Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Myth & legend told as fiction

1,741 results

Golden Fleece

978/160/980/9781609807672.jpg

Golden Fleece

Robert Graves, Robert Graves

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Along with I, Claudius, The Golden Fleece is considered one of Robert Graves's most exciting and transporting historical novels.... [more]

$37.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Beowulf

978/030/023/9780300236668.jpg

Beowulf

Stephen Mitchell

Poetry; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Religious & spiritual fiction; Fiction in translation; Christian life & practice

Paperback

A widely celebrated translator's vivid, accessible, and elegantly concise rendering of an ancient English masterpiece [more]

$27.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
I Hate Fairyland Vol 4: Sadly Never Afters (GN)

978/153/430/9781534306806.jpg

I Hate Fairyland Vol 4: Sadly Never Afters (GN)

Skottie Young

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction; Graphic novels; Fiction-related items

Paperback

Contains material originally published in single magazine form as I HATE FAIRYLAND #16-20. --indicia. [more]

$31.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Silence of the Girls: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019

978/024/133/9780241338094.jpg

The Silence of the Girls: Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction...

Pat Barker

Fiction & Literature; Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

The Iliad, as experienced by the captured women living in the Greek camp in the final weeks of the Trojan War -- [more]

$32.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Japanese Folktales: Classic Stories from Japans Enchanted Past (Tuttle Classics)

978/480/531/9784805314616.jpg

Japanese Folktales: Classic Stories from Japans Enchanted Past (Tuttle Classics)...

Lucy Fraser

Anthologies (non-poetry); Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction; Languages & ESL

Paperback

Japanese Folktales is one of the most complete collections of stories translated to English and introduces the reader to the... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Aladdin (New Translation)

978/163/149/9781631495168.jpg

Aladdin (New Translation)

Paulo Lemos Horta (New York University)

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A dynamic French-Syrian translator, lauded for her lively poetic voice, tackles the enchanted world of Aladdin in this sparkling... [more]

$35.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Norse Myths: Stories of The Norse Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold

978/178/648/9781786488824.jpg

The Norse Myths: Stories of The Norse Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold

Dr Tom Birkett

Myth & legend told as fiction; Ancient history: to c 500 CE; Religion & beliefs; Folklore, myths & legends

Hardback

The greatest legends, battles and heroics of Norse Mythology, brought to life and explained in fascinating detail [more]

$49.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Mere Wife

978/192/571/9781925713459.jpg

The Mere Wife

Maria Dahvana Headley

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Folklore, myths & legends

Paperback

New York Times bestselling author Maria Dahvana Headley's fierce, feminist retelling of the classic tale of Beowulf. [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures

978/024/138/9780241380369.jpg

Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures

Stephen Fry

Poetry by individual poets; Myth & legend told as fiction; History; Religion & beliefs; Folklore, myths & legends

Hardback

Few mere mortals have ever embarked on such bold and heart-stirring adventures, overcome myriad monstrous perils, or outwitted... [more]

$49.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
A Conspiracy of Truths

978/153/441/9781534412804.jpg

A Conspiracy of Truths

Alexandra Rowland

Political & legal thriller; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A wrongfully imprisoned storyteller spins stories from his jail cell that just might have the power to save him--and take... [more]

$47.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Sisters of the Winter Wood

978/031/648/9780316483254.jpg

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A magical debut with a fairy tale feel that will break your heart... Perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Bear and the... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

978/000/830/9780008302757.jpg

The Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

J. R. R. Tolkien

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

In the Tale of The Fall of Gondolin are two of the greatest powers in the world. There is Morgoth of the uttermost evil, unseen... [more]

$44.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

978/132/861/9781328613042.jpg

Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

J R R Tolkien

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The final work of J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth fiction, completing Christopher Tolkien's life-long achievement as the editor... [more]

$54.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Beast's Heart

978/147/366/9781473668713.jpg

The Beast's Heart

Leife Shallcross

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

A richly magical retelling of the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale, from the point of view of the Beast. [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh

978/198/835/9781988353685.jpg

The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh

Carolyn Arnold

Fiction & Literature; Thriller & suspense; Adventure; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Archaeologist Matthew Connor and his friends set off for Egypt in search of the legendary Emerald Tablets when a colleague... [more]

$35.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019

978/140/889/9781408890073.jpg

Circe: The International No. 1 Bestseller - Shortlisted for the Women's...

Madeline Miller

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child, not... [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Queens of Innis Lear (#1 Queens of Innis Lear)

978/000/828/9780008281885.jpg

Queens of Innis Lear (#1 Queens of Innis Lear)

Tessa Gratton

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

A KINGDOM AT RISK, A CROWN DIVIDED, A FAMILY DRENCHED IN BLOOD [more]

$27.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Impostor Syndrome (#3 Arcadia Project)

978/148/145/9781481451949.jpg

Impostor Syndrome (#3 Arcadia Project)

Mishell Baker

Crime & mystery; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$24.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Norse Mythology

978/140/889/9781408891957.jpg

Norse Mythology

Neil Gaiman

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Remarkable.... Gaiman has provided an enchanting contemporary interpretation of the Viking ethos. -Lisa L. Hannett, Atlantic... [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Egyptian Myths

978/178/664/9781786647641.jpg

Egyptian Myths

Jake Jackson

Myth & legend told as fiction; Religion & beliefs

Paperback

This new book of classic tales brings the stories of the ancients to life, from the birth of creation by the sun god Ra, the... [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Season of Storms (#6 Witcher)

978/031/644/9780316441636.jpg

Season of Storms (#6 Witcher)

Andrzej Sapkowski

Adventure; Science fiction; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The Witcher returns! A new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series... [more]

$47.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Map of Salt and Stars

no-image-available.jpg

Map of Salt and Stars

Zeyn Joukhadar

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

This imaginative but very real look into war-torn Syria is a must. -Booklist (starred review) This rich, moving, and lyrical... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
An Old Babylonian Version of the Gilgamesh Epic

no-image-available.jpg

An Old Babylonian Version of the Gilgamesh Epic

Morris Jastrow, Albert Tobias Clay

Myth & legend told as fiction; History

Paperback

The Epic of Gilgamesh, an epic poem from Mesopotamia, is considered the world's first truly great work of literature. [more]

$13.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold

978/071/818/9780718188740.jpg

Mythos: The Greek Myths Retold

Stephen Fry

Poetry by individual poets; Myth & legend told as fiction; Religion & beliefs

Paperback

<div>The Greek myths are the greatest stories ever told, passed down through millennia, and inspiring writers and artists... [more]

$32.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Scandal in Battersea (#12 Elemental Masters)

978/075/640/9780756408732.jpg

Scandal in Battersea (#12 Elemental Masters)

Mercedes Lackey

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The twelfth novel in Mercedes Lackey's magical Elemental Masters series reimagines Sherlock Holmes in a richly-detailed alternate... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.