Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Fiction: special features


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Fiction: special features

11,822 results

Last Stories

978/024/133/9780241337783.jpg

Last Stories

William Trevor

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

With a career that spanned more than half a century, William Trevor is regarded as one of the best writers of short stories... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Brief Cases (Dresden Files Collection)

978/035/651/9780356511719.jpg

Brief Cases (Dresden Files Collection)

Jim Butcher

Fantasy; Short stories

Paperback

Brief Cases is a new collection of Dresden Files stories which will include an original novella, from international bestseller... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Summer of Murder (#2 Black Forest)

978/085/705/9780857057402.jpg

A Summer of Murder (#2 Black Forest)

Oliver Bottini

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Fiction in translation; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

The second of the Black Forest Investigations - for fans of Val McDermid and Henning Mankell [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Lovely and Terrible Thing

978/176/055/9781760554811.jpg

A Lovely and Terrible Thing

Chris Womersley

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Bestselling and award-winning author Chris Womersley's first short fiction collection, twenty macabre and deliciously enjoyable... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Midsummer Nights: Tales from the Opera

978/178/747/9781787479555.jpg

Midsummer Nights: Tales from the Opera

Jeanette Winterson

Anthologies (non-poetry); Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Specially commissioned short story collection with stellar contributors, all based on the stories behind favourite operas.... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Butcherbird Stories

no-image-available.jpg

The Butcherbird Stories

A.S. Patric

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

`One of the most interesting and valuable writers working in Australia today.' - The Australian Eleven stories. Each... [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Mr Salary: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571351954.jpg

Mr Salary: Faber Stories

Sally Rooney

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

My love for him felt so total and so annihilating that it was often impossible for me to see him clearly at all.<br /><br... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Victim: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571351756.jpg

The Victim: Faber Stories

P. D. James

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

'On the whole, it was easier than I had expected. Only once did I feel myself at risk. Took her away from you some people... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Flowers Over the Inferno: The international bestselling debut sensation

978/147/460/9781474609586.jpg

Flowers Over the Inferno: The international bestselling debut sensation...

Ilaria Tuti

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Fiction in translation

Paperback

THERE'S A MONSTER LURKING IN THESE WOODS... An idyllic village in the Alps. A legacy of sin. An evil hiding in the shadows.... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Labels and Other Stories

978/191/121/9781911215646.jpg

Labels and Other Stories

Louis de Bernieres

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Hardback

Louis de Bernieres is one of our most treasured writers and these stories show his imaginative range and unique storytelling... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Forest of Wool and Steel

978/085/752/9780857525185.jpg

The Forest of Wool and Steel

Natsu Miyashita

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation

Hardback

''A mesmerising reading experience for all of us seeking a meaningful life' Japan Times What he experienced that day wasn't... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Farewell, My Orange

978/160/945/9781609454784.jpg

Farewell, My Orange

Iwaki Kei

Fiction & Literature; Fiction in translation

Paperback

Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Butcherbird Stories

978/192/576/9781925760101.jpg

The Butcherbird Stories

A. S. Patric

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

Eleven stories. Each like a matchstick struck to illuminate the darkness. Evocations of place ranging from a Bangla jungle... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Lycke: Ellen Tamm #1

978/192/532/9781925322064.jpg

Lycke: Ellen Tamm #1

Mikaela Bley

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Fiction in translation

Paperback

'Death, death, death,' she whispered to herself ... But it was already too late. The panic was growing inside her. [more]

$32.99  $5.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
French Short Stories 2 (Penguin Parallel Text)

978/014/003/9780140034141.jpg

French Short Stories 2 (Penguin Parallel Text)

Various Authors

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories; Languages & ESL

Paperback

Containing eight stories by 20th century French writers, this work offers insights into French life and literature and are... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
All the Names They Used for God: Stories

978/052/550/9780525508687.jpg

All the Names They Used for God: Stories

Anjali Sachdeva

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

Spanning centuries, continents, and a diverse set of characters, these alluringly strange stories are united by each character's... [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Judgment Night (Gold Masterworks)

978/147/322/9781473222533.jpg

Judgment Night (Gold Masterworks)

C.L. Moore

Science fiction; Short stories

Paperback

Five dramatic novellas from the Golden Age of Science Fiction, in a striking new edition! [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Vernon Subutex Two

978/085/705/9780857055835.jpg

Vernon Subutex Two

Virginie Despentes

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

The hunt for Virginie Despentes' enigmatic hero continues in the second title in her bestselling trilogy. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
This Taste for Silence

978/070/226/9780702260377.jpg

This Taste for Silence

Amanda O'Callaghan

Fiction & Literature; Short stories; Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

The balance of power in a marriage shifts, with shocking consequences. An elderly woman recounts a chilling childhood memory... [more]

$22.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Pantagruel and Gargantua

978/184/749/9781847497406.jpg

Pantagruel and Gargantua

Francois Rabelais

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fiction in translation

Paperback

These bawdy and boisterous tales, with their fixation on food and faeces, are not just entertaining yarns, as Francois Rabelais... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Terrific Mother: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571351831.jpg

Terrific Mother: Faber Stories

Lorrie Moore

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

Adrienne is living in a puritanical age, when the best compliment a childless woman can get is: 'You'd make a terrific mother'.... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A River in Egypt: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571352494.jpg

A River in Egypt: Faber Stories

David Means

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

In his masterful story 'A River in Egypt', David Means paints a portrait of a moment. Cavanaugh and his young son are suspended;... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Three Types of Solitude: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571352500.jpg

Three Types of Solitude: Faber Stories

Brian Aldiss

Fiction & Literature; Short stories

Paperback

Brian Aldiss, who died in 2017, was best known for his science fiction - and in particular for a short story optioned by Stanley... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Shielding of Mrs Forbes: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571351824.jpg

The Shielding of Mrs Forbes: Faber Stories

Alan Bennett

Fiction & Literature; Short stories; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

'Thinking Betty was in the bath Graham was watching a late-night programme on Channel 4 called Footballers with Their Shirts... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Country Funeral: Faber Stories

978/057/135/9780571351848.jpg

The Country Funeral: Faber Stories

John McGahern

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Short stories

Paperback

'My only concern', John McGahern once said, 'is that I get the sentence right and describe my world clearly and deeply.' 'The... [more]

$7.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.