SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Last Emperox

#3 Interdependency

John Scalzi

$19.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

St Martins/Tor
30 March 2021
Series: Interdependency
The Last Emperox is the thrilling conclusion to the award-winning, New York Times and USA Today bestselling Interdependency series, an epic space opera adventure from Hugo Award-winning author John Scalzi.

The collapse of The Flow, the interstellar pathway between the planets of the Interdependency, has accelerated. Entire star systems--and billions of people--are becoming cut off from the rest of human civilization. This collapse was foretold through scientific prediction . . . and yet, even as the evidence is obvious and insurmountable, many still try to rationalize, delay and profit from, these final days of one of the greatest empires humanity has ever known.

Emperox Grayland II has finally wrested control of her empire from those who oppose her and who deny the reality of this collapse. But control is a slippery thing, and even as Grayland strives to save as many of her people form impoverished isolation, the forces opposing her rule will make a final, desperate push to topple her from her throne and power, by any means necessary. Grayland and her thinning list of allies must use every tool at their disposal to save themselves, and all of humanity. And yet it may not be enough.

Will Grayland become the savior of her civilization . . . or the last emperox to wear the crown?

The Interdependency Series 1. The Collapsing Empire 2. The Consuming Fire 3. The Last Emperox
By:   John Scalzi
Imprint:   St Martins/Tor
Dimensions:   Height: 188mm,  Width: 104mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   218g
ISBN:   9780765389183
ISBN 10:   0765389185
Series:   Interdependency
Pages:   368
Publication Date:   30 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

JOHN SCALZI is one of the most popular and acclaimed science fiction authors to emerge in the last decade. His massively successful debut Old Man's War won him science fiction's John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His New York Times bestsellers include The Last Colony, Fuzzy Nation, and Redshirts, the latter winning the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novel. Material from his widely read blog, Whatever, has also earned him two other Hugo Awards. Scalzi also serves as critic-at-large for the Los Angeles Times. He lives in Ohio with his wife and daughter

Reviews for The Last Emperox (#3 Interdependency)

Praise for The Consuming Fire Another fast-paced romp through Scalzi's imagination, bearing hallmarks of his humorous slant on sf tropes. --Library Journal Praise for The Collapsing Empire Provocative and unexpected. --The Wall Street Journal Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time. --Entertainment Weekly, Grade B+ Scalzi builds a fascinating new interstellar civilization in order to destroy it....[The Collapsing Empire is] amusing escapism full of guts and brains. --Ars Technica Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the Old Man's War series. --Library Journal, starred review Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure --Booklist Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure. --Kirkus Reviews Praise for John Scalzi As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Cannell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty-most of them in someone else's body. -- --USA Today on Lock In If anyone stands at the core of the American science fiction tradition at the moment, it is Scalzi. --The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition Plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable world-building, and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics. . . . Yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Lock In


See Also