Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Food & society

67 results

Food on the Move: Dining on the Legendary Railway Journeys of the World

978/178/914/9781789140071.jpg

Food on the Move: Dining on the Legendary Railway Journeys of the World...

Sharon Hudgins

Social & cultural history; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink; Trains & railways: general interest; Travel & holiday; Advocate - Travel

Hardback

All aboard for a delicious ride on nine legendary railway journeys! Food on the Move focuses on the culinary history of these... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Getting of Garlic: Australian Food from Bland to Brilliant, with Recipes Old and New

978/174/223/9781742235790.jpg

The Getting of Garlic: Australian Food from Bland to Brilliant, with Recipes...

John Newton

History; Food & society; National & regional cuisine

Paperback

This brilliant, thought-provoking book charts the food eaten by the colonists onwards. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
There Is No Planet B: A Handbook for the Make or Break Years

978/110/843/9781108439589.jpg

There Is No Planet B: A Handbook for the Make or Break Years

Mike Berners-Lee (Lancaster University)

Food & society; Mathematics & Sciences; Global warming; Social impact of environmental issues; Sustainability; Environmental monitoring

Paperback

Escaping to Planet B to avoid environmental catastrophe is pure fantasy. This book is for anyone who yearns for a realistic... [more]

$18.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your Brain on Food: How Chemicals Control Your Thoughts and Feelings

978/019/093/9780190932794.jpg

Your Brain on Food: How Chemicals Control Your Thoughts and Feelings

Gary L. Wenk

Food & society; Medicine; Health psychology; Pharmacology; Psychotherapy; Fitness & diet

Hardback

This book vividly demonstrates how a little knowledge about the foods and drugs we eat can teach us a lot about how our brain... [more]

$45.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Meaning of Rice: And Other Tales from the Belly of Japan

978/178/470/9781784704230.jpg

The Meaning of Rice: And Other Tales from the Belly of Japan

Michael Booth

Food & society; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

**Shortlisted for the 2017 Andre Simon Food and Drink Book Awards****Shortlisted for the 2018 Fortnum & Mason Food Book Award**'The... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Food Routes: Growing Bananas in Iceland and Other Tales from the Logistics of Eating

978/026/203/9780262039659.jpg

Food Routes: Growing Bananas in Iceland and Other Tales from the Logistics...

Robyn Metcalfe

Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Economic systems & structures

Hardback

Finding opportunities for innovation on the path between farmer and table. [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Everything Happens for a Riesling

978/014/378/9780143788850.jpg

Everything Happens for a Riesling

Grace De Morgan

Food & society; Cookery, food & drink; Wines

Paperback

Everything Happens for a Riesling is the wine book that says boo to acting like a snob. It's your ultimate guide to hacking... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Hungry Empire: How Britain's Quest for Food Shaped the Modern World

978/009/958/9780099586951.jpg

The Hungry Empire: How Britain's Quest for Food Shaped the Modern World...

Lizzie Collingham

History; Social & cultural history; Colonialism & imperialism; Food & society

Paperback

Shows how the British created a global network of commerce and trade in foodstuffs that moved people and plants from one continent... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In the Restaurant: Society in Four Courses

978/178/227/9781782273110.jpg

In the Restaurant: Society in Four Courses

Christoph Ribbat

History; Food & society

Paperback

The restaurant is where we go to celebrate, to experience pleasure, to show off - or, sometimes, just because we're hungry.... [more]

$21.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Unsavory Truth: How Food Companies Skew the Science of What We Eat

978/154/169/9781541697119.jpg

Unsavory Truth: How Food Companies Skew the Science of What We Eat

Marion Nestle

Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Food manufacturing & related industries

Hardback

America's leading nutritionist exposes how the food industry corrupts scientific research for profit [more]

$42.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Short History of Drunkenness

978/024/135/9780241359242.jpg

A Short History of Drunkenness

Mark Forsyth

Social & cultural history; Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Alcoholic beverages

Paperback

Almost every culture on earth has drink, and where there's drink there's drunkenness. But in every age and in every place... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories

978/000/828/9780008281106.jpg

What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories...

