot.' Sydney Morning Herald


  • Long-listed for CWA Duncan Lawrie International Dagger 2016.
  • Short-listed for CWA International Dagger 2016 (UK)
  • Short-listed for Last Laugh Award, Bristol Crime Festival 2016 (UK)
  • Shortlisted for CrimeFest Last Laugh Award 2016.
  • Winner of Prix Europeen du Polar du Point 2015 (France)
Your cart does not contain any items.