Abbey's Bookshop Logo
Go to my checkout basket
Login to Abbey's Bookshop
Register with Abbey's Bookshop
Gift Vouchers
Browse by Category

Sub-Categories of Biography


Narrow Your Search

By Availability


By Format


By Price


By Publication Date


Biography - Lives between the lines at Abbey's Bookshop.

81,010 results

The Silent Soldiers of Naours

978/174/257/9781742579719.jpg

The Silent Soldiers of Naours

Gilles Prilaux, Matthieu Beuvin, Gilles Prilaux

True war & combat stories; History

Hardback

The Silent Soldiers of Naours is the story of how French and Australian researchers rediscovered the incredible stories of... [more]

$35.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Four Princes: Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent and the Obsessions that Forged Modern Europe

978/147/363/9781473632967.jpg

Four Princes: Henry VIII, Francis I, Charles V, Suleiman the Magnificent...

John Julius Norwich

Biography: royalty; History; European history; Early modern history: c 1450 to c 1700

Paperback

Never before had the world seen four such giants co-existing. Sometimes friends, more often enemies, always rivals, these... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Res Gestae: Things Done

978/192/552/9781925522051.jpg

Res Gestae: Things Done

Naida Haxton

Biography; Memoirs

Paperback

Feminist catch cries of the mid-1900s included invocations for freedom of choice and equality with men. [more]

$29.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Not All Superheroes Wear Capes

978/073/363/9780733635359.jpg

Not All Superheroes Wear Capes

Quentin Kenihan

Biography; Autobiography: arts & entertainment; Coping with disability

Paperback

Quentin Kenihan is living proof that superheroes don't need capes, just the right attitude. FOREWORD BY RAY MARTIN [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Game

978/014/379/9780143797159.jpg

My Game

Ange Postecoglou

Autobiography: sport; Australian Rules football

Paperback

Ange Postecoglou has been at the centre of Australian football for more than thirty years. In this book, he shows us the game... [more]

$35.00

We can order this in for you
How long will it take?
Add this item to my basket
Crown of Blood: The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey

978/168/177/9781681772448.jpg

Crown of Blood: The Deadly Inheritance of Lady Jane Grey

Nicola Tallis

Biography: historical, political & military; Biography: royalty; History; British & Irish history; Gender studies: women

Hardback

Crown of Blood is an important and significant retelling of an often misread tale, examining evidence that has never before... [more]

$45.00  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
My Italians: True Stories of Crime and Courage

978/184/614/9781846147043.jpg

My Italians: True Stories of Crime and Courage

Roberto Saviano

Biography; True crime

Paperback

From the international bestselling author of Gomorrah, this is a deeply personal and candid portrait of Italy today: a place... [more]

$24.99  $10.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Shakespeare's Bastard: The Life of Sir William Davenant

978/075/096/9780750961073.jpg

Shakespeare's Bastard: The Life of Sir William Davenant

Simon Stirling

Biography; Biography: historical, political & military

Paperback

The extraordinary life of Sir William Davenant, from death to birth, culminating with an answer to the question: was he Shakespeare's... [more]

$32.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Six Days in Leningrad

978/073/229/9780732298807.jpg

Six Days in Leningrad

Paullina Simons

Memoirs; Travel & holiday

Paperback

Paullina Simons gives us a work of non-fiction as captivating and heart-wrenching as the lives of Tatiana and Alexander. [more]

$29.99  $7.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Guest at the Shooters' Banquet: My Grandfather's SS Past, My Jewish Family, A Search for the Truth

978/163/286/9781632862617.jpg

A Guest at the Shooters' Banquet: My Grandfather's SS Past, My Jewish Family,...

Rita Gabis

Memoirs; History; The Holocaust; Second World War

Hardback

Gabis follows the trail of her grandfather's collaboration with the Nazis--a trail riddled with secrets, slaughter, mystery,... [more]

$35.00  $16.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
American Titan: Searching for John Wayne

978/006/226/9780062269027.jpg

American Titan: Searching for John Wayne

Marc Eliot

Film, TV & Radio; Individual actors & performers; Biography: arts & entertainment

Paperback

From the veteran New York Times bestselling biographer comes a major, in-depth look at one of the most enduring American icons... [more]

$24.99  $10.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Good-bye to All That: An Autobiography

978/014/139/9780141392660.jpg

Good-bye to All That: An Autobiography

Robert Graves

Biography; Classic fiction (pre c 1945)

Paperback

There was no patriotism in the trenches. It was too remote a sentiment, and rejected as fit only for civilians. As Blighty,... [more]