Laura Shapiro

Biography; Biography: historical, political & military; Biography: literary; Biography: royalty; Food & society

Paperback

`If you find the subject of food to be both vexing and transfixing, you'll love What She Ate' Elle [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Hunter Wine: A History

978/174/223/9781742235769.jpg

Hunter Wine: A History

Julie McIntyre, John Germov

History; Social & cultural history; Food & society; Viticulture; Wines

Paperback

Australian winegrowing is as old as European Australia. While the Hunter Valley is not the ideal place to grow grapes climatically,... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating

978/024/197/9780241977743.jpg

Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating

Charles Spence

Food & society; Popular science; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

A ground-breaking book by the world-leading expert in sensory science: Freakonomics for food 'Popular science at its best'... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Coffee: A Global History

978/178/914/9781789140026.jpg

Coffee: A Global History

Jonathan Morris

History; Food & society; Beverages

Hardback

In Coffee: A Global History, Jonathan Morris explains how the world acquired a taste for coffee, yet why coffee tastes so... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A History of Tea: The Life and Times of the World's Favorite Beverage

978/080/485/9780804851121.jpg

A History of Tea: The Life and Times of the World's Favorite Beverage

Laura C. Martin

History; Asian history; Food & society; Beverages

Paperback

As the world's most popular beverage, tea has fascinated us, awakened us, motivated us, and calmed us for well over two thousand... [more]

$19.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Food Atlas: Discover All the Delicious Foods of the World

978/094/750/9780947506513.jpg

Food Atlas: Discover All the Delicious Foods of the World

Giulia Malerba

Food & society; Human geography; Children's & Educational; Cooking & food (Children's&YA); Atlases (Children's&YA)

Hardback

* Stunning guide to world foods for young readers * Brilliant, captivating illustrations including Australia, New Zealand,... [more]

$39.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Greedy Queen: Eating with Victoria

978/178/125/9781781256831.jpg

The Greedy Queen: Eating with Victoria

Annie Gray

History; British & Irish history; Modern history to 20th century: c 1700 to c 1900; Social & cultural history; Food & society

Paperback

From Dr Annie Gray, presenter of BBC2's Victorian Bakers What does it mean to eat like a queen? Elizabeth gorged on sugar,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Cabbage: A Global History

978/178/023/9781780239811.jpg

Cabbage: A Global History

Meg Muckenhoupt

History; Food & society; Cookery by ingredient

Hardback

Filled with fascinating facts and recipes for everything from French cabbage soup to sauerkraut chocolate cake, this lively... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Best Before: The Evolution and Future of Processed Food

978/147/294/9781472941442.jpg

Best Before: The Evolution and Future of Processed Food

Nicola Temple

Food & society; Food manufacturing & related industries; Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science

Paperback

Long before there was the ready meal, humans processed food to preserve it and make it safe. From fire to fermentation, our... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Sweets and Candy: A Global History

978/178/023/9781780239279.jpg

Sweets and Candy: A Global History

Laura Mason

History; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

From marzipan pigs and nutty nougat to bubblegum and bonbons, Sweets and Candy looks behind the glamour and sparkle to explore... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Three Gold Coins

978/192/526/9781925266146.jpg

Three Gold Coins

Josephine Moon

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Romance; Food & society

Paperback

A deliciously complex novel of families, food, adversity, hope and love for readers of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements, Cathy... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Missing Ingredient: The Curious Role of Time in Food and Flavour

978/184/614/9781846148972.jpg

The Missing Ingredient: The Curious Role of Time in Food and Flavour

Jenny Linford

Food & society; Food & beverage technology; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

Seconds - the immediacy of taste, the crafting of chocolate, the brevity of blanching. Minutes -the exactitude of eggs, a... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Berries

978/178/023/9781780238951.jpg

Berries

Heather Anderson

History; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

In Berries: A Global History, Heather Arndt Anderson relates the story of how humans came to love these tiny, bewildering... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How We Eat with Our Eyes and Think with Our Stomachs: the hidden influences that shape your eating habits

978/192/532/9781925322972.jpg

How We Eat with Our Eyes and Think with Our Stomachs: the hidden influences...

Melanie Muhl, Diana Von Kopp

Food & society; Cognition & cognitive psychology; Neurosciences; Diets & dieting; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

From optical illusions, to genes, to the environment - the surprising factors that drive what, when, and how we eat [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.