SHOP HOURS • SHIP AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

The Caged Queen

#2 Iskari

Kristen Ciccarelli

$16.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Gollancz
10 September 2019
Series: Iskari
Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. When they were angry, mirrors shattered, and when they were happy, flowers bloomed. It was a magic they cherished - until the day a terrible accident took Essie's life and trapped her soul in this world.

Dax - the heir to Firgaard's throne - was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa's people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she'd give him the army he needed if he made her queen.

Together with Dax and his sister, Asha, Roa and her people waged war and deposed a tyrant. But now Asha is on the run, hiding from the price on her head. And Roa is an outlander queen, far from home and married to her enemy. Worst of all: Dax's promises go unfulfilled. Roa's people continue to suffer.

Then a chance to right every wrong arises - an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa can reclaim her sister for good.

All she has to do is kill the king.
By:   Kristen Ciccarelli
Imprint:   Gollancz
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   277g
ISBN:   9781473218178
ISBN 10:   1473218179
Series:   Iskari
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   10 September 2019
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Kristen Ciccarelli hails from Ontario's Niagara Peninsula where she grew up on her grandfather's grape farm. She's made her living as a baker, a bookseller, and a potter, but now writes books about bloodthirsty dragons, girls wielding really cool weapons, and the transformative power of stories. You can learn more at www.kristenciccarelli.com or by following @twocentsparrow.

Reviews for The Caged Queen (#2 Iskari)

An intriguing tale of love, faith, dragons and the power words have. The Last Namsara review * Fantasy Book Review * The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast-paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast, dangerous legends and of course dragons! There's political intrigue, a hidden rebellion and a consuming romance that will keep readers on the edge of their seat and reading long into the night. Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms and the Shattered Realms series with devour this. * YAbookscentral.com * It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. Add a kickass princess with something to prove, a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! The Last Namsara review * Elspeth Cooper, author of SONGS OF THE EARTH * The most simple thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favorite author. Her story and her words have so much beauty, and love, and passion, and adventure. By the end I gasped every 5-10 pages and got goosebumps every 10-20 pages. There are not many books I would say this for, but pre-order this now because your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful. The Last Namsara review * Tomi Adeyemi, author of CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE * An accomplished fantasy novel . . . raised above the commonplace by one marvellous central premise - the idea that dragons are the custodians of the old tale, and that their fire is actually generated by the telling of stories - a premise that reads as an extended metaphor about imagination, stories and their power to change the world. It's the first of a series. I'll definitely be looking out for the next one. The Last Namsara review * Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat and The Gospel of Loki *


See Also