Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Myth & legend told as fiction

1,743 results

Cassandra

978/125/019/9781250197412.jpg

Cassandra

Sharma Shields

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); War & combat fiction; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The Cassandra follows a woman who goes to work in a top secret research facility during WWII, only to be tormented by visions... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Hiddensee

978/006/268/9780062684370.jpg

Hiddensee

Gregory Maguire

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Planted in the rich soil of early-nineteenth-century German Romanticism, the new novel by New York Times bestselling author... [more]

$31.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Beowulf

978/030/023/9780300236668.jpg

Beowulf

Stephen Mitchell

Poetry; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Religious & spiritual fiction; Fiction in translation; Christian life & practice

Paperback

A widely celebrated translator's vivid, accessible, and elegantly concise rendering of an ancient English masterpiece [more]

$27.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
I Hate Fairyland Vol 4: Sadly Never Afters (GN)

978/153/430/9781534306806.jpg

I Hate Fairyland Vol 4: Sadly Never Afters (GN)

Skottie Young

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction; Graphic novels; Fiction-related items

Paperback

Contains material originally published in single magazine form as I HATE FAIRYLAND #16-20. --indicia. [more]

$31.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Japanese Folktales: Classic Stories from Japans Enchanted Past (Tuttle Classics)

978/480/531/9784805314616.jpg

Japanese Folktales: Classic Stories from Japans Enchanted Past (Tuttle Classics)...

Yei Theodora Ozaki, Lucy Fraser

Anthologies (non-poetry); Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction; Languages & ESL

Paperback

Japanese Folktales is one of the most complete collections of stories translated to English and introduces the reader to the... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Aladdin (New Translation)

978/163/149/9781631495168.jpg

Aladdin (New Translation)

Paulo Lemos Horta (New York University)

Classic fiction (pre c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A dynamic French-Syrian translator, lauded for her lively poetic voice, tackles the enchanted world of Aladdin in this sparkling... [more]

$35.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Unkindness of Magicians

978/148/145/9781481451208.jpg

Unkindness of Magicians

Kat Howard

Thriller & suspense; Horror & ghost stories; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$24.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Mere Wife

978/192/571/9781925713459.jpg

The Mere Wife

Maria Dahvana Headley

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Folklore, myths & legends

Paperback

New York Times bestselling author Maria Dahvana Headley's fierce, feminist retelling of the classic tale of Beowulf. [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures

978/024/138/9780241380369.jpg

Heroes: Mortals and Monsters, Quests and Adventures

Stephen Fry

Poetry by individual poets; Myth & legend told as fiction; History; Religion & beliefs; Folklore, myths & legends

Hardback

Few mere mortals have ever embarked on such bold and heart-stirring adventures, overcome myriad monstrous perils, or outwitted... [more]

$49.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Rose Madder

978/150/119/9781501192302.jpg

Rose Madder

Stephen King

Thriller & suspense; Horror & ghost stories; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Roused by a single drop of blood, Rosie Daniels wakes up to the chilling realization that her husband is going to kill her.... [more]

$33.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
A Conspiracy of Truths

978/153/441/9781534412804.jpg

A Conspiracy of Truths

Alexandra Rowland

Political & legal thriller; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A wrongfully imprisoned storyteller spins stories from his jail cell that just might have the power to save him--and take... [more]

$47.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Sisters of the Winter Wood

978/031/648/9780316483254.jpg

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Rena Rossner

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

A magical debut with a fairy tale feel that will break your heart... Perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Bear and the... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Into the Drowning Deep

978/031/637/9780316379373.jpg

Into the Drowning Deep

Mira Grant

Adventure; Horror & ghost stories; Science fiction; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant returns with a razor-sharp tale of the horrors that lie beneath . . . [more]

$29.95  $26.35

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Science of Lost Futures (American Reader Series)

978/194/268/9781942683605.jpg

Science of Lost Futures (American Reader Series)

Ryan Habermeyer

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Science fiction; Myth & legend told as fiction; Short stories

Paperback

A quirky, intelligently absurd collection of humorous, poignant short stories. [more]

$27.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

978/132/861/9781328613042.jpg

Fall of Gondolin (Lord of the Rings)

J R R Tolkien

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The final work of J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth fiction, completing Christopher Tolkien's life-long achievement as the editor... [more]

$54.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Grayghost (#7 Olive Kennedy Fairy World MD)

978/163/422/9781634223027.jpg

Grayghost (#7 Olive Kennedy Fairy World MD)

Tamara Grantham

Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

[more]

$20.95  $18.45

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Children of Jocasta

978/150/983/9781509836178.jpg

The Children of Jocasta

Natalie Haynes

Fiction & Literature; Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

A stunning reimagining of the Oedipus and Antigone stories told from the perspectives of the women the myths overlooked. [more]

$18.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh

978/198/835/9781988353685.jpg

The Secret of the Lost Pharaoh

Carolyn Arnold

Fiction & Literature; Thriller & suspense; Adventure; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Archaeologist Matthew Connor and his friends set off for Egypt in search of the legendary Emerald Tablets when a colleague... [more]

$35.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Circe: The Sunday Times Bestseller - LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2019

978/140/889/9781408890073.jpg

Circe: The Sunday Times Bestseller - LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR...

Madeline Miller

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child, not... [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Impostor Syndrome (#3 Arcadia Project)

978/148/145/9781481451949.jpg

Impostor Syndrome (#3 Arcadia Project)

Mishell Baker

Crime & mystery; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Paperback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$24.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Anomaly

978/153/876/9781538761854.jpg

Anomaly

Michael Rutger

Thriller & suspense; Adventure; Horror & ghost stories; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

. An utterly gripping action adventure for fans of Michael Crichton, Indiana Jones and the The X Files, THE ANOMALY will leave... [more]

$47.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Egyptian Myths

978/178/664/9781786647641.jpg

Egyptian Myths

Jake Jackson

Myth & legend told as fiction; Religion & beliefs

Paperback

This new book of classic tales brings the stories of the ancients to life, from the birth of creation by the sun god Ra, the... [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
A Hero Born: Legends of the Condor Heroes Vol. 1

978/085/705/9780857053008.jpg

A Hero Born: Legends of the Condor Heroes Vol. 1

Jin Yong

Fiction & Literature; Myth & legend told as fiction; Fiction in translation

Paperback

The most popular series by the most successful Chinese author - a cultural monument translated into English for the first... [more]

$32.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Tatterdemalion

978/178/352/9781783523290.jpg

Tatterdemalion

Sylvia V. Linsteadt

Science fiction; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

Up in the glacial peaks, among a strange, mountainous people, a Juniper Tree takes Poppy deep into her roots and shows him... [more]

$49.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Season of Storms (#6 Witcher)

978/031/644/9780316441636.jpg

Season of Storms (#6 Witcher)

Andrzej Sapkowski

Adventure; Science fiction; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction

Hardback

The Witcher returns! A new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series... [more]

$47.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.