AUSTRALIA-WIDE LOW FLAT RATE $9.90

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

"“Zohra is such an exciting storyteller - I was held spellbound throughout."" Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

Set in a lavish world of sorceresses, alchemists, jinn and flying carpets, this spine-tingling middle-grade book is perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Sophie Anderson.

Confined to a besieged Settlement, Yara longs to free her mother from the alchemists in the City of Zehaira. When Yara receives a message from her mother to find the hidden residence of the Grand High Sorceress, it sets her on a different path.

Yara and her friends set off on an adventure to find her mother’s home, and to seek out a secret magic that her mother was working on – magic so powerful that it could defeat the alchemists once and for all. But the wicked alchemist Omair Firaaz is on her trail and will stop at nothing to gain the power himself…

Can Yara and her friends find the magic that could be the answer to everything … before it destroys them all?

From the author of the Waterstone’s Children’s Book of the Month The Kingdom Over the Sea, comes a gorgeous, lyrical adventure about family and finding where you belong.

Praise for The City Beyond the Stars:

“A thrilling, captivating adventure just as fun and magical as the original. Storytelling at its best.” – Hannah Gold, author of The Last Bear

""The book shines with magic and the power of storytelling. Spellbinding."" – Zillah Bethell, author of The Song Walker

""Lyrical, magical and captivating - Zohra Nabi is the ultimate story sorcerer."" – Laura Noakes, Cosima Unfortunate Steals A Star

""Vivid worldbuilding. A brilliant fantasy that children will devour."" – Nazima Pathan, author of Dream Hunters

""A rare jewel, deftly plotted with thrilling twists and tension - flawless storytelling."" – Sarah Driver, author of The Huntress

""I adored every second I spent with this book and I can't wait to read it again."" – Jacob North, author of The Ice Apprentices

  Praise for The Kingdom Over the Sea:

“Enchanting, immersive and beautifully imagined. Once I’d finished, I couldn’t stop dreaming of this magnificent magical world.” A.F. Steadman, author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

“Spellbinding storytelling - lyrical, heartfelt, and glittering with possibilities.” Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

“Intricately-woven and wholly authentic.” Aisha Bushby, author of A Pocketful of Stars

“A glorious debut brimming with magic and warmth. The Kingdom Over The Sea dazzled me every time I turned the page.” – Natasha Hastings, author of The Miraculous Sweetmakers"
By:  
Illustrated by:   Tom Clohosy Cole, Federica Frenna
Imprint:   Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Volume:   2
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 20mm
ISBN:   9781398517738
ISBN 10:   1398517739
Series:   Kingdom Over the Sea
Pages:   336
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 8 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Forthcoming

Zohra Nabi grew up inventing stories for her two younger sisters. She studied law at Cambridge and Oxford universities, but secretly dreamed of being an author. Now she lives in London, browsing bookshops and writing magical adventures. She’s the author of The Kingdom Over the Sea series. 

See Also