PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Phone for the Fish Knives

Daisy Waugh

$22.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Piatkus
08 February 2022
'Daisy Waugh's featherlight satires are as refreshing and uplifting as a glass of chilled vintage champagne. . . Imagine Agatha Christie on laughing gas' Times

The Todes are back, and they're taking on Hollywood . . .

When Hollywood wants to do a remake of the film that made Tode Hall famous, India and Egbert are delighted. They envisage a summer of free money and star-studded dinner parties ahead . . .

But the Hall is soon overrun by wardrobe trucks and catering tents, and lusty, insecure actors squabbling about nudity clauses. When the movie's producers threaten to sue over the exact colour of Tode Hall's rolling lawns, India and Egbert realise that having a film crew on their doorstep isn't such a breeze after all. With so many egos in one place things were bound to end badly, but no one would have predicted quite so literal a backstabbing . . .

'A glorious satire on aristocratic manners and mores, with a smidgeon of murder thrown in, Waugh's hilarious and entirely original twist on the country house murder mystery is 'a perfect antidote to all the real-life craziness going on' Daily Mail

Praise for the Todes

'Witty, well-written and determinedly entertaining . . . the perfect book for the staycation' Catholic Herald

'I couldn't put it down' Santa Montefiore

'A delightful treat' The Lady

'Deliciously entertaining' Andrew Wilson

'An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter' Rachel Johnson

'A perfect antidote to wintry gloom' The Literary Review

'What a triumph!' Antonia Fraser

'A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read' Sarah Vine

'A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously' Red Magazine

'Fizzles, crackles and sparkles' Elizabeth Buchan

'A work of sublime silliness' Simon Brett

'An effervescent madcap whodunnit' Metro

'A marvellous rollicking read' Mary Killen

'She's skewered her targets brilliantly' Imogen Edwards-Jones

'This contemporary take on a golden age mystery is simply wonderful.' Belfast Telegraph
By:  
Imprint:   Piatkus
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 124mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   211g
ISBN:   9780349422503
ISBN 10:   0349422508
Pages:   304
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Daisy Waugh is an author and Tarot reader. She has written several sad, historical novels, several contemporary, comic novels, a couple of non-fiction books, and a lot of newspaper articles and columns. She lives a quiet life with her family, not far from the River Thames in Barnes, South West London. To find out more, visit her website at: daisywaugh.com.

Reviews for Phone for the Fish Knives

She's spot on; she's skewered her targets brilliantly -- Imogen Edwards-Jones This is a marvellous rollicking read with brilliantly drawn characters. I finished it within 24 hours -- Mary Killen A work of sublime silliness. The knife-edge between crime and comedy is a tricky one, but Daisy Waugh negotiates it magnificently . . . a delightful book, witty, pacy and beautifully written -- Simon Brett An effervescent madcap whodunnit * Metro * A country-house murder mystery with nods to Agatha Christie and Evelyn Waugh . . . a delightful treat * The Lady * A perfect antidote to wintry gloom * The Literary Review * An irresistible, high-camp crime caper - deliciously entertaining -- Andrew Wilson Fizzles, crackles and sparkles -- Elizabeth Buchan A jolly farce that never takes itself too seriously * Red Magazine * Agatha Christie but with a bit of Julian Fellowes's Snobs and Downtown Abbey thrown in . . . A masterclass in how to write a rollicking good read -- Sarah Vine An irresistible champagne bubble of pleasure and laughter -- Rachel Johnson What a triumph! It gave me enormous pleasure to read, plus of course a few appropriate shudders. [In the Crypt] lightens the darkness in a way that is both dark and light -- Antonia Fraser I couldn't put it down -- Santa Montefiore It's sharp, funny and just the right amount of farcical - the best sort of murder mystery * Tatler * Fans of PG Wodehouse and Agatha Christie should bag this madcap comedy whodunnit . . . Outrageous and over-the-top, a perfect antidote to all real-life craziness going on * Daily Mail * Praise for the Todes of Tode Hall series:


See Also