Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Religion & beliefs


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Religion & beliefs

1,086 results

New Testament (French/English)

978/031/045/9780310450030.jpg

New Testament (French/English)

Zondervan

Bibles; Languages & ESL

Paperback

This French / English Bilingual New Testament presents a side-by-side treatment of the contemporary French Semeur translation... [more]

$16.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bible du Semeur/Holy Bible (Semeur/Niv)

978/031/045/9780310450023.jpg

Bible du Semeur/Holy Bible (Semeur/Niv)

Zondervan

Bibles; Languages & ESL

Paperback

This French / English Bilingual Bible presents a side-by-side treatment of the contemporary French La Bible du Semeur translation... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity, Faith and Family

978/000/827/9780008276980.jpg

Boy Erased: A Memoir of Identity, Faith and Family

Garrard Conley

Biography; Memoirs; Christian aspects of sexuality, gender & relationships; Gay studies (Gay men)

Paperback

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING LUCAS HEDGES, RUSSELL CROWE AND NICOLE KIDMAN, AND WRITTEN AND DIRECTED BY JOEL EDGERTON... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Returned: They Left to Wage Jihad, Now They're Back

978/150/952/9781509526918.jpg

The Returned: They Left to Wage Jihad, Now They're Back

David Thomson

History; Religious intolerance, persecution & conflict; Islam; Terrorism, armed struggle

Paperback

Since 2012, hundreds of men and women have left Western countries to join jihadist groups fighting in Syria. Many are still... [more]

$35.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Courage of Hopelessness: Chronicles of a Year of Acting Dangerously

978/014/198/9780141986098.jpg

The Courage of Hopelessness: Chronicles of a Year of Acting Dangerously...

Slavoj Zizek

Philosophy; Social & political philosophy; Religion & politics

Paperback

The maverick philosopher returns to explore today's idealogical, political and economic battles, and asks whether radical... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Training in Tenderness: Buddhist Teachings on Tsewa, the Radical Openness of Heart That Can Change the World

978/161/180/9781611805581.jpg

Training in Tenderness: Buddhist Teachings on Tsewa, the Radical Openness...

Dzigar Kongtrul

Religion & beliefs

Paperback

The Tibetan term tsewa is difficult to define, but it can be translated, according to Dzigar Kongtr l, as an open heart,... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In Search of Wisdom: A Monk, a Philosopher, and a Psychiatrist on What Matters Most

978/168/364/9781683640240.jpg

In Search of Wisdom: A Monk, a Philosopher, and a Psychiatrist on What Matters...

Matthieu Ricard, Christophe Andre, Alexandre Jollien

Religion & beliefs; Buddhism; Spiritualism; Assertiveness, motivation & self-esteem; Psychic powers & psychic phenomena

Paperback

In the tradition of Ricard's bestseller The Monk and The Philosopher comes a book that explores some of humanity's enduring... [more]

$28.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Augustine of Hippo's The City of God Against the Pagans

978/191/245/9781912453641.jpg

Augustine of Hippo's The City of God Against the Pagans

Jonathan D. Teubner

Philosophy; Christian theology

Paperback

The City of God against the Pagans is a central text in the Western intellectual tradition. Made up of twenty-two lengthy... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Martin Buber's I and Thou

978/191/245/9781912453610.jpg

Martin Buber's I and Thou

Simon Ravenscroft

Philosophy; Western philosophy, from c 1900 -; Religion: general

Paperback

Martin Buber's I and Thou argues that humans engage with the world in two ways. One is with the attitude of an `I' towards... [more]

$12.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Why I Am a Hindu

978/192/571/9781925713534.jpg

Why I Am a Hindu

Shashi Tharoor

Religion & beliefs; Hinduism

Paperback

Shashi Tharoor offers a profound re-examination of Hinduism, one of the world's oldest and greatest religious traditions.... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Book of Revelation: A Biography

978/069/114/9780691145839.jpg

The Book of Revelation: A Biography

Timothy Beal

Religion & beliefs; History of religion

Hardback

The life and times of the New Testament's most mystifying and incendiary book Few biblical books have been as revered and... [more]

$54.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Little Book of Christian Mysticism: Essential Wisdom of Saints, Seers, and Sages

978/157/174/9781571747747.jpg

The Little Book of Christian Mysticism: Essential Wisdom of Saints, Seers,...

Carl McColman (Carl McColman)

Religion & beliefs; Christian mysticism

Paperback

In the tradition of Pope Francis' Little Book of Wisdom and The Dalai Lama's Little Book of Buddhism, THE LITTLE BOOK OF CHRISTIAN... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Japanese Death Poems: Written by Zen Monks and Haiku Poets on the Verge of Death

978/480/531/9784805314432.jpg

Japanese Death Poems: Written by Zen Monks and Haiku Poets on the Verge...

