MAY'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Gilded Ones

#1 Deathless

Namina Forna

$17.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Usborne
04 February 2021
Series: Deathless
'Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.' - Refinery 29 The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

We all have a choice.

Are we girls, or are we demons?

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed...
By:   Namina Forna
Imprint:   Usborne
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm, 
ISBN:   9781474959575
ISBN 10:   1474959571
Series:   Deathless
Publication Date:   04 February 2021
Recommended Age:   From 14 to 17 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Namina Forna was born in Sierra Leone but emigrated with her family to the US in the 1990s, during her homeland's civil war, and has been travelling back and forth eversince. She has worked as a writer and producer for film and TV in LA since graduating from the USC School of Cinematic Arts. Namina was a finalist for NBC / Universal Writers on the Verge, a semi-finalist for the Sundance Screenwriting Lab and top 50 in the prestigious Nicholls Screenwriting Fellowship. Namina loves spicy food and witchy-looking cats, and has been known to wear unicorn onesies to the nearest taco truck. The Gilded Ones is her debut novel.

Reviews for Gilded Ones (#1 Deathless)

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one. * Buzzfeed * [A] stormingly good debut * The Observer * Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for. * Stylist * Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy. * Refinery 29 * This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. * Press Association * This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. * Irish Examiner * Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading. * The Irish News * Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it. * Bookriot *


See Also