APRIL'S BIG RELEASES DOUBLE REWARDS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Dream Walker

Victoria Carless

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Hachette Australia
27 June 2017
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- In a tiny fishing hamlet in the far north of Queensland, Lucy bides her time. Her Mum died in mysterious circumstances a year before, her Dad has turned inwards with grief, the fish have stopped running, and the boy she loves has been sent to boarding school. Yet Lucy has a plan, to escape Parkers Corner with her best friend Polly, just as soon as they have finished school. That dream keeps her going, but other dreams start to intrude - ones that seem to belong to someone else… as the year progresses, and everything she relied on falls apart, Lucy learns to find reserves and another way into the future she longs for. A finely written novel for readers 14+ Lindy Jones

-----

The weight of a secret can drag you under...

A tender coming-of-age young-adult novel for fans of Gary Crew, Vikki Wakefield and Craig Silvey.

Sixteen-year-old Lucy Hart has been counting the days till she can get the hell out of Digger's Landing - a small Queensland fishing hamlet home to fifteen families, a posse of mongrel dogs, and Parkers Corner Store (no apostrophe and nowhere near a corner).

But just like the tides Lucy's luck is on the turn, and as graduation nears her escape plans begin to falter; her best friend, Polly, is dropping out of school to help pay the bills, and Tom has been shipped off to boarding school, away from the flotsam of this place. And then there's Lucy's nightlife, which is filled with dreams that just don't seem to belong to her at all...

When the fish stop biting, like they did when her mum was still around, Lucy realises she isn't the only one with a secret.
By:   Victoria Carless
Imprint:   Hachette Australia
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 179mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   280g
ISBN:   9780734417473
ISBN 10:   0734417470
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   27 June 2017
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Victoria grew up in a small town on the North Queensland coast, and spent weekends on the water in a tinnie with her family. She is a published playwright, having written and produced seven plays since 2006. Her Queensland Theatre Company award-winning script, The Rainbow Dark, was published in the Staging Asylum collection by Currency Press in 2013. She holds a PhD in creative writing and regularly contributes contemporary performance reviews to Real Time magazine. She is a graduate of the 2015 QWC/Hachette Manuscript Development Program. The Dream Walker is her first novel.

Reviews for The Dream Walker

beautifully written . . . perfectly captures the space between childhood and independence where dreams can be made or broken - Books+PublishingA genuine, lived, heartfelt story of a teenage girl's awakening to the world of adults which raises two burning questions: what led to her mother's death, and does her father care? I loved this book.


See Also