SHOP DOORS CLOSED INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Ethical Omnivore

A practical guide and 60 nose-to-tail recipes for sustainable meat eating

Laura Dalrymple Grant Hilliard

$39.99

Hardback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Murdoch Books
04 August 2020
Can you have your meat and eat it too? An ethical cookbook for readers of Michael Pollan, Jonathan Safran Foer's Eating Animals, Fergus Henderson, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Matthew Evans.

'Heartfelt and wonderfully written, this is the kind of cookbook only butchers who think we should eat less meat could write.' MATTHEW EVANS 'I can't recommend this book highly enough - science-focused but with a contagiously energetic optimism, it's the antidote to despair we so desperately need. Read it, give it to your friends, then cook for them with whole, natural food. We can start repairing our land and nourishing our souls by dinner time.' CHARLOTTE WOOD 'It is both a beautiful book but also one of great importance: well written, great stories and it addresses the huge topic of false beliefs promulgated by vegans and others equally divorced from nature.' CHARLES MASSY We live in an affluent era marked by an increasingly fraught relationship to food, and meat is arguably the most controversial ingredient. There is a communal ache for authenticity, for a way forward with good conscience.

The Ethical Omnivore explores the solution: living with a conscience; asking the right questions of whomever sells you meat or of the labels you read; and learning how to respect the animal so much that you're willing to cook something other than chicken breast. This book traces how animals can be raised ethically, and demonstrates some ways regenerative farmers are outstanding in how they care for their animals. It offers tried-and-tested recipes from the Feather and Bone community, from simple and easy weeknight meals to slow roasts for special occasions. And it shows all of us how to live with less impact on the animals and environment that support us.

The Ethical Omnivore is a user-friendly recipe and handbook that will open your eyes to a better way to buy, cook and eat.
By:   Laura Dalrymple, Grant Hilliard
Imprint:   Murdoch Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 240mm,  Width: 190mm, 
Weight:   968g
ISBN:   9781760524555
ISBN 10:   1760524557
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   04 August 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Laura Dalrymple and Grant Hilliard run Feather and Bone Providores in Sydney. They are unmatched in their commitment to full transparency in their meat production and only buy whole animals, which they then break down and supply retail as well as to leading restaurants. But they are more than butchers; they are educators about the ethics of eating meat and activists for a better way of farming. Laura is a frequent contributor to The Australian and Business Insider and they are regular guests on ABC radio.

Reviews for The Ethical Omnivore: A practical guide and 60 nose-to-tail recipes for sustainable meat eating

'Wise, informed and occasionally funny, this is the cookbook for anybody who truly cares about the meat they eat. Part anecdote, part searingly intellectual, and always heartfelt and wonderfully written, it's the kind of book only the butchers who think we should eat less meat could write. What Laura and Grant espouse is food that is better for the animals, better for the planet, better for our communities, and ultimately better for you.' MATTHEW EVANS 'This book - an earthy, warmly intelligent guide to the moral and environmental implications of what and how we eat - has come at exactly the right moment. Without shying from the hard truths, and without a speck of sanctimony, the authors set out a practical, meaningful and thoroughly inspiring path to a more hopeful food future. From their passion for soil microbes to an honest description of abattoir practices to eye-opening truths about the horrifying destruction caused by interventionist agriculture (including intensive vegetable farming), Dalrymple and Hilliard show us how to mend our disconnection from nature, in the process honouring those imaginative, determined farmers already quietly regenerating and healing our land. I can't recommend this book highly enough - science-focused but with a contagiously energetic optimism, it's the antidote to despair we so desperately need. Read it, give it to your friends, then cook for them with whole, natural food. We can start repairing our land and nourishing our souls by dinner time.' CHARLOTTE WOOD 'It is both a beautiful book but also one of great importance: well written, great stories and it addresses the huge topic of false beliefs promulgated by vegans and others equally divorced from nature.' CHARLES MASSY 'I don't think it's an exaggeration to say that this is a book that'll change some people's lives ... this is a must-read for anyone who thinks about what they eat.' JOHN LETHLEAN, The Weekend Australian Magazine 'Part autobiography, part farm-narrative, part eco-analysis, part recipe omnibus, this is a book that should not work. Yet its curious hybrid genre is unified and exalted by the engaging, intelligent prose, evocative images and the fact that it's really a book about relationships. 'Every time we buy something,' the authors note, 'we vote for the system that produced it.' My advice? Buy this book. Vote. Anyone who eats anything, ever - including breatharians - should buy it, read it and shove it in every Christmas stocking you can find.' DR ELIZABETH FARRELLY, The Sydney Morning Herald ' Interconnectedness is this year's buzzword but The Ethical Omnivore, written before the pandemic, explains why your food choices matter more than you probably thought.' NECIA WILDEN, The Financial Review 'Beautiful book by one of our most wonderful suppliers, Feather and Bone Providore - fighters for all things good and ethical in nose to tail eating.' NEIL PERRY 'Full of their intelligent and witty style, sharing stories and info of meat grown like it should be, complete with recipes from farmers and chefs who are living our best ethical omnivore lives ...This is an excellent contribution to the movement to grow animals as they should be.' TAMMI JONAS


See Also