LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Penguin Books Ltd
05 March 2024
Series: Snowglobe
A groundbreaking Korean YA thriller, for fans of Squid Game, Black Mirror and The Hunger Games.

Discover the groundbreaking Korean YA thriller, for fans of Squid Game, Black Mirror and The Hunger Games!

WHEN YOU'RE INSIDE, THE WHOLE WORLD IS WATCHING . . .

Raised in a climate-ravaged, frozen world, every day is a struggle for survival for Chobahm. Her only solace comes in the form of twenty-four-hour reality television shows, streamed directly from Snowglobe - the climate-controlled domed city at the heart of her world, and the only warm place left on the planet.

The citizens of Snowglobe have everything- fame, fortune and, above all, safety from the frigid wasteland outside their walls. In exchange, their lives are broadcast to the less fortunate of their world, who watch eagerly, hoping for the chance to one day become an actor themselves and join their ranks.

Chobahm is one of the dreamers. But her life changes in an instant when she is visited by two strangers from Snowglobe, who deliver earth-shattering news- Goh Haeri, Snowglobe's biggest star has died - and because of Chobahm's striking resemblance to her, she's been chosen to take her place.

Given the chance of a lifetime, Chobahm agrees to enter Snowglobe and take on Haeri's identity. Within the domed city's walls, she will finally have the existence she's always dreamed of - but if life in Snowglobe is so great, why did Haeri seem so desperate to escape it? And when everyone around you is a performer, how can you ever know what is reality, and what is created for the audience . . . ?

Published in English for the first time from its original Korean, the critically-acclaimed Snowglobe is a page-turning thriller with twists around every corner.

By:  
Translated by:  
Imprint:   Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 198mm,  Width: 129mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   266g
ISBN:   9780241681060
ISBN 10:   0241681065
Series:   Snowglobe
Pages:   384
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 17 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Soyoung Park (Author) Soyoung Park majored in information and communication at university and has worked as a reporter. The original publication of Snowglobe received the prestigious Changbi Young Adult Award and the Original Story Award in South Korea. Joungmin Lee Comfort (Translator) Joungmin Lee Comfort is a Korean-English translator based in the United States. Her translations have appeared in academic journals and Clarkesworld Magazine. Her recent publication of Kim Bo-young's On the Origin of Species and Other Stories (co-translated with Sora Kim-Russell) was longlisted for the National Book Award for translated literature.

See Also