Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

1,508 results

Tamar: A Novel of Espionage, Passion, and Betrayal

no-image-available.jpg

Tamar: A Novel of Espionage, Passion, and Betrayal

Mal Peet

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

From the author of the acclaimed Keeper comes a powerfully moving, Carnegie Medal-winning story about love, lies, and secrets... [more]

$20.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Raven's Children

978/024/133/9780241330777.jpg

The Raven's Children

Yulia Yakovleva

Children's & Educational; Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Fantasy & magical realism (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Russia in 1938 is a place of great terror. Joseph Stalin is in charge. His Secret Police are everywhere, searching for anyone... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Escaping from Houdini (#3 Stalking Jack the Ripper)

978/031/655/9780316551700.jpg

Escaping from Houdini (#3 Stalking Jack the Ripper)

Kerri Maniscalco

Horror & ghost stories; Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Hardback

In 1889, the ship Etruria departs Liverpool, England, for New York carrying Audrey Rose Wadsworth and her crime-solving partner,... [more]

$26.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
My Australian Story: Stowaway to Botany Bay

978/174/299/9781742996158.jpg

My Australian Story: Stowaway to Botany Bay

Chrissie Michaels

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

I dared not move... I was a bread stealer. A chicken feather villain. A salted mutton thief. I guiltily recalled the paper,... [more]

$16.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
I Love You, Michael Collins

978/125/015/9781250158451.jpg

I Love You, Michael Collins

Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Children's & Educational; Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: siblings (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A funny and heartwarming novel about a girl who writes letters to her favourite astronaut as America prepares for the moon... [more]

$11.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Mara, Daughter Of The Nile

978/042/529/9780425291733.jpg

Mara, Daughter Of The Nile

Eloise Jarvis McGraw

Children's & Educational; Thrillers (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A story of adventure, romance, and intrigue, set in ancient Egypt, and written by a three-time Newbery Honor and Edgar Award... [more]

$17.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Smoke in the Sun (#2 Flame in the Mist)

978/147/365/9781473658011.jpg

Smoke in the Sun (#2 Flame in the Mist)

Renee Ahdieh

Fantasy; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Romance & relationships stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

The stunning sequel to Flame in the Mist from the bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
First Class Murder

978/148/142/9781481422192.jpg

First Class Murder

Robin Stevens

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Humorous stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's&YA)

Paperback

On holiday with Hazel's father, Daisy and Hazel secretly investigate a murder on the Orient Express, rushing to solve it before... [more]

$16.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Where the World Ends

978/147/494/9781474943437.jpg

Where the World Ends

Geraldine McCaughrean

Children's & Educational; General fiction (Children's&YA); Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Every summer Quill and his friends are put ashore on a remote sea stac to hunt birds. But this summer, no one arrives to take... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Return to the City of Ghosts (#3 Ghosts of Shanghai)

978/144/492/9781444924510.jpg

Return to the City of Ghosts (#3 Ghosts of Shanghai)

Julian Sedgwick

Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Ruby's adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
In the Mouth of the Wolf

978/140/528/9781405285261.jpg

In the Mouth of the Wolf

Michael Morpurgo

Children's & Educational; Classic fiction (Children's&YA); Family & home stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Social issues: war & conflict issues (Children's&YA)

Hardback

One soldier. One spy. A true story of two brothers in a terrible war. Michael Morpurgo's wonderful storytelling and Barroux's... [more]

$29.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Purple Hearts

no-image-available.jpg

Purple Hearts

Michael Grant

Children's & Educational; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Social issues: war & conflict issues (Children's&YA)

Paperback

It's 1944, and it feels to everyone like the war will never end. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr and Rainie Shulterman have all... [more]

$19.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
My Australian Story: Our Race for Reconciliation

978/176/027/9781760276119.jpg

My Australian Story: Our Race for Reconciliation

Anita Heiss

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Mel Gordon loves running, and watching Seinfeld, but mostly she loves Cathy Freeman. It's 2000 and the Olympics are going... [more]

$16.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Timekeeper (#1 Timekeeper)

978/151/070/9781510706187.jpg

Timekeeper (#1 Timekeeper)

Tara Sim

Science fiction (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Hardback

In an alternate 1875 England, seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny, aided by the boy he loves, must discover who is sabotaging... [more]

$33.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II

978/054/588/9780545880169.jpg

Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II

Alan Gratz, Allan Gratz

Children's & Educational; Adventure stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Hardback

It is 1943, and thirteen-year-old Michael O'Shaunessey, son of the Irish ambassador to Nazi Germany in Berlin, is also a spy... [more]

$24.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
An Eagle in the Snow

978/000/813/9780008134174.jpg

An Eagle in the Snow

Michael Morpurgo

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

The powerful new novel from the master storyteller - inspired by the true story of one man who might have stopped World War... [more]

$14.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The War That Saved My Life

978/192/535/9781925355642.jpg

The War That Saved My Life

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

A young disabled girl and her brother are evacuated from London to the English countryside during World War II, where they... [more]

$16.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Shakespeare Tales: A Midsummer Night's Dream

978/147/291/9781472917775.jpg

Shakespeare Tales: A Midsummer Night's Dream

Terry Deary

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

From the bestselling author of Horrible Histories...Molly loves travelling with Shakespeare's theatre company but the jester,... [more]

$12.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Lost

978/145/981/9781459811959.jpg

Lost

John Wilson

Children's & Educational; Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Crime & mystery fiction (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

In this high-interest novel for young readers, teen sleuths Sam and Annabel solve a mystery in the Arctic that has ties to... [more]

$12.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Story of Chopsticks (English/Chinese)

978/159/702/9781597021203.jpg

Story of Chopsticks (English/Chinese)

Ying Chang Compestine

Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Traditional stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Languages & ESL

Hardback

A colorful tale of how the creative boys of the Kang family invented chopsticks in China long ago. [more]

$29.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Story of Paper (English/Chinese)

978/159/702/9781597021234.jpg

Story of Paper (English/Chinese)

Ying Chang Compestine

Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Traditional stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Languages & ESL

Hardback

A colorful tale of how the creative boys of the Kang family invented paper in China long ago. [more]

$31.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Story of Kites (English/Chinese) (Amazing Chinese Inventions)

978/159/702/9781597021227.jpg

Story of Kites (English/Chinese) (Amazing Chinese Inventions)

Ying Chang Compestine

Children's & young adult fiction & true stories; Traditional stories (Children's&YA); Historical fiction (Children's&YA); Languages & ESL

Hardback

A colorful tale of how the creative boys of the Kang family invented the kite in China long ago. [more]

$31.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Heather, Oak, and Olive: Three Stories

978/158/988/9781589881068.jpg

Heather, Oak, and Olive: Three Stories

Rosemary Sutcliff

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

In these three stories of youthful courage, honor, and friendship we learn people of ancient times were much like us. [more]

$26.00

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
The Mark of the Horse Lord

978/161/373/9781613731543.jpg

The Mark of the Horse Lord

Rosemary Sutcliff

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

Originally published: [New York]: H.Z. Walck, 1965. [more]

$23.95

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Poppy in the Field

978/140/882/9781408827635.jpg

Poppy in the Field

Mary Hooper

Children's & Educational; Historical fiction (Children's&YA)

Paperback

When Poppy learns that the love of her life, Freddie de Vere, is to marry someone else, she knows her heart will break. Devastated,... [more]

$15.99

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.