Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

facebook
Google Book Preview
The Au Pair: A spellbinding mystery full of dark family secrets
— —
Emma Rous
The Au Pair: A spellbinding mystery full of dark family secrets by Emma Rous at Abbey's Bookshop,

The Au Pair: A spellbinding mystery full of dark family secrets

Emma Rous


9780349419091

Little Brown


Fiction & Literature;
Thriller & suspense


Paperback

416 pages

$29.99
In stock
Ready to ship
order qty:  
Add this item to my basket

A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton.

Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures and a stolen baby.

Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of her father, Seraphine uncovers a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby. Seraphine soon becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn't the baby born that day and that there was more to her mother's death than she has ever been told...

Why did their beloved au pair flee that day? Where is she now? Does she hold the key to what really happened?

By:   Emma Rous
Imprint:   Little Brown
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 34mm
Weight:   520g
ISBN:   9780349419091
ISBN 10:   0349419094
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   December 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Emma Rous is a Cambridge University graduate who spent eighteen years working as a veterinary surgeon. She is now writing full time, and lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three school-age sons.


One hell of a ride * New York Post * This intriguing novel, which goes back and forth in time, will keep you hooked until the end * Weekend West * This will keep you turning those pages. The characters are still playing on my mind -- Jane Corry, bestselling author of <i>My Husband's Wife</i> Don't just pick up and read Emma Rous' Summerbourne, dive into it and get washed away with it. * A bookseller * With a transporting sense of place and gripping story line, The Au Pair delves into the darkest of family secrets. A great read -- Eve Chase Entrancing and compelling . . . atmospheric and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier's work, it's a beautiful read that delivers a shocking and satisfying ending. -- Liv Constantine, bestselling author of <i>The Last Mrs. Parrish</i>

My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.