THE BIG SALE IS ON! TELL ME MORE

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

$19.99

Paperback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

English
Katherine Tegen Books
03 May 2023

*
*One of BuzzFeed's Great LGBTQ+ YA novels to Warm up Your Winter
* A Kid's Feb/March IndieNext pick
*
*

From New York Times bestselling author Claire Legrand comes a new, bone-chilling YA horror novel about a girl who joins a coven to root out a vicious evil that’s stalking her village. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Grace Year.

Her name is unimportant.

All you must know is that today she will become one of the four saints of Haven. The elders will mark her and place the red hood on her head. With her sisters, she will stand against the evil power that lives beneath the black mountain—an evil which has already killed nine of her village’s men.

She will tell no one of the white-eyed beasts that follow her. Or the faceless gray women tall as houses. Or the girls she saw kissing in the elm grove.

Today she will be a saint of Haven. She will rid her family of her mother’s shame at last and save her people from destruction. She is not afraid. Are you

This searing and lyrically written novel by the critically acclaimed author of Sawkill Girls beckons readers to follow its fierce heroine into a world filled with secrets and blood—where the truth is buried in lies and a devastating power waits, seething, for someone brave enough to use it.

By:  
Imprint:   Katherine Tegen Books
Country of Publication:   United States
Dimensions:   Height: 203mm,  Width: 135mm,  Spine: 28mm
Weight:   374g
ISBN:   9780062696649
ISBN 10:   0062696645
Pages:   512
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Claire Legrand is the author of five books for young readers, including the Edgar Award-nominated novel Some Kind of Happiness, and Winterspell, a dark retelling of the Nutcracker fairy tale. She lives in New Jersey.

Reviews for Extasia

"“The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Craft. Readers will be riveted by Legrand’s fierce female characters and their harrowing emotional journey.” — Publishers Weekly ""Legrand successfully brings a supernatural gruesomeness to her exploration of morality and agency."" — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books ""Slow-burn horror meets a queer coming-of-age story, with compassionately explored themes of feminism, grief, trauma, faith, and abuse. A YA fantasy complement to Naomi Alderman’s The Power; fans of Legrand will find this an interesting new approach, as will readers of Rory Power and House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland."" — School Library Journal ""Legrand crafts a fiercely unsubtle feminist fantasy that takes on the patriarchy and the toxicity of hate."" — Booklist “Entertaining.”  — Kirkus Reviews Praise for Sawkill Girls:  ★“Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female…an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable.” — ALA Booklist (starred review) ★“Legrand’s lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting.... Rich and earthy horror.” — School Library Journal (starred review) ★“This atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror... includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, [and] focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review) ★”Cinematically, gorgeously creepy and horrific, sliding between breathlessly suspenseful and disturbingly grotesque.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review) ★”Legrand accomplishes the kind of slow-building tension and mounting horror that will give readers night terrors. Read this book, then lock it in the freezer.” — Shelf Awareness “Part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance… If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you.” — Kirkus Reviews “Claire Legrand tells an eerie, feminist horror story that’s perfect for reading close to Halloween.” — Bustle “With prose as fierce and uncompromising as its three main characters, SAWKILL GIRLS is a fresh and unflinching exploration of female friendship wrapped in a spine-tingling page-turner. Claire Legrand doesn’t hold back--and you won’t be able to put this book down.” — Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie “Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” — Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth “An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” — Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species “Old-school horror meets fresh, female-forward fury. Claire Legrand masterfully paints this island world of terror with a blood-soaked brush.” — Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of"


See Inside

See Also