LOW FLAT RATE AUST-WIDE $9.90 DELIVERY INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Collapsing Empire

#1 Interdependency

John Scalzi

$21.95

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
TOR SCIENCE FICTION
02 January 2018
Series: Interdependency
The first novel of a new space-opera sequence set in an all-new universe by the Hugo Award-winning, New York Times-bestselling author of Redshirts and Old Man's War

Our universe is ruled by physics. Faster than light travel is impossible - until the discovery of The Flow, an extradimensional field available at certain points in space-time, which can take us to other planets around other stars.

Riding The Flow, humanity spreads to innumerable other worlds. Earth is forgotten. A new empire arises, the Interdependency, based on the doctrine that no one human outpost can survive without the others. It's a hedge against interstellar war-and, for the empire's rulers, a system of control.

The Flow is eternal-but it's not static. Just as a river changes course, The Flow changes as well. In rare cases, entire worlds have been cut off from the rest of humanity. When it's discovered that the entire Flow is moving, possibly separating all human worlds from one another forever, three individuals - a scientist, a starship captain, and the emperox of the Interdependency - must race against time to discover what, if anything, can be salvaged from an interstellar empire on the brink of collapse.
By:  
Imprint:   TOR SCIENCE FICTION
Dimensions:   Height: 188mm,  Width: 104mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   249g
ISBN:   9780765388902
ISBN 10:   0765388901
Series:   Interdependency
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

JOHN SCALZI is one of the most popular and acclaimed SF authors to emerge in the last decade. His massively successful debut, Old Man's War, won him science fiction's John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His New York Times bestsellers include The Last Colony; Fuzzy Nation; Redshirts, which won 2013's Hugo Award for Best Novel; and Lock In. Material from his widely read blog, Whatever, has also earned him two other Hugo Awards. He lives in Ohio with his wife and daughter.

Reviews for The Collapsing Empire (#1 Interdependency)

Praise for The Collapsing Empire Provocative and unexpected. --The Wall Street Journal Scalzi has constructed a thrilling novel so in tune with the flow of politics that it would feel relevant at almost any time. --Entertainment Weekly, Grade B+ Scalzi builds a fascinating new interstellar civilization in order to destroy it....[The Collapsing Empireis] amusing escapism full of guts and brains. --Ars Technica Scalzi mixes science, history, and politics with sharp action and intriguing characters. Readers will be thrilled to take another wild ride across the universe with the author of the Old Man's War series. --Library Journal, starred review Fans of Game of Thrones and Dune will enjoy this bawdy, brutal, and brilliant political adventure --Booklist Scalzi continues to be almost insufferably good at his brand of fun but think-y sci-fi adventure. --Kirkus Reviews Praise for John Scalzi As much as Scalzi has the scientific creativity of Michael Crichton, he also has the procedural chops of a Stephen J. Cannell to craft a whodunit with buddy-cop charm and suspects aplenty-most of them in someone else's body. -- --USA Today on Lock In If anyone stands at the core of the American science fiction tradition at the moment, it is Scalzi. --The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Third Edition Plenty of action, great character development, vivid and believable world-building, and a thought-provoking examination of disability culture and politics. . . . Yet more evidence that Scalzi is a master at creating appealing commercial fiction. --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on Lock In


  • Short-listed for Hugo Award (Novel) 2018

See Also