Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

4,195 results

Agent Running in the Field

978/024/140/9780241401217.jpg

Agent Running in the Field

John Le Carre

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Espionage & spy thriller; Political & legal thriller; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

A 26-year-old solitary figure, desperate to resist the political turbulence swirling around him, makes connections that will... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Weekend

978/176/029/9781760292010.jpg

The Weekend

Charlotte Wood

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

<!-- SIGNED COPIES --> <div style="text-align: center; color: #ff3f0f; font-family: proxima-nova, sans-serif; font-size: 22px;... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Warrior of the Altaii

978/176/078/9781760786922.jpg

Warrior of the Altaii

Robert Jordan

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Science fiction; Fantasy

Paperback

Epic fantasy legend, and author of no.1 New York Times bestselling series The Wheel of Time (R), Robert Jordan's never-before... [more]

$32.99  $26.39

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Secret Commonwealth (#2 Book of Dust)

978/024/137/9780241373347.jpg

The Secret Commonwealth (#2 Book of Dust)

Philip Pullman

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Science fiction; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA)

Paperback

<strong>It is twenty years since the events of La Belle Sauvage - The Book of Dust Volume One unfolded and saw the baby Lyra... [more]

$32.99  $26.39

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Serotonin

978/178/515/9781785152245.jpg

Serotonin

Michel Houellebecq

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

THE MOST IMPORTANT FRENCH BOOK OF THE YEAR___________________'One cannot be said to be keeping abreast of contemporary literature... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The World That We Knew

978/147/118/9781471185830.jpg

The World That We Knew

Alice Hoffman

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

In Berlin in 1941 during humanity's darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive,... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Maybe the Horse Will Talk

978/014/378/9780143781493.jpg

Maybe the Horse Will Talk

Elliot Perlman

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

'I am absolutely terrified of losing a job I absolutely hate.' Stephen Maserov has problems. A onetime teacher, married... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bruny

978/176/087/9781760875169.jpg

Bruny

Heather Rose

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

<!-- SIGNED COPIES --> <div style="text-align: center; color: #ff3f0f; font-family: proxima-nova, sans-serif; font-size: 22px;... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold

978/152/902/9781529029581.jpg

Before the Coffee Gets Cold

Toshikazu Kawaguchi

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fiction in translation; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

A beautiful, moving story about a small Japanese cafe that offers its visitors the chance to travel back in time, to find... [more]

$18.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Long Call (#1 Two Rivers)

978/150/988/9781509889570.jpg

The Long Call (#1 Two Rivers)

Ann Cleeves

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense

Paperback

In this rural idyll, where two rivers meet, crime is always there waiting to rise from the water... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Death of Jesus

978/192/226/9781922268280.jpg

The Death of Jesus

J. M. Coetzee

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Fiction

Hardback

An extraordinary new novel from one of the world's greatest living writers, two-time Booker Prize winner and Nobel Laureate... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
This Storm

/978/043/402/9780434020591.jpg

This Storm

James Ellroy

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Paperback

From 'one of the great American writers of our time' (Los Angeles Times Book Review) - a brilliant historical crime novel,... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Autumn Murders

/978/192/571/9781925713466.jpg

The Autumn Murders

Robert Gott

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Historical fiction

Paperback

In the autumn of 1944, George Starling prepares to exact revenge on the person he hates most in the world (and Starling has... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Testaments (#2 Handmaid's Tale)

978/178/474/9781784742324.jpg

The Testaments (#2 Handmaid's Tale)

Margaret Atwood

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Science fiction

Hardback

PREORDER THE SEQUEL TO THE HANDMAID'S TALEThe third season of the AWARD-WINNING TV SERIES is now airing on Channel 4 starring... [more]

$42.99  $39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Assault

978/039/474/9780394744209.jpg

Assault

Harry Mulisch

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Paperback

The execution of a collaborator and Nazi retaliation on the family of twelve-year-old Anton Steenwijk have lasting repercussions... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Too Much Lip

/978/070/225/9780702259968.jpg

Too Much Lip

Melissa Lucashenko

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Paperback

<strong>WINNER OF THE 2019 MILES FRANKLIN LITERARY AWARD</strong><br /><br... [more]

$29.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Men: A Novel of Cinema and Desire

978/192/524/9781925240917.jpg

Men: A Novel of Cinema and Desire

Marie Darrieussecq

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

Paperback

With her characteristic intensity, edginess and humor, Marie Darrieussecq explores female desire, and what it means to be... [more]

$29.99  $10.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Kopp Sisters on the March

978/192/571/9781925713275.jpg

Kopp Sisters on the March

Amy Stewart

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Historical adventure; Historical fiction; Crime Chronicle - Historical Crime

Paperback

In the fifth installment of Amy Stewart's clever and original Kopp Sisters series, the sisters learn some military discipline--whether... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The River Capture

978/192/535/9781925355314.jpg

The River Capture

Mary Costello

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

From the winner of the Irish Book of the Year Award comes this lyrical and quietly profound story of romance, family legacy... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Ninth House (#1 Alex Stern)

978/147/322/9781473227972.jpg

Ninth House (#1 Alex Stern)

Leigh Bardugo

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Fantasy

Paperback

NINTH HOUSE is the long-awaited adult debut by the bestselling author of KING OF SCARS, SIX OF CROWS and the GRISHA TRILOGY,... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Akin

978/152/901/9781529019971.jpg

Akin

Emma Donoghue

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

A retired New York professor's life is thrown into chaos when he takes a young great-nephew to the French Riviera, in hopes... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wearing Paper Dresses

978/176/078/9781760784850.jpg

Wearing Paper Dresses

Anne Brinsden

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Sagas; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

A tremendously polished, heartbreaking debut perfect for fans of Rosalie Ham's The Dressmaker, Joy Rhoades' The Woolgrower's... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Red Hand: Stories, Reflections and the Last Appearance of Jack Irish

978/192/226/9781922268273.jpg

The Red Hand: Stories, Reflections and the Last Appearance of Jack Irish...

Peter Temple

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Poetry & Writing

Paperback

The unpublished, unfinished and unmissable writings of the unforgettable Peter Temple [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Shell

978/192/568/9781925685336.jpg

Shell

Kristina Olsson

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

A beautifully crafted, spellbinding story of love, loss and identity, set in the shadow of the Vietnam War. [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Lying Room

978/147/117/9781471179242.jpg

The Lying Room

Nicci French

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

The first standalone psychological suspense novel from Nicci French in 10 years - a major publishing event [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.