Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items


May 30, 2023

Australian Book Industry Awards logo
The Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) celebrate the achievements of authors and publishers in bringing Australian books to readers.

Winners for the Australian Book Industry Awards are determined through a process of selection, first by the ABIA Academy of more than 200 industry professionals, and then a shortlist and winners are chosen by our Judging Panels.

Biography Book of the Year

Book of the Year for Older Children (ages 13+)


Book of the Year for Younger Children (ages 7–12)

Children’s Picture Book of the Year (ages 0–6)

General Fiction Book of the Year

General Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Illustrated Book of the Year

International Book of the Year

Literary Fiction Book of the Year

Small Publishers’ Adult Book of the Year

  • WINNER: The Dreaming Path - Paul Callaghan
  • Humanity’s Moment - Joëlle Gergis (Black Inc.)
  • Cold Enough for Snow - Jessica Au (Giramondo)
  • Tell Me Again - Amy Thunig (UQP)
  • Warlpiri Encyclopaedic Dictionary - Mary Laughren, Kenneth Hale, Jeannie Nungarrayi Egan, Marlurrku Paddy Patrick Jangala, Robert Hoogenraad, David Nash & Jane Simpson (Aboriginal Studies Press)

Small Publishers’ Children’s Book of the Year



Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year

Audiobook of the Year

  • WINNER: The Whitewash - Siang Lu
  • Ten Steps to Nanette - narrated by Hannah Gadsby, (Wavesound)
  • Life: What Nat to Do: A hot take on advice you never asked for - narrated by Nat’s What I Reckon, (PRH Audio)
  • The Ninth Life of a Diamond Miner - narrated by Grace Tame (Macmillan Audio)
  • Lisa - narrated by Lisa Curry (HarperAudio)

Social Impact Book of the Year