PERHAPS A GIFT VOUCHER FOR MUM?: MOTHER'S DAY

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Darker By Four

the action-packed #1 Sunday Times bestseller

June CL Tan

$24.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
Hodderscape
09 April 2024
Series: Darker By Four
'JAW-DROPPING' AXIE OH

A girl who lost her magic. The boy who found it. And a city having one Hell of a time . . .

Rui is an Exorcist-in-training with one goal in mind - honing her magic to avenge her mother's death.

Yiran is the black sheep of an illustrious family. The world would be at his feet - had he been born with magic.

But when an accident causes Rui's power to transfer to Yiran, everything turns upside down. Without her magic, Rui has no tool for vengeance. With it, Yiran finally feels like he belongs.

As dangerous monsters overrun the city, Rui will do whatever it takes to regain her power. Even if that means making a deal with a shadowy stranger to track down a god who does not wish to be found . . .

A sparkling urban fantasy with an achingly slow burn romance at its heart, Darker By Four is the perfect book for fans of Legendborn and The Mortal Instruments, as well as anyone looking to immerse themselves in a shadowy world brimming with magic.

AUTHORS LOVE JUNE CL TAN

'If you ever wanted a book that reads like a comfort anime that also isn't afraid to skewer you with angst and explosive fight sequences, then look no further' JOAN HE

'A complete page-turner of a fantasy!' KAT CHO

'A rich and vividly drawn world of revenants, exorcists, death gods and stolen magic' VANESSA LEN

'Both ruthless and tender, this book leads you through a perilous world of death while grounding you in raw emotion' KYLIE LEE BAKER

By:  
Imprint:   Hodderscape
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 232mm,  Width: 152mm,  Spine: 34mm
Weight:   480g
ISBN:   9781399718998
ISBN 10:   1399718991
Series:   Darker By Four
Pages:   400
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Children/juvenile ,  Preschool (0-5) ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

June CL Tan writes science fiction and fantasy inspired by her childhood in multicultural Singapore where she was raised on a diet of classic books and wuxia movies, caffeine and congee. When she is not writing, she can be found wandering the streets of New York City in search of everyday mysteries and miracles.

Reviews for Darker by Four

**PRAISE FOR DARKER BY FOUR** I adored this! Darker By Four is a rich and vividly drawn world of revenants, exorcists, death gods and stolen magic. Rui, Zizi, Yiran and Nikai will all be your new favorite characters in this thrilling new fantasy from June CL Tan. * Vanessa Len, internationally bestselling author of Only a Monster * June CL Tan excels at writing tactile worlds and ensemble casts, and nowhere is this more evident than in DARKER BY FOUR. If you ever wanted a book that reads like a comfort anime that also isn't afraid to skewer you with angst and explosive fight sequences, then look no further. * Joan He, New York Times bestselling author of The Ones We're Meant To Find * Darker by Four is a fresh and fast-paced fantasy that grabs you by the throat. Both ruthless and tender, this book leads you through a perilous world of death while grounding you in raw emotions - the desire to prove ourselves, protect those we love, and seek our destiny * Kylie Lee Baker, author of The Keeper of Night * You'll want to dive headfirst into Tan's world of bloodthirsty revenants and teen exorcists grappling with love, betrayal, and the relentless desire for revenge. With nods to dark fantasy anime and Chinese folklore, Darker By Four is the jaw-dropping start to a stunning new series * Axie Oh, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea and XOXO * A complete page-turner of a fantasy! Full of reapers and exorcists, family legacies and life-long grudges, readers will find it hard to decide who to root for. The full cast of beautifully dynamic characters with hidden pasts and dangerous secrets will keep you guessing until the end. Thrilling and Riveting! * Kat Cho, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Fox and Once Upon a K-Prom * Tan expertly weaves together a world of darkly dangerous fantasy with achingly real friendships and a simmering romance in Darker by Four. Those who gravitate toward mythological twists and pulse-pounding action will surely enjoy this jewel of a book * Sophie Kim, author of Last of the Talons * With a brilliant mix of Chinese mythology, action, humor, and slow-burn romance, Darker By Four is a thrilling contemporary fantasy that breathes new life to the fantasy genre. If you're ready for an epic journey into a world where dark secrets unfold and the line between monsters and humanity blurs, Darker By Four awaits you! * Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys and The Sunbearer Trials * A thrilling urban fantasy set in an imaginative realm where the Chinese underworld crashes into a modern city. Darker By Four is an action-packed anime fever dream and I need the sequel now! * Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Magic Steeped in Poison * I was hooked from the first page! Mysterious, thrilling, and romantic, Darker By Four is a compelling fantasy you won't want to put down * Maiya Ibrahim, Sunday Times bestselling author of Spice Road *


See Also