Close Notification

Your cart does not contain any items


July 08, 2021

 Aurealis Awards logo

The winners of the 2020 Aurealis Awards, presented for science fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia, have been announced. The winners are:

Best horror novel
None Shall Sleep - Ellie Marney

Best fantasy novel
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London - Garth Nix

Best science fiction novel - joint winners
The Animals in That Country - Laura Jean McKay
Repo Virtual - Corey J White

Best anthology
Rebuilding Tomorrow - ed by Tsana Dolichva

Best young adult novel
The Erasure Initiative - Lili Wilkinson

Best children’s fiction
The Lost Soul Atlas - Zana Fraillon

Best graphic novel/illustrated work
Under-Earth - Chris Gooch

Best collection
The Heart is a Mirror for Sinners and Other Stories - Angela Slatter

Best young adult short story
‘Dingo & Sister’ - Nikky Lee

Best horror short story
‘Phoenix Pharmaceuticals’ - Jessica Nelson-Tyers

Best horror novella
‘The Saltbush Queen’ - Chris Mason Outback Horrors Down Under, Things in The Well

Best fantasy short story
‘Truth Be Told’ - Louise Pieper, Unnatural Order, CSFG

Best fantasy novella
‘Dingo & Sister’ - Nikky Lee, Andromeda Spaceways Magazine #78

Best science fiction short story
‘Mary, Mary’ - Fiona Bell, Aurealis #135

Best science fiction novella
‘The Weight of the Air, The Weight of the World’ - T R Napper, Neon Leviathan, Grimdark Magazine

Convenors’ award for excellence
Never Afters: Female Friendship and Collaboration in Contemporary Re-visioned Fairy Tales by Women - Kirstyn McDermott

The winners were announced during an online ceremony on 8 July.