LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

That Self-Same Metal

Brittany N. WIlliams

Double Rewards
$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Faber & Faber
03 April 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

Swashbuckling, romantic, and full of the sights and sounds of Shakespeare's London, this series starter delivers an unforgettable story - and a heroine unlike any other.

Sixteen-year-old Joan Sands is a gifted craftswoman who creates and upkeeps the stage blades for William Shakespeare's acting company, The King's Men. Joan's skill with her blades comes from a magical ability to control metal-an ability gifted by her Head Orisha, Ogun. Because her whole family is Orisha-blessed, the Sands family have always kept tabs on the Fae presence in London. Usually that doesn't involve much except noting the faint glow around a Fae's body as they try to blend in with London society, but lately, there has been an uptick in brutal Fae attacks. After Joan wounds a powerful Fae and saves the son of a cruel Lord, she is drawn into political intrigue in the human and Fae worlds.

A sweeping YA fantasy trilogy debut, placing black queerness at the centre of Shakespearean London. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Leigh Bardugo and J. Elle.

'Perfect for anyone looking for a fresh take on faerie magic.' Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shadow Bone'

A groundbreaking addition to the fantasy genre..' Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author Beasts of Prey

'Every sentence will thunder through your bones.' Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves and the Aru Shah series

'Wildly imaginative and refreshingly diverse . . . taut with intrigue.' J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

By:  
Imprint:   Faber & Faber
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Edition:   Main
Dimensions:   Height: 200mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 20mm
Weight:   291g
ISBN:   9780571381623
ISBN 10:   0571381626
Series:   Forge and Fracture
Pages:   352
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Brittany N. Williams is a classically-trained actress who studied Musical Theatre at Howard University and Shakespearean performance at the Royal Central School of Speech & Drama in London. Previously she's been a principal vocalist at Hong Kong Disneyland, a theatre professor at Coppin State University, and made appearances in Queen Sugar and Leverage: Redemption. Her short stories have been published in The Gambit Weekly, Fireside Magazine, and the Star Wars anthology From a Certain Point of View: The Empire Strikes Back.

See Also