Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Food & society

49 results

1 2
The Fate of Food: What We'll Eat in a Bigger, Hotter, Smarter World

978/178/607/9781786076533.jpg

The Fate of Food: What We'll Eat in a Bigger, Hotter, Smarter World

Amanda Little

Food & society; Mathematics & Sciences; Popular science; Agricultural science; Sustainable agriculture; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

Mary Roach meets Michael Pollan in this ambitious, dynamic and thought-provoking foray into the future of food [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
There Is No Planet B: A Handbook for the Make or Break Years

978/110/843/9781108439589.jpg

There Is No Planet B: A Handbook for the Make or Break Years

Mike Berners-Lee

Food & society; Mathematics & Sciences; Global warming; Social impact of environmental issues; Sustainability; Environmental monitoring

Paperback

Escaping to Planet B to avoid environmental catastrophe is pure fantasy. This book is for anyone who yearns for a realistic... [more]

$18.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Sugar: The world corrupted, from slavery to obesity

978/147/213/9781472138125.jpg

Sugar: The world corrupted, from slavery to obesity

James Walvin

History; Social & cultural history; Slavery & abolition of slavery; Food & society; Obesity: treatment & therapy

Paperback

How did a simple commodity, once the prized monopoly of kings and princes, become an essential ingredient in the lives of... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tomato: A Global History

978/178/914/9781789140835.jpg

Tomato: A Global History

Clarissa Hyman

History; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

In the history of food, the tomato is a relative newcomer, but it would now be impossible to imagine the food cultures of... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Stoned Beyond Belief

978/141/973/9781419734434.jpg

Stoned Beyond Belief

Action Bronson, Rachel Wharton

Rap & Hip-Hop; Popular culture; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

Rapper, chef, and television star Action Bronson is a marijuana superhero, both its champion and devoted consumer, and Stoned... [more]

$39.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Meaning of Rice: And Other Tales from the Belly of Japan

978/178/470/9781784704230.jpg

The Meaning of Rice: And Other Tales from the Belly of Japan

Michael Booth

Food & society; Travel & holiday; Travel writing

Paperback

**Shortlisted for the 2017 Andre Simon Food and Drink Book Awards****Shortlisted for the 2018 Fortnum & Mason Food Book Award**'The... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Food on the Move: Dining on the Legendary Railway Journeys of the World

978/178/914/9781789140071.jpg

Food on the Move: Dining on the Legendary Railway Journeys of the World...

Sharon Hudgins

Social & cultural history; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink; Trains & railways: general interest; Travel & holiday

Hardback

All aboard for a delicious ride on nine legendary railway journeys! Food on the Move focuses on the culinary history of these... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your Brain on Food: How Chemicals Control Your Thoughts and Feelings

978/019/093/9780190932794.jpg

Your Brain on Food: How Chemicals Control Your Thoughts and Feelings

Gary L. Wenk

Food & society; Medicine; Health psychology; Pharmacology; Psychotherapy; Fitness & diet

Hardback

This book vividly demonstrates how a little knowledge about the foods and drugs we eat can teach us a lot about how our brain... [more]

$45.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Food Routes: Growing Bananas in Iceland and Other Tales from the Logistics of Eating

978/026/203/9780262039659.jpg

Food Routes: Growing Bananas in Iceland and Other Tales from the Logistics...

Robyn Metcalfe

Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Economic systems & structures

Hardback

Finding opportunities for innovation on the path between farmer and table. [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Everything Happens for a Riesling

978/014/378/9780143788850.jpg

Everything Happens for a Riesling

Grace De Morgan

Food & society; Cookery, food & drink; Wines

Paperback

Everything Happens for a Riesling is the wine book that says boo to acting like a snob. It's your ultimate guide to hacking... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Getting of Garlic: Australian Food from Bland to Brilliant, with Recipes Old and New

978/174/223/9781742235790.jpg

The Getting of Garlic: Australian Food from Bland to Brilliant, with Recipes...

