FREIGHT DELAYS IN AND OUT: MORE INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Sticks and Stones

Katherine Firkin

$32.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Bantam
02 June 2020
Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Australian Crime Fiction
'Lisa Gardner meets Harlan Coben in this impressive debut that's as disturbing as it is twisty. Firkin takes readers into the mind of a killer like no one else!' Charlie Donlea It's winter in Melbourne and Detective Emmett Corban is starting to regret his promotion to head of the Missing Persons Unit, as the routine reports pile up on his desk.

So when Natale Gibson goes missing, he's convinced this is the big case he's been waiting for - the woman's husband and parents insist the devoted mother would never abandon her children, and her personal accounts remain untouched.

But things aren't all they seem. The close-knit Italian family is keeping secrets - none bigger than the one Natale has been hiding.

Just as the net seems to be tightening, the investigation is turned on its head. The body of a woman is found . . . then another.

What had seemed like a standard missing person's case has turned into a frightening hunt for a serial killer, and time is running out.

But to really understand these shocking crimes, Emmett and his team will need to delve back through decades of neglect - back to a squalid inner-city flat, where a young boy is left huddling over his mother's body . . .

'A crisp police procedural that shows its characters in both darkness and light . . . A suspenseful, assured debut for fans of Sarah Bailey and Chris Hammer.' Books + Publishing
By:   Katherine Firkin
Imprint:   Bantam
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 233mm,  Width: 153mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   526g
ISBN:   9781760893026
ISBN 10:   1760893021
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   02 June 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Katherine is a Melbourne-based journalist, currently a full-time reporter with Ten News First. She has over a decade of experience, and has worked across every medium - print, online, television and radio - at some of the nation's biggest outlets. Katherine began her career at the Herald Sun newspaper (News Corp), where she specialised in sports reporting (winning an AFL Media award in 2008), before moving to breaking news, including crime and court reporting. During this time, she covered some of the state's most notorious criminal affairs, including the death and funeral of underworld figure Carl Williams. She has also worked for Seven West Media (7 News, 7 Sport), 3AW Radio, and the Nine Network, and has been a regular international correspondent for multiple global outlets. Katherine has been writing fiction from a young age, and she studied literature and journalism at university, as part of her Arts degree. Her debut novel is inspired by the many criminal trials she has covered. You can find her here- https-//twitter.com/KatherineFirkin https-//www.instagram.com/katherinefirkin/ https-//tendaily.com.au/

See Also