DELIVERY AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) • EXPRESS POST • STORE PICK-UP INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Dark of the West

#1 Glass Alliance

Joanna Hathaway

$16.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

TOR TEEN
18 February 2020
Series: Glass Alliance
Part war drama, part romance, Dark of the West is the first novel in a stunning YA fantasy series that will appeal to readers of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Rutkoski, and Elizabeth Wein.

As a fighter pilot in his father's army, Athan Dakar knows little of life beyond war. That is, until his mother is murdered, and he's sent halfway across the world in a mission to overthrow the queen who killed her. Athan's task is to ingratiate himself, undercover, with the royal children-and gain intel that could ruin their mother. Kind and quick-witted Princess Aurelia Isendare is not the villain he expects, however, and he soon finds himself falling for the girl he's been tasked with spying upon. Aurelia feels the same attraction to Athan, all the while seeking to stop the war threatening to break.

As diplomatic ties between their nations manage to just barely hold, the two teens struggle to remain loyal to their families and each other as they learn that war is not as black and white as they've been raised to believe.
By:   Joanna Hathaway
Imprint:   TOR TEEN
Country of Publication:   United States
Volume:   1
Dimensions:   Height: 137mm,  Width: 217mm,  Spine: 35mm
Weight:   419g
ISBN:   9780765396426
ISBN 10:   0765396424
Series:   Glass Alliance
Pages:   496
Publication Date:   18 February 2020
Recommended Age:   From 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  English as a second language
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

JOANNA HATHAWAY was born in Montreal, and is an avid storyteller who always dreamed of being both a pilot and a princess. A lifelong history buff, she was inspired to write after reading memoirs of WWI, and now has shelves filled with biographies and historical accounts. She can usually be found riding horses or traveling the globe.

Reviews for Dark of the West (#1 Glass Alliance)

In this reimagining of Europe's world wars, Joanna Hathaway delivers a novel of court intrigue and action-packed military adventure. Heart-pounding . . . will leave the reader wanting more. --Melissa de la Cruz, #1 New York Times bestselling author The kind of book you can sink your teeth into, full of rich worldbuilding, complex characters, and intricate plots with a healthy dose of backstabbing. . . . Fans of high stakes political intrigue will love Dark of the West. I can't wait to read the sequel. --Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown's Game This soaring, gorgeously written, high-stakes adventure stole my breath from the very first page. Dark of the West's forbidden romance unfolds with devastating beauty against the backdrop of an incipient world war. --Margaret Rogerson, New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens Airplane battles, revolutions, palace intrigue, star-crossed love, feuds spanning generations. This story's scope is ambitious, a world unto itself, yet Hathaway wields the narrative with powerful precision. Dark of the West is a debut to be reckoned with. --Ryan Graudin, author of the Wolf By Wolf duology Captivating . . . The prose is elegant, the characters intricate, and the worldbuilding enrapturing. --Charlie N. Holmberg, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Paper Magician series Smart, stunning, and completely swoonworthy, Dark of the West swept me off my feet. Fans of forbidden love, high stakes, and intrigue--don't miss this triumph of a book! --Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of the Reign of the Fallen series Beautiful and bittersweet, Dark of the West is a stunning must-read. Dangerous politics, a looming war, star-crossed lovers and secrets held close--the story builds in careful strokes to a crescendo that will keep you riveted until the last page. --Hafsah Faizal, author of the forthcoming We Hunt The Flame With elements of epic fantasy, military and political intrigue, and ill-fated romantic attraction, this novel is packed with world building details. The romantic attraction between Athan and Aurelia has the feeling of Romeo and Juliet, leaving readers hoping for the best but fearing the worst. --Voya, Stacey Hayman


See Also