John Newton

History; Food & society; National & regional cuisine

Paperback

This brilliant, thought-provoking book charts the food eaten by the colonists onwards. [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
In the Restaurant: Society in Four Courses

978/178/227/9781782273110.jpg

In the Restaurant: Society in Four Courses

Christoph Ribbat

History; Food & society

Paperback

The restaurant is where we go to celebrate, to experience pleasure, to show off - or, sometimes, just because we're hungry.... [more]

$21.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Unsavory Truth: How Food Companies Skew the Science of What We Eat

978/154/169/9781541697119.jpg

Unsavory Truth: How Food Companies Skew the Science of What We Eat

Marion Nestle

Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Food manufacturing & related industries

Hardback

America's leading nutritionist exposes how the food industry corrupts scientific research for profit [more]

$42.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Short History of Drunkenness

978/024/135/9780241359242.jpg

A Short History of Drunkenness

Mark Forsyth

Social & cultural history; Society & Social Sciences; Food & society; Alcoholic beverages

Paperback

Almost every culture on earth has drink, and where there's drink there's drunkenness. But in every age and in every place... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wine Reads: A Literary Anthology of Wine Writing

978/161/185/9781611856279.jpg

Wine Reads: A Literary Anthology of Wine Writing

Jay McInerney

Food & society; Winemaking technology; Wines

Hardback

From celebrated novelist Jay McInerney, whose extensive writing on wine has been called 'crisp, stylish and very funny' (New... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating

978/024/197/9780241977743.jpg

Gastrophysics: The New Science of Eating

Charles Spence

Food & society; Popular science; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

A ground-breaking book by the world-leading expert in sensory science: Freakonomics for food 'Popular science at its best'... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Coffee: A Global History

978/178/914/9781789140026.jpg

Coffee: A Global History

Jonathan Morris

History; Food & society; Beverages

Hardback

In Coffee: A Global History, Jonathan Morris explains how the world acquired a taste for coffee, yet why coffee tastes so... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A History of Tea: The Life and Times of the World's Favorite Beverage

978/080/485/9780804851121.jpg

A History of Tea: The Life and Times of the World's Favorite Beverage

Laura C. Martin

History; Asian history; Food & society; Beverages

Paperback

As the world's most popular beverage, tea has fascinated us, awakened us, motivated us, and calmed us for well over two thousand... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Greedy Queen: Eating with Victoria

978/178/125/9781781256831.jpg

The Greedy Queen: Eating with Victoria

Annie Gray

History; British & Irish history; Modern history to 20th century: c 1700 to c 1900; Social & cultural history; Food & society

Paperback

From Dr Annie Gray, presenter of BBC2's Victorian Bakers What does it mean to eat like a queen? Elizabeth gorged on sugar,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Sweets and Candy: A Global History

978/178/023/9781780239279.jpg

Sweets and Candy: A Global History

Laura Mason

History; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

From marzipan pigs and nutty nougat to bubblegum and bonbons, Sweets and Candy looks behind the glamour and sparkle to explore... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Three Gold Coins

978/192/526/9781925266146.jpg

Three Gold Coins

Josephine Moon

Fiction & Literature; Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945); Romance; Food & society

Paperback

A deliciously complex novel of families, food, adversity, hope and love for readers of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements, Cathy... [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
The Missing Ingredient: The Curious Role of Time in Food and Flavour

978/184/614/9781846148972.jpg

The Missing Ingredient: The Curious Role of Time in Food and Flavour

Jenny Linford

Food & society; Food & beverage technology; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

Seconds - the immediacy of taste, the crafting of chocolate, the brevity of blanching. Minutes -the exactitude of eggs, a... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Berries

978/178/023/9781780238951.jpg

Berries

Heather Anderson

History; Food & society; Cookery, food & drink

Hardback

In Berries: A Global History, Heather Arndt Anderson relates the story of how humans came to love these tiny, bewildering... [more]

$24.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
How We Eat with Our Eyes and Think with Our Stomachs: the hidden influences that shape your eating habits

978/192/532/9781925322972.jpg

How We Eat with Our Eyes and Think with Our Stomachs: the hidden influences...

Melanie Muhl, Diana Von Kopp

Food & society; Cognition & cognitive psychology; Neurosciences; Diets & dieting; Cookery, food & drink

Paperback

From optical illusions, to genes, to the environment - the surprising factors that drive what, when, and how we eat [more]

$27.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Souk: Feasting at the mezze table

978/192/541/9781925418620.jpg

Souk: Feasting at the mezze table

Nadia Zerouali, Merijn Tol

Food & society; Cookery, food & drink; National & regional cuisine

Hardback

Synopsis coming soon....... [more]

$49.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
1 2
My Shopping Basket
Your cart does not contain any items.