AUSTRALIA-WIDE LOW FLAT RATE $9.90

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Short Walk Through a Wide World

Douglas Westerbeke

Double Rewards
$34.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

English
JONATHAN CAPE
02 July 2024
Double Reward Points
Earn $10 Reward Vouchers

IF YOU COULD NEVER STAY, WHERE WOULD YOU GO? The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue meets The Midnight Library in this life-affirming debut novel of adventure, wonder and self-discovery.

Paris, 1885- Aubry Tourvel, a spoiled and stubborn nine-year-old girl, comes across a wooden puzzle ball on her walk home from school. She tosses it over the fence, only to find it in her satchel that evening. Days later, at the family dinner table, she is stricken by a mysterious illness.

When a visit to a doctor only makes her worse, she flees to the outskirts of the city, where she discovers it is this very act of movement that keeps her alive. So begins her incredible lifelong journey on the run from her condition.

From the scorched dunes of the Calanshio Sand Sea, to the snow-packed peaks of the Himalayas; from a bottomless well in a Parisian courtyard, to the shelves of an infinite underground library, we follow Aubry as she learns what it takes to survive and, ultimately, to truly live. But the longer she wanders, the more she understands that the world she travels through may not be quite the same as everyone else's...
By:  
Imprint:   JONATHAN CAPE
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 234mm,  Width: 156mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   482g
ISBN:   9781787335028
ISBN 10:   178733502X
Pages:   400
Publication Date:  
Audience:   General/trade ,  ELT Advanced
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Douglas Westerbeke is a librarian who lives in Ohio and works at one of the largest libraries in the US. He has spent the last decade on the local panel of the International Dublin Literary Award, which inspired him to write his own book.

Reviews for A Short Walk Through a Wide World

A gorgeous ode to wanderlust... Douglas Westerbeke's dazzling debut takes readers on a thought-provoking journey through cultures and timelines...and also, through a mysterious cave-bound library. I savored every page of this book! -- SHELBY VAN PELT, bestselling author of Remarkably Bright Creatures A wild romping adventure, a poignant tale of relationships and interconnectedness, and a compelling journey of self-discovery. A Short Walk Through a Wide World is utterly engrossing, a world - worlds - to get lost in... every reader will find something to love * Shelf Awareness * That rare book that immediately becomes a dear friend… beautiful… This is a novel that asks what it is to love the world, and what it is for the world to love us. A grand adventure that begs to be revisited again and again -- ERIKA SWYLER, author of The Book of Speculation and Light From Other Stars


See Inside

See Also