TRACKED DELIVERY • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Date with Betrayal

Julia Chapman

$19.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Pan
04 July 2022
Series: Dales Detective
In the seventh novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series, Date with Betrayal, betrayal is rife in the idyllic Yorkshire Dales as Samson O'Brien, owner of the Dales Detective Agency, is targeted by a hitman. Can Bruncliffe save him? A brilliantly engaging and witty mystery, perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin series.

Death is coming to Bruncliffe: its target is Samson O'Brien.

Oblivious to his impending date with fate, Samson is busy juggling a number of cases at the Dales Detective Agency. Too busy, in fact, to notice his partner behaving oddly.

Because Delilah Metcalfe knows what is coming. A hitman. Sent from London with one objective: to finally silence the troublesome O'Brien before his corruption case can make it to court.

With Samson's life in peril, and betrayal around every corner, Delilah has no choice but to call in favours from all of her Bruncliffe connections in order to counteract the menace threatening to engulf the Dales town.

The only trouble is the townsfolk have long memories and deep grievances when it comes to Samson O'Brien. Trust must be earned and they will take some convincing before they put themselves in danger in order to save him.

And even then, it might not prove enough . . .

Full of charm, wit and characters that will capture your heart, the series begins with Date With Death. Have you read them all?

'As village murder mysteries go, this clever, witty and realistic series is quite out of the ordinary and strongly recommended' - Crime Review
By:  
Imprint:   Pan
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 197mm,  Width: 130mm,  Spine: 23mm
Weight:   266g
ISBN:   9781529049602
ISBN 10:   1529049601
Series:   Dales Detective
Pages:   368
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 18 years
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Julia Chapman is the pseudonym of Julia Stagg, who has had five novels, the Fogas Chronicles set in the French Pyrenees, published by Hodder. She is also the author of the Dales Detective series which follows the adventures of Samson O'Brien and Delilah Metcalfe as they solve cases in the Yorkshire Dales. Born with a wanderlust that keeps her moving, Julia has followed her restless feet to Japan, Australia, the USA and France. She spent the majority of that time as a teacher of English as a Foreign Language but also dabbled in bookselling, pawnbroking, waitressing and was once 'checkout chick of the month' at a supermarket in South Australia. She also ran an auberge in the French Pyrenees for six years with her husband. Having spent many years wandering, she is now glad to call the Yorkshire Dales home. Its distinctive landscape and way of life provide the setting for her latest set of novels, the Dales Detective series.

Reviews for Date with Betrayal

Great fun! -- Carol Drinkwater A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales, written with affection for the area and its people -- Cath Staincliffe, author of the Scott & Bailey series Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit * Northern Echo * Enlivened by numerous subplots . . . the story moves at a cracking pace . . . But Chapman's track record suggests that the next instalment will be well worth the wait. * Daily Mail *


See Also