PARCEL TRACKING • FLAT RATE AUSTRALIA-WIDE $9.90 (NSW/ACT $7.90) INFO

Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items

A Far Wilder Magic

Allison Saft

$17.99

Paperback

In stock
Ready to ship

QTY:

Orion Children's Books
08 April 2022
A MAGICAL SECRET. A MYTHICAL HUNT. AND A LOVE THAT COULD RISK EVERYTHING.

In the dark, gothic town of Wickdon, Maggie Welty lives in an old creaking manor. Maggie's mother is an alchemist who has recently left town, leaving Maggie with just her bloodhound for company. But when Maggie spots a legendary ancient fox-creature on her porch, her fate is changed forever. Whoever tracks down and kills the hala in the Halfmoon Hunt will earn fame and riches - and if Maggie wins the hunt, she knows her mother will want to celebrate her. This is her chance to bring her home.

But the rules state that only teams of two can join the hunt, and while Maggie is known as the best sharpshooter in town, she needs an alchemist.

Enter Wes Winters. He isn't an alchemist ... yet. Fired from every apprenticeship he's landed, this is his last chance.

Maggie and Wes make an unlikely team - a charismatic but troubled boy, and a girl who has endured life on the outskirts of a town that never welcomed her. But as the hunt takes over, the pair are drawn together as they uncover a darker magic that may put everything they hold dear in peril...

A rich and tender YA fantasy love story. Perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Finbar Hawkins.
By:  
Imprint:   Orion Children's Books
Country of Publication:   United Kingdom
Dimensions:   Height: 196mm,  Width: 128mm,  Spine: 30mm
Weight:   340g
ISBN:   9781510110755
ISBN 10:   1510110755
Pages:   320
Publication Date:  
Recommended Age:   From 12 to 15 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Preschool (0-5)
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active

Allison Saft was born in a Philadelphia blizzard and has been venturing west ever since. After receiving her MA in English Literature from Tulane University, she moved from the Gulf Coast to the West Coast, where she spends her free time hiking the redwoods and practicing aerial silks. She currently lives and writes on Stanford University's campus. Her academic interests include the economics of Gothic novels and obstetrics and gynaecology in Early Modern literature (yes, really!). Saft is the author of critically acclaimed and eerie romantic fantasies, Down Comes the Night and A Far Wilder Magic. Her debut, Down Comes the Night, was a top ten pick for the American Bookseller Association's Indie Next List in spring 2021. It also received an Earphones Award from AudioFile Magazine and starred reviews from School Library Journal and Shelf Awareness. Her second novel, A Far Wilder Magic, will release from Hachette Children's (UK) and Wednesday Books (US) in March 2022. Her short fiction will appear in The Gathering Dark: An Anthology of Folk Horror (Page Street Publishing, 2022), and her nonfiction can be found on Tor.com. An alumna of Author Mentor Match, Saft is passionate about lifting up other writers. She has served as a mentor in Author Mentor Match (Round 7) and Pitch Wars (2020 and 2021) and currently freelances as a writing coach. In a past life, she wrote portfolio performance commentaries for a mutual fund company.

See Also