Yoel Hoffmann

Poetry; Poetry anthologies; Zen Buddhism

Paperback

A wonderful introduction the Japanese tradition of jisei, this volume is crammed with exquisite, spontaneous verse and pity,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Illustrated Myths and Legends of China: The Ages of Chaos and Heroes

978/160/220/9781602201576.jpg

Illustrated Myths and Legends of China: The Ages of Chaos and Heroes

Huang Dehai, Xiang Jing, Zhang Dinghao

Religion & beliefs; Folklore, myths & legends

Paperback

Illustrated Myths and Legends of China contains 32 carefully chosen stories from classical Chinese mythology. [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Islamic Civilization in Thirty Lives: The First 1000 Years

978/050/029/9780500293782.jpg

Islamic Civilization in Thirty Lives: The First 1000 Years

Chase F. Robinson

History; General & world history; History of religion; Islam; Islamic studies

Paperback

An accessible introduction to pre-modern Islam, showcasing the individuals - caliphs, law-makers, theologians, poets, mystics... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Magic in Britain: A History of Medieval and Earlier Practices

978/147/667/9781476674001.jpg

Magic in Britain: A History of Medieval and Earlier Practices

Robin Melrose

History of religion; Occult studies; Magic, alchemy & hermetic thought; Witchcraft

Paperback

Magic, which is probably as old as humanity, is a way of achieving goals through supernatural means, either benevolent (white... [more]

$60.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Islamic Enlightenment: The Modern Struggle Between Faith and Reason

978/009/957/9780099578703.jpg

The Islamic Enlightenment: The Modern Struggle Between Faith and Reason...

Christopher de Bellaigue

Religion & beliefs; Islam

Paperback

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE 2017'An eye-opening, well-written and very timely book' Yuval Noah Harari'The best... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Fox Hunt: Four Strangers, Thirteen Days, and One Man's Amazing Journey to Safety

978/192/532/9781925322798.jpg

The Fox Hunt: Four Strangers, Thirteen Days, and One Man's Amazing Journey...

Mohammed Al Samawi

Biography; Memoirs; True war & combat stories; True stories of heroism, endurance & survival; Interfaith relations

Paperback

A young man's moving story of love, war, and hope in which he recounts his harrowing escape from fanaticism and a brutal civil... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Moor's Last Stand: How Seven Centuries of Muslim Rule in Spain Came to an End

978/178/125/9781781256879.jpg

The Moor's Last Stand: How Seven Centuries of Muslim Rule in Spain Came...

Elizabeth Drayson

History; European history; Early modern history: c 1450 to c 1700; Revolutions, uprisings, rebellions; Interfaith relations

Paperback

The first full account in any language of the last Muslim king of Spain. An action-packed story of betrayal, courage, intrigue,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Dawn of Christianity: People and Gods in a Time of Magic and Miracles

978/178/125/9781781252086.jpg

The Dawn of Christianity: People and Gods in a Time of Magic and Miracles...

Robert Knapp

History; Ancient history: to c 500 CE; The Early Church

Paperback

Robert Knapp reveals why some ordinary people in Judea and in the Roman and Greek worlds embraced a new approach to the supernatural... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Headstrong Daughters: Inspiring stories from the new generation of Australian Muslim women

978/176/029/9781760293314.jpg

Headstrong Daughters: Inspiring stories from the new generation of Australian...

Nadia Jamal

History; Islamic life & practice; Gender studies: women; Islamic studies

Paperback

Nadia Jamal takes us inside the lives of ordinary Muslim women from around Australia, showing how they find ways to stay true... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How Fear Works: Culture of Fear in the Twenty-First Century

978/147/294/9781472947727.jpg

How Fear Works: Culture of Fear in the Twenty-First Century

Frank Furedi

Religion & politics; Society & Social Sciences; Society & culture: general; Cultural studies

Hardback

In 1997, Frank Furedi published a book called Culture of Fear. It was widely acclaimed as perceptive and prophetic. Now Furedi... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
What Are You Doing With Your Life?

978/184/604/9781846045851.jpg

What Are You Doing With Your Life?

J. Krishnamurti

Oriental & Indian philosophy; Popular philosophy; Religion & beliefs; Spirituality & religious experience

Paperback

`One of the greatest thinkers of the age' The Dalai Lama 'One of the five saints of the 20th century' - TIME magazine 'Krishnamurti... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Meditations

978/161/180/9781611806045.jpg

Meditations

J. Krishnamurti

Religion & beliefs

Paperback

A collection of Krishnamurti's thoughts on meditation. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The First Love Story: A Journey Through the Tangled Lives of Adam and Eve

978/110/198/9781101980507.jpg

The First Love Story: A Journey Through the Tangled Lives of Adam and Eve...

Bruce Feiler

Religion & beliefs

Paperback

From the New York Times bestselling author of Walking the Bible and Abraham comes a revelatory journey across four continents... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.