TRACKED DELIVERY • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

Completely Normal

and Other Lies

Biffy James

$19.99

Paperback

Not in-store but you can order this
How long will it take?

QTY:

Hardie Grant Books
01 July 2022
ABBEY'S BOOKSELLER PICK ----- When the most popular boy in Year 11 is killed in a car accident, the whole school is plunged into shock and mourning. But Stella can't join in with the widespread grief, because she knows something none of the others are aware of - most particularly Grace, his beautiful, kind and just-as-popular official girlfriend. Isaac was seeing her and he had promised to break it off with Grace… Stella already has problems, including anger issues, and is seeing a therapist. She has constructed a persona that doesn't entirely fit her, but she's stuck, and just waiting for the time when she has more control. So when she inadvertently strikes up a deep friendship with Grace (who still doesn't know about Isaac's infidelity), and starts to see she has no monopoly on troubles, Stella discovers what she is truly capable of - and it's not all flattering. A fine novel with a believable voice and characters. It deals with big issues honestly, but there are moments of light and self-deprecating humour. A fabulous debut from a talented author indeed! Lindy

Love has rules. So does grief. And Stella Wilde's about to break them all.

Stella Wilde is secretly in love with the hottest guy in school, Isaac Calder. He seems to love her back, but there's a problem - he already has a girlfriend, the gorgeous Grace Reyes.

When Isaac is killed in a car accident, the entire school is turned upside down with grief. And while Grace can mourn publicly, Stella has to hide her feelings to stop people from finding out about her and Isaac being more than friends.

But how long can Stella keep lying - to herself and everyone else? And when the truth finally comes out, how will it affect her newfound friendship with Grace?

Shortlisted for the Ampersand Prize, Completely Normal (and other lies) is a gripping contemporary YA novel that's as witty and sarcastic as it is tender and moving. With its insightful explorations of love, grief, mental health and friendship, it's perfect for fans of John Green, Krystal Sutherland and Sally Rooney.
By:  
Imprint:   Hardie Grant Books
Country of Publication:   Australia
Dimensions:   Height: 210mm,  Width: 135mm, 
ISBN:   9781760508746
ISBN 10:   1760508748
Pages:   304
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 99 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Biffy James holds a Masters degree in Creative Writing from RMIT, and has previously worked as a boarding school house mother. She writes realistic and contemporary fiction that captures the heartbreaking and hilarious day-to-day life of the modern teenager. Insta: @biffy_james

Reviews for Completely Normal (and Other Lies)

'It's a rare book that makes me feel such a kismet connection; like I was fated to need it and read it at this point in time - so tender and true, honest and heartfelt as to pierce me now as an adult, while simultaneously making me yearn for my younger teenage self to have had this book too. James is that rare talent that captures the voice, grief, messiness, and hope of youth so beautifully - perfect for fans of all ages who also love Holly Bourne, Sally Rooney, Courtney Summers and Adam Silvera.' - Danielle Binks, author of The Monster of Her Age


See Also