Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Historical fiction

786 results

Machines Like Me

978/178/733/9781787331679.jpg

Machines Like Me

Ian McEwan

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Science fiction; Historical fiction; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Capitol Death (#7 Flavia Alba)

978/147/365/9781473658752.jpg

A Capitol Death (#7 Flavia Alba)

Lindsey Davis

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical mysteries; Historical adventure; Historical fiction; Crime Chronicle - Historical Crime

Paperback

The next book in the gripping Flavia Albia series, by acclaimed author Lindsey Davis [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Warlight

978/178/470/9781784708344.jpg

Warlight

Michael Ondaatje

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

'Our book of the year - and maybe of Ondaatje's career' Daily Telegraph Books of the Year**LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Parisian

978/191/121/9781911214434.jpg

The Parisian

Isabella Hammad

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical romance; Historical fiction; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

The Parisian is a sublime reading experience: delicate, restrained, surpassingly intelligent, uncommonly poised and truly... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Overstory

978/178/470/9781784708245.jpg

The Overstory

Richard Powers

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction; Advocate - Fiction

Paperback

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Universe of Sufficient Size

978/174/353/9781743535127.jpg

A Universe of Sufficient Size

Miriam Sved

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction; Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

An historical novel for readers of Heather Morris, Anna Funder and Anthony Doerr, based on the true story of five Jewish mathematicians... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Four Respectable Ladies Seek the Meaning of Wife

978/014/378/9780143787570.jpg

Four Respectable Ladies Seek the Meaning of Wife

Barbara Toner

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction; Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

<!-- SIGNED COPIES --> <div style="text-align: center; color: #ff3f0f; font-family: proxima-nova, sans-serif; font-size: 22px;... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The King's Evil (#3 Marwood)

978/000/811/9780008119164.jpg

The King's Evil (#3 Marwood)

Andrew Taylor

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Historical fiction; Crime Chronicle - Historical Crime

Paperback

From the No.1 bestselling author of The Ashes of London and The Fire Court comes the next book in the phenomenally successful... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Lily and the Rose (#2 Miss Lily)

978/073/229/9780732298555.jpg

The Lily and the Rose (#2 Miss Lily)

Jackie French

Fiction & Literature; Espionage & spy thriller; War & combat fiction; Historical romance; Sagas; Historical fiction; Advocate - Australian Fiction

Paperback

Australian heiress Sophie Higgs was 'a rose of no-man's land', founding hospitals across war-torn Europe during the horror... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Book of Colours

978/146/075/9781460756751.jpg

Book of Colours

Robyn Cadwallader

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

From Robyn Cadwallader, author of the internationally acclaimed novel The Anchoress, comes a deeply profound and moving novel... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
True Queen

978/150/980/9781509801107.jpg

True Queen

Zen Cho

Fiction & Literature; Fantasy; Historical fiction

Paperback

A magical adventure set in Regency London, fairyland and an enchanted island: war looms in the lands of fairy as two sisters... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Make Me A City: A Novel of Chicago Rising

978/192/532/9781925322989.jpg

Make Me A City: A Novel of Chicago Rising

Jonathan Carr

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Sagas; Historical fiction

Paperback

How does a place become a city? Whose stories will survive and whose will be lost? How do you know if you truly belong? [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Bangkok Wakes to Rain

978/147/367/9781473677272.jpg

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbanthad

Fiction & Literature; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

An intoxicating collage of lives intersecting around a building in Bangkok. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Heart of the Grass Tree

978/014/379/9780143792499.jpg

Heart of the Grass Tree

Molly Murn

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction

Paperback

Pearl remembers Nell's feet stretched towards the campfires on the beach, her fourth toe curled in and nestled against the... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Black Leopard, Red Wolf (#1 Dark Star Trilogy)

978/024/131/9780241315583.jpg

Black Leopard, Red Wolf (#1 Dark Star Trilogy)

Marlon James

Fiction & Literature; Fantasy; Myth & legend told as fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

Tracker is known far and wide for his skills as a hunter - and he always works alone. But when he is engaged to find a child... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Age of Light

978/150/988/9781509889136.jpg

The Age of Light

Whitney Scharer

Individual photographers; True stories; Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical romance; Historical fiction

Paperback

A model, a muse, a lover to surrealist Man Ray and a pioneering artist in her own right. This the story of Lee Miller, the... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Annelies: A Novel of Anne Frank

978/024/136/9780241367650.jpg

Annelies: A Novel of Anne Frank

David Gillham

Fiction & Literature; Second World War fiction; Historical fiction

Paperback

Having survived the concentration camps but lost her mother and sister along the way, a sixteen-year-old Anne Frank reunites... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Rome's Sacred Flame

978/178/239/9781782397069.jpg

Rome's Sacred Flame

Robert Fabbri (Author)

Fiction & Literature; Historical adventure; Historical fiction

Paperback

The penultimate novel in the incredible Vespasian series from the bestselling author, Robert Fabbri. [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Well-Behaved Woman

978/147/363/9781473632516.jpg

A Well-Behaved Woman

Therese Anne Fowler

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

From the bestselling author of Z - a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, Therese Fowler's new novel goes back to the origins of the... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Love is Blind

978/024/129/9780241295946.jpg

Love is Blind

William Boyd

Fiction & Literature; Historical romance; Historical fiction

Paperback

&quot;You don't see me as I really am. All the many nuances of Lika Blum. The light and the dark. You just see the light.&quot;<br... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Little

978/191/070/9781910709566.jpg

Little

Edward Carey

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction

Paperback

From little beginnings: the extraordinary story of a singular, diminutive crumb of a servant girl turned entertainment mogul.... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Pearl Thief

978/014/379/9780143796626.jpg

The Pearl Thief

Fiona McIntosh

Fiction & Literature; Historical fiction

Paperback

Severine Kassel is asked by the Louvre in 1963 to aid the British Museum with curating its antique jewellery, her specialty.... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Phoenix of Florence

978/074/902/9780749024802.jpg

The Phoenix of Florence

Philip Kazan

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Historical fiction

Paperback

When a family feud shatters the peace of the sixteenth century Tuscan countryside, a girl is left to wander the forest alone.... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Last Brother

978/150/987/9781509878390.jpg

The Last Brother

Andrew Gross

Fiction & Literature; Crime & mystery; Thriller & suspense; Historical fiction; Crime Chronicle - Modern Crime

Paperback

From International Number One Bestseller Andrew Gross, The Last Brother is the thrilling historical novel about three brothers... [more]

$17.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Mobster's Lament

978/150/983/9781509838943.jpg

The Mobster's Lament

Ray Celestin

Fiction & Literature; Historical mysteries; Thriller & suspense; Historical fiction; Crime Chronicle - Historical Crime

Paperback

New York is in the spotlight for the third instalment in Ray Celestin's critically acclaimed City Blues quartet, and this... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.