LATEST DISCOUNTS & SALES: PROMOTIONS

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Psalms for the End of the World

Cole Haddon

$24.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Headline Book Publishing
30 May 2023
'Ingenious and compelling' THE TIMES, SCIENCE FICTION BOOKS OF THE MONTH

'Mind-bendingly clever and utterly gripping' DAILY MAIL, SCI-FI BOOKS OF THE MONTH

'A fascinating and assured debut' THE GUARDIAN,

BEST RECENT SCIENCE FICTION

It's 1962 and physics student Grace Pulansky believes she has met the man of her dreams, Robert Jones, while serving up slices of pecan pie at the local diner. But then the FBI shows up, with their fedoras and off-the-rack business suits, and accuses him of being a bomb-planting mass-murderer.

Finding herself on the run with Jones across America's Southwest, the discoveries awaiting Gracie will undermine everything she knows about the universe. Her story will reveal how scores of lives - an identity-swapping rock star, a mourning lover in ancient China, Nazi hunters in pursuit of a terrible secret, a crazed artist in pre-revolutionary France, an astronaut struggling with a turbulent interplanetary future, and many more - are interconnected across space and time by love, grief, and quantum entanglement.

Spanning continents, centuries, and dimensions, this exquisitely crafted and madly inventive novel - a triple-disk, concept-album of a book - is a profound yet propulsive enquiry into the nature of reality - the perfect immersive read for fans of David Mitchell, Emily St. John Mandel, Neil Gaiman and Margaret Atwood.

'A book designed to be more than the sum of its parts, and one that achieves that because love is the thing that binds it together. Vitally fresh' DOMINIC NOLAN

'With strong echoes of David Mitchell, Haruki Murakami or Emily St John Mandel...this is a madcap ride to somewhere new with thrills to spare and a gallery of truly fascinating characters. One for the ages.' CRIME TIME

'A trans-dimensional, kaleidoscopic mystery-box of a novel.... wholly and riotously original. Haddon is a mad scientist of genre and his epic is a tour de force.' PETER HO DAVIES

By:  
Imprint:   Headline Book Publishing
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 36mm
Weight:   360g
ISBN:   9781472286697
ISBN 10:   1472286693
Pages:   528
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Cole Haddon is an Australian-American novelist, screenwriter, and journalist. Dracula, his first television commission, was produced by NBC and Sky Living starring Jonathan Rhys Meyers, and he has gone on to develop dozens of feature films and TV series around the globe. His graphic novels have been published by Dark Horse and others. He lives in the Blue Mountains of Australia with his wife and two children.

Reviews for Psalms for the End of the World

Mind-bendingly clever and utterly gripping * DAILY MAIL * Ingenious and compelling * THE TIMES, BOOKS OF THE MONTH * A fascinating and assured debut * THE GUARDIAN * A book designed to be more than the sum of its parts, and one that achieves that because love is the thing that binds it together. Vitally fresh. * DOMINIC NOLAN * With strong echoes of David Mitchell, Haruki Murakami or Emily St John Mandel...this is a madcap ride to somewhere new with thrills to spare and a gallery of truly fascinating characters. One for the ages. * CRIME TIME * A trans-dimensional, kaleidoscopic mystery-box of a novel.... wholly and riotously original. Haddon is a mad scientist of genre and his epic is a tour de force -- PETER HO DAVIES


See Also