$22.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Tennis Maestros: The Twenty Greatest Male Tennis Players of all Time

978/184/954/9781849545129.jpg

Tennis Maestros: The Twenty Greatest Male Tennis Players of all Time

John Bercow

Biography: sport; Tennis

Hardback

An extraordinary guide to the greatest male tennis players of all time. [more]

$39.99  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Edison and the Rise of Innovation

978/140/276/9781402767364.jpg

Edison and the Rise of Innovation

Leonard DeGraaf

Biography: business & industry; Management & management techniques; Mathematics & Sciences

Hardback

Thomas Alva Edison did more than bring incandescent light into every household and industry; he created a world-renowned brand,... [more]

$39.99  $25.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wilson

978/039/915/9780399159213.jpg

Wilson

A Scott Berg

Biography: historical, political & military; History; Political leaders & leadership

Hardback

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer... [more]

$71.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Theodore Roosevelt Abroad: Nature, Empire, and the Journey of an American President

978/113/730/9781137306395.jpg

Theodore Roosevelt Abroad: Nature, Empire, and the Journey of an American...

J. Lee Thompson

Biography; Social & cultural history; Travel writing

Paperback

In a life full of momentous episodes, Theodore Roosevelt's fifteen-month post-presidential odyssey to Africa and Europe has... [more]

$59.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Death of a Soldier: A Mother's Story

978/184/954/9781849544498.jpg

Death of a Soldier: A Mother's Story

Margaret Evison

Biography; Memoirs; Afghan War; Coping with death & bereavement

Hardback

An important and evocative addition to the debate on the Military Covenant, but also a deeply touching account of a mother's... [more]

$34.99  $12.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
David Mamet: A Life in the Theatre

978/023/037/9780230378711.jpg

David Mamet: A Life in the Theatre

Ira B. Nadel

Theatre: individual actors & directors; Theatre direction & production; Film, TV & Radio; Biography: arts & entertainment

Paperback

This comprehensive biography uses extensive theater and film archives to reveal Mamet's ideas on writing, acting, and directing,... [more]

$47.95  $15.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Wicked Women of Tudor England: Queens, Aristocrats, Commoners

978/113/703/9781137032379.jpg

Wicked Women of Tudor England: Queens, Aristocrats, Commoners

Retha M. Warnicke

Biography: historical, political & military; History; British & Irish history; Early modern history: c 1450 to c 1700; Gender studies: women

Paperback

This fascinating study delves into the lives of six Tudor women celebrated for their reputed wickedness. Collected here are... [more]

$63.95  $20.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Not by Chance Alone: My Life as a Social Psychologist

978/046/501/9780465018338.jpg

Not by Chance Alone: My Life as a Social Psychologist

Elliot Aronson

Biography; Autobiography: general; Social, group or collective psychology

Hardback

The life and times of one of the twentieth century's leading psychologists [more]

$44.99  $16.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Une vie

978/225/312/9782253127765.jpg

Une vie

Simone Veil, Veil

Biography: general; Languages & ESL

Paperback

[more]

$21.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Chagrin D'ecole

978/207/039/9782070396849.jpg

Chagrin D'ecole

Daniel Pennac

Autobiography: literary; Languages & ESL

Paperback

[more]

$24.95

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Cleopatra and Antony: Power, Love, and Politics in the Ancient World

978/080/271/9780802717382.jpg

Cleopatra and Antony: Power, Love, and Politics in the Ancient World

Diana Preston

Biography: historical, political & military; Biography: royalty; History

Hardback

Much mythology has grown up around the world's best-remembered celebrity couple, all of which Preston explores in her stirring... [more]

$39.95  $18.00

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
A Fortunate Life,

978/014/300/9780143003540.jpg

A Fortunate Life,

A. B. Facey

Biography; Biography: general; Autobiography: general

Paperback

Born in 1894, Facey lived the rough frontier life of a sheep farmer, survived the gore of Gallipoli, raised a family through... [more]

$26.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Autobiography of a Yogi: Reprint of the Philosophical Library 1946 First Edition

978/156/589/9781565892125.jpg

Autobiography of a Yogi: Reprint of the Philosophical Library 1946 First...

Paramahansa Yogananda

Autobiography: general; Religion & beliefs

Paperback

This is a new edition, featuring previously unavailable material, of a true spiritual classic, Autobiography of a Yogi, one... [more]

$34.99

In stock
Ready to ship
Add this item to my basket
Your cart does not contain any items.